We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort

Save
Share
Largo da Republica, No. 13 Praia Da Luz, Luz 8600-123 Portugal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (110)
360
Panoramas (85)
Room & Suite (188)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#9 of 29 Speciality lodging in Luz
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In a paradisiacal setting, overlooking the sunset and the Praia da Luz beach, the elegant Belver Porto Dona Maria features an 800 square metre saltwater swimming pool. The property's accommodations are complete houses that can accommodate up to eight people. The refined units feature a balcony or terrace, bathtub, TV and kitchen equipped with minibar, microwave, oven, toaster and kitchenware. Depending on the category, the windows overlook the sea or the gardens of the establishment. In addition, some units have a private swimming pool and bread delivery service is available. Here guests will find a golf course, a games room, a meeting space, free Wi-Fi in public areas and free parking. All meals are served at the Belver Porto Dona Maria itself, which features one restaurant, one pool bar and one snack-bar. Burgau Beach and Luz Beach are 3 km away, while Ponta da Piedade Lighthouse is a 20-minute drive away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Poolside bar
Bicycle rental
Game room
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Golf course
Hiking
Billiards
Canoeing offsite
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
111Reviews5Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 38
  • 17
  • 15
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
kenmode101 wrote a review Aug 2019
Cork, Ireland71 contributions26 helpful votes
Stayed in the Porto Dona Maira resort in the first week of August 2019. But must explain that we stayed in a privated villa and not the hotel, so this review is really on that villa. Villa was just a few meters from hotel reception, which is were the resprt bar is. Stopped for a drink when we were walking around and was greeted by a very nice staff member ( he was a man in his 60s), made us feel very welcome. Had a walk around the resort and it looked ok ( didnt see into the hotel or hotel blocks). Hotel pool looked ok and surrounding grounds looked clean and ok, seen some comments about waste lands and all that, yes a few o f this, but these are villa sites for sale, could they be clean up and kept a certain level ( yes) but its the same all over these areas so no big deal to us. Our villa had 3 bed rooms ( 2 doubled and one twin) with 3 bathrooms ( 2 ensuites, one just across from room), private pool and roof top terrance. Villa had everything needed, included sky sports and movies. Walk to resort from Praia da Luz is about 30mins, but not that bad, can go over the cliffs, but really tge same time, taxis are between 6.50/ 8.00€ for 4, so again not bad. No noise and lovely wind to keep you cool.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Belver Porto Dona Maria, Diretor-Geral at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon mister kenmode101, thanks for your comment, we will use it to improve our service. Best regards
Read more
Nafo wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions
The house had been mistreated. Doors were not closing and there were lack of cleaning since there were several web spiders. The kitchen was gas, but there were not matches. The refrigerator was noisy and there was no light in the terrace. We decided to repeat this property because we were supplied regularly with bread, milk directly in the property. In addition to a poorly maintained house, the service was replaced by breakfast in the restaurant. The service was not professional at all, with very limited choices (far from what a buffet should be) and the order used to take about half an hour to be served, many times unprofessionally. Coffee without cups to be served... Quite disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Belver Porto Dona Maria, Diretor-Geral at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort
Responded 29 May 2021
Your Excellency Good morning, We thank you for your comments, which we take into consideration to improve our service. Best regards
Read more
J B wrote a review Apr 2019
Ottawa27 contributions12 helpful votes
Let me start off by saying that this hotel is excellent value. We got a great price to stay here through expedia and the hotel exceeded our expectations. It is a three star hotel and anyone expecting more for the price they pay has set their expectations too high. I read another review stating this was a holiday from hell and I just don't get where that comes from. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The grounds were nice, with some minor cleanup going on for the upcoming holiday season (we stayed off peak so expected that not everything would be up to snuff). If you are expecting a 5 star hotel, you will be disappointed. So, let me talk about the hotel! What a view! we stayed in room 110 (this was a studio with a sea view) and was worth every penny. Lovely patio to enjoy the sun on. The kitchenette came in handy with a full size fridge, cooktop and an oven! This allowed us to have some meals at the hotel while enjoying the view on the patio. The studio was almost like a one bedroom apartment, with a wall separating the bed from the living room. Lots of space in the room, double sinks in the bathroom and full size bathtub and shower. There was a tv but we didn't turn it on once. Why would you on vacation? The only complaint about the room was the beds. HARD! if you aren't used to a hard mattress, you may have a rough sleep. If the mattresses weren't so hard, I'd stay here again in a heart beat. Our stay was two weeks so the mattress was rather important. All in all, a welcoming hotel with amazing views of the Atlantic ocean. Great location that allowed us to visit all the surrounding towns in the Algarve. It is a great value if you are looking to save a little money or don't want an over priced holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Belver Porto Dona Maria, Diretor-Geral at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon mister OttawaJules, thanks for your comment, we will use it to improve our service. Best regards
Read more
Laura S wrote a review Sep 2018
Corby, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Had a fantastic time. The place is lovely, food is good, ppl are friendly. Got back to the UK last night and already booked up again for next year. I definitely recommend it. Fantastic scenery. Car recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Belver Porto Dona Maria, Diretor-Geral at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon miss Laura S, we would like to comment in to thanks for your comment. graciously
Read more
Rosie B wrote a review Aug 2018
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom20 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
My husband & I visited Porto Donna Maria last week. We had booked for 2 weeks but came home after 8 days, neither of us could bear to stay any longer. It is awful, advertised as a 4 star gulf resort, it is so bad, that in my opinion, should warrent 1 star only, That Bad!!! The resort is isolated out on the cliffs, overlooking Luz, A dry dusty dirty place, surrounded by weeds, & unkempt grounds, even the roads leading to the resort, are narrow & unfinished. There is a general feeling of the whole area of neglect & dismay. Our apartment was 1 bed, self catering. The furnishings within are tired, dated, stained, dirty & smelly. There appeared to be an infestation of small insects.The kitchen was quite good, but the electrics appear to be hazardous & when are electric kettle blew up!! , management were unable to replace which meant that in order to have coffee/ tea, my husband & I had to boil a saucepan of water on the cooker!!! Really!! The standards of cleanliness is very poor, my husband & I really worked hard, to clean the place, as we tried to keep the insects under some control. We scanned our bed before we got in, but had creepy crawlers in bed with us each morning, on the towels when we tried to dry ourselves, walking on us when we were seated in living area, Nightmare!!! There was no aircom in the apartment, despite temperatures greater than 40 degrees. We survived as long as we did by trying to stay out, although, it was hard. The amenities outside were not better. The pool was nice but was streets away from us. It took us 2 days to find it. We never ventured into the restaurant, because the menu in the window was filthy & crawling with insects, and we never ever saw any single person eating there. There was a shop??? It consisted of an old dresser with 2 or 3 items for sale. There was a sign advertising ice-cream, but as 3 despondent children told my husband, there was no ice- cream!!! The bar was unbelievable, 3 stools against an old bar, nil else. No entertainment at all. Around reception, there was buckets, mops etc just lying about. The lighting ouside & around reception was broken and lying on the ground. The staff at reception were not helpful, the uncaring attitude seeming to run through all the staff This really was the nightmare holiday from hell, and I could not express enough how poor this resort is. Do no book this place for your holiday
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Belver Porto Dona Maria, Diretor-Geral at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort
Responded 6 Jun 2021
Your Excellency Good morning, We thank you for your comments, which we take into consideration to improve our service. Best regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
porto dona maria hotel luz
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictLuz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Holy Trap - Escape Room Lagos (7.3 km), Ponta da Piedade (7.4 km), and Salema Beach (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunita's Castle, Jukebox Tapas & Meals, and Gelícia - Vero Gelato Italiano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Antigo Mercado de Escravos (7.6 km) and Forte de São Luís de Almádena (4.8 km).
Does Porto Dona Maria Golf & Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.