We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leopard Beach Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$105
View Deal
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1278)
Room & Suite (232)
Dining (41)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#17 of 35 hotels in Diani Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A stylish and cosmopolitan resort situated on world famous Diani Beach on Kenya's idyllic southern coast- undoubtedly Kenya's finest beach destination. The resort is built atop a coral cliff and surrounded by lush, tropical gardens which drop onto the white sandy shores of the Indian Ocean below. Holidaymakers and business travellers alike enjoy a range of world class amenities and a high level of service and attention to detail. Come and experience Leopard Beach!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
1,070Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 555
  • 298
  • 114
  • 55
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Aaron A wrote a review 12 Jan
10 contributions3 helpful votes
This was unfortunately the worst hotel and the most expensive we stayed at during our kenya trip. Rooms were the best part, being just ok. The shower was alone so don't expect to come out feeling clean, but at least the air conditioner worked well. Service was abysmal. From the moment we arrived it was as if we owed them a favor. At check-in one staff was yelling in swahili at other staff and left the trainee with us, who had no idea what she was doing. I speak enough swahili to know she called the other staff their an idiot. The staff all seemed like it was either their first day on the job or their last. They either didn't know or just didn't care. Food was basic, I would never ask for any of their recipes. Although the few dishes which were actually Kenyan we're decent, which suggests the chefs should stick to what they know. We paid over 200 USD per night and this place was worth 80 at best. The pool was dirty with rusty ladders and a corroded water return system. The pool area was blasting dance music most of the time we were there, as if it was some ibiza party. Totally obnoxious. Much if the hotel appeared to be in disrepair, with light fixtures falling apart and the makuti roofs I desperate need of repair. The sun shade roofs were all weathered and grey and rotting. It was really embarrassing and I know kenya can do better, the other 4 hotels we stayed at during our trip, all cheaper, were so much better. This place was pathetic. Even the beach, if the hotel was amazing but the beach bad, we could have stood for it. But both were bad. Would never recommend. The management will respond saying that i didn't bring any of these issues to their attention, what was I supposed to do? Spend three days walking around the hotel pointing out all the nonsense that was so obvious?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kioko Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Greetings from a sunny Leopard Beach Resort thanking you for your recent Stay and taking your time out to make this review. Regrettably you never enjoyed your stay although you indicated that the accommodation and the grounds were great. The hotel underwent a total refurbishment in 2019 so I am surprised that you indicate that it is falling apart including the coco beach bandas which are all new. My apologies your expectations were not met. Regards, Kioko Musyoki General Manager.
Read more
Sheil K wrote a review Dec 2020
Nairobi, Kenya7 contributions5 helpful votes
Leopard Beach is an excellent property on the Kenyan beach, but the management is a total mess. Upon arrival, It seems as though they aren’t very much concerned with social distancing; wearing masks isn’t made mandatory in public places and the restaurants don’t have a viable serving system. The villas are a really good concept but staying there can be made so much better if the service is improved. The management needs to understand that when they advertise a luxury villa service, with the price tag on it, they have to deliver. On our first day they tried to pull one over on us as the pool pump was broken. A pool cleaner told us “there were chemicals or we can use the common pool near by”. It took one and a half days of us constantly complaining for them to ‘reluctantly’ replace it. The food quality and menu as well is no where near a property of this standard. After all the time they wasted of ours, we requested to leave our villa 45 minutes later than the checkout time. The managers began to complain. Very unprofessional. Regret visiting the place. Never going back again unless the management pulls their act together.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kioko Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sheil, Seasons greetings from Leopard Beach Resort . I have noted your comment on service, the broken pump and that you were not allowed to check in late which I regret. We will continue to do all that we can to close any gap that you experienced. You may appreciate late check out may have been a change with another guest waiting to check in. We adhere strictly to the covid protocols and if a guest may have faulted this then it will be more of an exception than a rule as we understand fully the fundamentals. I thank you for raising your point of displeasure and we will continue to do everything that we can to in this regard. Kind Regards, Kioko Musyoki General Manager Leopard Beach Resort.
Read more
D M wrote a review Dec 2020
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Generally write reviews only when expectations are highly exceeded or when extremely disappointed. In this case, it is Day 1 of our stay, and I will share an objective and detailed review that hopefully helps others make a wise decision on where to spend their cash. After a really enjoyable stay at the main hotel some 12 years back, my wife and I opted to nostalgically stay at the hotel this Dec/Jan for our 5th anniversary, joined by our friends (another couple). We decided to try The Residences- the premium offering of the resort (currently staying in no. B27). Half-board rate after 15% discount for 7 nights stay is equivalent of Kes. 41,650 (USD 381) per night for a double/couple. Booking/reservation: Felt very “transactional” i.e. no personal touch or interest. On one occasion a week before our arrival, I called reservations to confirm a few details and got a very distracted response and at some point was asked to wind up the call as the person attending to me was “busy”. Red flag that I brushed off as probably an issue with the specific individual. Arrival: Arrived on 28th Dec. Despite numerous email confirmations for an airport/hotel transfer, including on the morning of travel and arrival, we got to the airport and there was no one to meet us/pick us up. I called the hotel, the reservations gentleman was “busy” and couldn’t speak to me, and the lady on the line asked me to wait as they sorted the issue out. For how long? She couldn’t say. Fortunately, being a local, I negotiated for a ride directly at the airport and headed to the hotel. For the entire 2hour trip, no follow up phone call from the hotel to check if we were OK or still waiting and definitely no apology for the inconvenience. Another red flag- mediocre service, at a premium rate. On arrival at the hotel, met by friendly Purity (a student trainee) who did her best to check us in without a hitch. Unfortunately no mention of our missed airport/hotel transfer and no apology until I expressed my dissatisfaction and asked to speak to the reservations gentleman I had been in contact with all along. He had left for the day. Salome (guest relations) met us at the reception before we headed to our villa and offered an apology, which we accepted. The driver they commissioned to pick us up forgot to do so (what does anyone say to that?) First impressions: 2 bedroom forest Villa is beautiful, well laid out with a sizeable private plunge pool and patio. View from main bedroom A27 is great! For B27 (second bedroom) there seems to be an unfinished section outside the bedroom/bathroom that’s not too pleasant to look at. The bathroom door leading to this outdoor section also has a wide gap at the bottom so we’ve had to stuff it with a towel to prevent insects/bugs from freely creeping into the bathroom and room. Rain shower head is rusted and does not have enough pressure, so using the second holdable shower head. One of the two double beds we preferred to use in the room has a bent support leg that’s causing the bed to creak. Mattress is extremely firm (beyond comfort). Bed linen (rough and a few visible stains) and pillows (extremely stuffed) are not comfortable. Request for insect spray at 11pm due to some crawling bugs was quickly responded to. However, you cannot keep the insect spray (it was labeled “reception” and had an issue date on it) so you will have to contend with squashing bugs on the floor and walls once you hand back the spray (we intend to buy our own tomorrow). The blue LED lights on the light and AC switches keep the room lit so can cause trouble falling asleep hence my being awake at 2am (we will try and figure a way to cover them up tomorrow). Meal/Reservation Options: We booked under a half-board rate meaning we are entitled to breakfast in the main restaurant (Horizon) or in the restaurant that’s part of The Residences (Lemongrass) and dinner only in the main restaurant (Horizon). There is the option to swap dinner with lunch then experience the other restaurants within the hotel during lunch time at no extra charge. However, you cannot swap your dinner in Horizon for any other restaurant at dinner time since the other restaurants are a la carte and would affect planning in the evenings. Better to book Bed & Breakfast option to keep your flexibility of trying out all the different restaurants during your stay. Overall: For the premium rate of USD 381 (Kes. 41,650) per couple/double per night and compared to the advertised premium nature of The Residences, the service and actual offering is below par and NOT value for money. Please look around for other options if willing to spend that amount of money. If you are looking for a 2 to 3 star “resorty” offering, and can negotiate a good price you are comfortable with, knowing what you are buying into, then go right ahead. I will not be recommending this resort or The Residences to any of my friends and will have to find a way of staying sane and enduring the next 6 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kioko Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Danny, Seasons greetings from Leopard Beach Resort thanking you for staying with us and for posting this review. I particularly want to thank you for your detailed review and regret that your expectations were not met. We will do everything to close the raised gaps. It is gratifying to note however that your previous stay in the main hotel has been great. I suggest we look at this as an isolated case as we have had great reviews from these Award winning Residences. Kindly accept my apologies. Kind Regards, Koko Musyoki Leopard Beach Resort and Spa.
Read more
Ursula N W wrote a review Nov 2020
13 contributions7 helpful votes
Travelled to Diani and stayed at this hotel during a business trip. It is a huge facility and has great amenities. However, the conference facility left a lot to be desired- flipchart stand kept falling; and although staff were polite, we had to always walk up and about find someone to help- possible there was an issue with management and their staff and we customers ended up bearing the brunt of it. The food was OK and we even had some kept for my collegues who arrived late on the first day- this was very kind of them. Rooms were ok- TV wasn't so good but we made do with it. Overall-hotel has a lot of character but- unhappy staff will always provide unwilling service!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kioko Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Season greetings from Leopard Beach Resort and Spa. Thank you for your business support and taking your time out to post this review. We have noted the raised concerns which I will continue to work on with my management team. Best seasons regards to you and your family. Kind Regards, Kioko Musyoki General Manager Leopard Beach Resort and Spa.
Read more
Evelyn wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
Good facilities. Covid measures in place. Good rooms. Good food. Nice clean pool. Was really exciting sharing paths with monkeys playing as they chase each other on the foot paths. Close to shopping centre for those wishing to go clubbing away from the hotel. Ubers in plenty to Manyatta, Tandoori and Shakattack Clubs.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kioko Musyoki, General Manager at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Seasons greetings from Leopard Beach Resort. Thank you for your great review from your last visit. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Kioko Musyoki General Manager Leopard Beach Resort and Spa.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leopard beach hotel diani, leopard beach resort and spa
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
158
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Diani Beach (0.04 km), Colobus Conservation (0.6 km), and DosiDosi Lounge (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leopard Beach Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leonardo's Restaurant, African Pot, and Aniellos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Leopard Beach Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Leopard Beach Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Leopard Beach Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Leopard Beach Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.