We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Rama's Hut - Homestay with african family
    2.3 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Pool
Reviewed 1 week ago
Beautiful Getaway
The rooms were really above average and very neat, though it... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were really above average and very neat, though it took us long for the receptionist to check us in, but it was a worthy experience all in all, the only thing id request is for the hotel to expand on the food variety, because food was pretty basic, the hotel should also find means to provide guests with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfred M
Bonn, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The last time I stayed here was some 20 years ago, as newlyweds, so it was great to come back for the New Year with our kids. The beach is still fantastic, and there are also nice small pools dotted about as well as the big one. The food is simple but tasty and varied. The staff are invariably helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LGuarino
Nairobi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is beautiful right from the hotel lobby. Rooms are good, either garden view or ocean view. No complaints there. Food is the major issue, from what I experienced at the main restaurant. Variety was limited and food was not what I expected from culinary trained staff. This is a hotel that I can go back too in a heartbeat,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I would have given this hotel a fifth star: it has good management, good service, great setting, but it is let down by its lunch menu. Don't get me wrong. The breakfasts are good and the dinner buffets are fine. However, the lunch menu (a la carte) needs a big upgrade, especially for the expensive prices. The good news is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theinspectorishere
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Had the pleasure of spending a few days here for work. Nice place, friendly staff, ok food. No wifi in the room; not a problem if on holiday but cumbersome since I had to work. Overall very relaxing and peaceful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aabb12345
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We arrived very early morning, after crossing on the ferry from Mombasa. Monkeys and birds watched us from the trees. The reception area is beautiful with local wood and stone and locally made furniture. My cottage was right up from the beach, very serene, a huge four post bed and all in shades of white, cool cotton. The staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Had a lot of fun on our 5 day stay here last christmas. The service was excellent, there were fun and games tht kept us entertained. Night entertainment was also awesome. The beach was very clean and had no intruders. The food was great. However, the WiFi connection was a bit low, the connection wasn't strong enough to reach the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank collins_m 9
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

It was our honeymoon. Great hotel. Perfect location. The best beach. It was incredible 10 days. Only one ask to management- make wifi on all territory! Now they have animation team - day time sports and night time music animation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Come to this hotel with my friends for holidays. When I booked them I think that there is a good place, but not! Here is very poor manager and staff. Internet work only in reception but connection is bad. Also they want money for everything. Big prices at hotel. I want go to Safari and hotel manager Camal said price...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sergio L
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

This is a resort and we do not sell safaris. We do not even have desks for Tour Operators like other Hotels and Resorts so what this guest has posted here cannot be true. Secondly we do not have a manager called Camal at this Resort but we will investigate and post our findings should it turn out that someone...

Reviewed 8 October 2016

I stayed at this hotel with my two teenage daughters clean rooms friendly staff. It is so out of the way yet there is no toiletry shop on the premises, no entertainment,no activities, no water sports no gym and by the second day my girls were bored senseless. The massage parlour is shabby, unfinished and has no ambience for relaxation....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AmmanKenyan

443 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (114)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.3 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
923 reviews
0.7 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,273 reviews
3.3 km away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
384 reviews
5.4 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
358 reviews
21.1 km away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort is located 40 km's from Mombasa town and situated along the white sandy beaches of south coast surrounded by swaying coconut palm trees and magnificent old stoic baobabs. Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort comprises of 100 deluxe rooms, tastefully crafted and beautifully furnished found in white washed, 'makuti' roofed structures. The rooms double or twin, are tastefully appointed with local hand carved furnishings and are filled with luxurious amenities; walk-in shower, separate toilet, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and have the convenience of both air-conditioning and a central ceiling fan. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: €102 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Club Hotel Diani
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Hotel
Indian Ocean Beach Club
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
over a year ago
isle of wight

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the ocean facing cottages on the beach at the end of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles theinspectorishere, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book an oceanfront room”
 of 5 bubbles henkc2014, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I was in Room 113. Ask for a remodeled room.”
 of 5 bubbles ericaz619, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for beach front every time”
 of 5 bubbles whetton, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ocean front rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles adudaliz, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5