We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Sands At Chale Island

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sands At Chale Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful place kept spotlessly clean throughout; large bandas with sea view and a troupe of Colobus monkeys that mind their own business for added interest. Savoury food was nice, less so desserts, but fruit all fresh and tasty; hygiene very good. Both lunch and dinner are buffet, there is a wide-ranging selection, and all together it is a triumph of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonGGB
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Hello Simon, it is with great joy that we read this review from you. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your two weeks with us and we thank you for ranking our facility. We are sorry in case you were slightly inconvenienced with our meals, we are strongly going to put into consideration your prescription about the theme...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was on my honey moon and was upgraded for free - not to the pent house rooms but rather to sea view rooms. Rooms are great and have cozy private balconys with a breeze. Downside is no TV in the room; electricity is off from 10 am to 6pm in the rooms, water isnt really hot but with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uwera F
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Hey Uwera, It is with great enthusiasm that we read your sweet review about the beautiful Chale Island, We are glad that you had an awesome vacation with us. The main reason as to why there is no television in the rooms is because during the better part of the day there is no electricity in the rooms and this...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok, here's the thing - this place is NOT a luxury, 5-star or 'boutique' style resort - so if that's what you're looking for or believe this to be true from the great images you see on line - then you will be sorely disappointed. I gave Chale Island a 3 star as this is what I think it averages...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AnnaLou1981
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Hello Anna, greetings galore from Chale Island. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the fact that you were not entirely pleased with various aspects from some of the Departments in our facility. Every day in our rooms a bottle of water per head is made available across the Island. So, if yours was missing you...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent resort, we had booked the villa which was very private, spacious and comfortable, only thing lacking was a fridge/ mini bar to keep drinks cool. The full board package included all meals which consisted of a huge selection which were all very good. Would definitely recommend this resort

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muzaffer_sheikh
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Hello Sheikh, what a nice observation from you. we are glad that you find our resort to be excellent. the lack of a mini bar in the rooms is due to the fact that during the better part of the day there is no electricity in the rooms which will power the mini bars to facilitate their functioning, so mostly...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a Serene and beautiful place. We stayed here after an awesome trip from Tsavo East with Marco Pollo tours. The food and location were really nice and not to forget the bandas and private beach. This is the place to go for a relaxing vacation. Will be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julius M
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Wow Julius, thank you for dropping by and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in a special way. we welcome you back anytime it is always a pleasure to host you. see you soon. karibu

Vaxjo, Sweden
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Liked it a lot. Only down side is not having a minibar in the room. We had full board and stayed in a standard room in one of the 5 story buildings. With connecting room for the kids. Spacious and great. Room 33 and 34 is placed perfect with closeness to restaurant , pools and beach. Snorkling in Kenya is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stefan L
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Hey Stefan, we are so happy that we hosted you and thank you for taking your time to write about us. We are also glad that you liked it a lot. The main reason as to why there are no minibars in the rooms is because during the better part of the day, there is no power in the room...

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights on this wonderful island. 3 nights aren't enough ! Everything is special in this place . The resort is so unique and very relaxing . The beach with white Sands and clear water is what you need for a short vacation. You can go snorkeling and discover the beauty of the the sea life and cayaking,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Basma A
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Hello Basma. We equally share in your joy and we second your opinion "Everything is special in this place " we are glad you had an amazing vacation at our Resort and that we were part of that success. Be sure the our manager Mr. Andrea has gotten your regards and embraces your appreciations. Thank you so much for taking...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We booked our stay for 3 nights and we were a group of 7. We were aware that the whole island is run by a generator so between 10am and 5pm there will not be any power. We got there around lunch time had a very welcoming and friendly staff waiting for us. As we were running a little late...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Meera S
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Hello Meera, we are so glad that you find our Island location and its environment amazing. We would like to thank you for creating time in your schedule to express your experience at Chale Island. We are extremely apologetic for the Incident about hot water. The main reason as to why we could not provide hot water is because our...

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We have just returned to Nairobi after 7 nights at The Sands Chale Island. It was a wonderfully relaxing place, all you could hear was the sound of the ocean. We were welcomed at the airport by a very friendly, polite driver who took us to the crossing place for Chale. We had a slight wait for the tractor to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Hi Angie, the happiness is always reflected back to us every time our guests are happy out of the goodness and glamour oozing from Chale Island and its irresistible magic coupled with tremendous efforts of our staff, we are glad that we were able to meet almost all of your expectations. We are happy that not only did you find...

Udine, Italy
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Chale Island is a small site at 7 km from Diani Beach. You reach it by car in about 30 minutes by car or by boat. The colours of island are the green of the trees and the blues of the ocean. The silent is the only thing you listen. Here you find yourself. Small bandas (local cottages), two Penthouse,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GDG1959
TheSands-Kenya, Front Office Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Wow! Our cups of joy overrun and we are so overwhelmed at your beautiful review about us. we are happy that you were not able to escape the bewitchment of Chale Island paradise just like the rest of us. eventually we feel honored that you were so pleased with our services. it is our prayer that you will return and...

660 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (633)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (150)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (237)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
13.4 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
389 reviews
15.7 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
360 reviews
15.9 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,283 reviews
17.8 km away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
133 reviews
12.2 km away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Owned and managed by the same team of sister resort The Sands At Nomad, this small, personal "boutique" resort is the perfect island getaway for those seeking the ultimate in relaxation, tranquility and Island flair. The resort was completely renovated in 2006 and has been built with a very strong focus on the envirnmental beauty of the Island. Two swimming pools, a mystical SPA and a well equiped watersports facility fullfil every wish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands At Chale Island

Address: P.O. Box 5546 | Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: €148 - €587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands At Chale Island 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Sands At Chale Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Chale Island Hotel Diani
Sands At Chale Island Ukunda
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sands At Chale Island staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from The Sands At Chale Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Looked to me like all bandas were the same, roomy with reasonable privacy and sea views.”
  • Banda at low tide
 of 5 bubbles SimonGGB, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would avoid the basic rooms - small & go up to I think 3/4 storeys high. Not really the 'beach vibe'. The Bandas are lovely though!”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaLou1981, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford to, book a beach banda (19,20 and 21)”
 of 5 bubbles 318angieh, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All banda are front ocean, From the first and the second floors of the Penthouse you cannot see the sea. All rooms are in the silence”
 of 5 bubbles GDG1959, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the first floor and above, also specify ones that have an ocean view”
  • View from the room
 of 5 bubbles ericcB4616VJ, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5