We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sands At Chale Island

Travellers' Choice award winner
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$178*
US$141*
Great Deal
US$178*
US$178*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sands At Chale Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Sands At Chale Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Fabulous resort well worth a visit. White sands right on your doorstep, the ocean is your alarm clock each morning, a totally relaxing experience. The Superior Bandas are well worth the extra cost and ours was a few metres from the beach. As with all hotels it is the staff that can make the difference to your stay and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

The colobus would like to thank you for the nice review you did about them, and we would like to see you again in chale island. Best Regards

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 9 March 2015

I was there for my birthday this weekend and everything about the place was perfect. Excellent food, friendliest staff and absolutely beautiful resort! The honeymoon suite is perfect for a romantic getaway. It has breathtaking views, a panoramic view of the ocean. There's lots of fun activities to do at the island and I would recommend the resort to everyone!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chandni37
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are glad you appreciated the environment, and the amazing views of the island, we wait for your next birthday. Warm Regards

Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 2 March 2015

1st visit and I loved every bit of it. Such a charming island with friendly staff. It looks just like it does on the pictures. The beaches are beautiful and the nature walks are a must. I will recommend this place to everyone I meet and hope to come back soon as well.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joy_Mutinda
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Dear Joy, we are glad to read about your love for our island. We hope to see you again. Best regards

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 16 February 2015

The island is very beautiful and thus already the hotel has a lot going for it.The place is very calm with a lot of undisturbed nature so you can actually enjoy the beauty.What i did not like was the food- very bland and unimaginative. the only toiletries in the room were soap and tissue.The rooms are spacious but the décor...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank safiri dunia N
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Dear Safiri, we would like to thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy the nature and the location of our island, and we are sorry to read you didn’t like the taste of our food, even if our chefs try to satisfy the taste of all of our guests. Best regards

Xxxx
Reviewed 12 February 2015

This was our 4th visit to Chale Island. We love the quietness and the beauty of the island. The superior bandas are very private and spacious and have a lovely view. The staff is very pleasant and will go out of its way to please. The dive centre on Chale island is very good. Very nice staff and excellent dive...

Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sega1
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We wait for your next stay. Warm Regards

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

Probably the worst place I've been to in Kenya as far as food is concerned. The food served was so bad that we only nibbled in it, and returned all that we were served. Surprising that Italian management can't even turn out a pasta or a pizza. After 2 days we asked to be moved to Sands at Nomad (in...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ka_Moho
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Dear Ka_Moho Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, albeit with no positive criticism which unfortunately makes the review rather unhelpful to us. Seeing as our main clientele (80%) over the last 8 years were Italian (a market that we have recently lost due to Kenya’s tourism issues) and they have always roundly praised our food, especially...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 19 January 2015

The views from Chale Island are amazing; more so from the over-water suite which has an outdoor jacuzzi and deck overlooking the ocean. Though to get to the beach you have to go across the island, not a long walk! The breeze and sunrise / sunset views from here are spectacular. Suite was spacious and clean with all modern amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bryan K
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! We are very happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again! Warm Regards

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

This was our second visit to Chale Island and, if anything, was better than before. We were welcomed back by many of the staff who remembered us, and even those who didn't afforded us the same exemplary courtesy, service and friendliness. This year, we stayed in a superior Banda overlooking the white beach, and took our showers in the open...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janegalloway
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and comments about our beautiful island. We are very pleased that you so enjoyed your holidays. We hope to welcome you again. Best regards

Reviewed 3 January 2015

The island is quiet small, and well a suprising beauty. The cottages are next to the ocean. white sand beach, sunset kayaking, snookering, restaurant right above a mangrove swamp, and all that for an affordable price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wang K
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review, and we are glad you appreciated very single moment of your holiday in chale! Warm regards.

Budapest
Reviewed 28 December 2014

Chale Island is a coral reef itself, a place which is recommended for photographers and nature-lovers and is relatively easy to access by road from Mombasa. The island provides habitat for many lifeforms. Various birds (ibis, heron, cormoran, stork, etc), baboons and colobus monkeys are waiting for the tide to go out and pick up the most delicious bites from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pgaalien
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in chale, we hope to see you again to finish your artwork. Best regards

710 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (682)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (176)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (248)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
13.4 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
408 reviews
15.8 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
15.9 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,307 reviews
11.8 km away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
147 reviews
19.7 km away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Owned and managed by the same team of sister resort The Sands At Nomad, this small, personal "boutique" resort is the perfect island getaway for those seeking the ultimate in relaxation, tranquility and Island flair. The resort was completely renovated in 2006 and has been built with a very strong focus on the envirnmental beauty of the Island. Two swimming pools, a mystical SPA and a well equiped watersports facility fullfil every wish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands At Chale Island

Address: P.O. Box 5546 | Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: €123 - €274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands At Chale Island 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands At Chale Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Chale Island Hotel Diani
Sands At Chale Island Ukunda
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sands At Chale Island staff and other travellers.
46 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from The Sands At Chale Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front beach rooms have stunning views of sunrise”
Ayo78, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Left side of the island for great sunset views”
  • sun meets the sea
MiralN, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The ocean view bandas are great!”
MamaPoes, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views of the sea if one is not staying in a banda.”
BrendaKatelynn, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A Banda is a good choice!”
hennipuh, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$141* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$178
Orbitz.comUS$178
Jumia TravelUS$160
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates