We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swahili Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swahili Beach Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 457: English reviews
Start your review of Swahili Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This property has the nicest rooms and swimming pool i have enjoyed in a hotel for a long time. Food variety and selection was great as well. The layout and ambience of the hotel is very pleasant, and i would recommend a visit here anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manish1967
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Being the first time in this hotel, I was blown away by the vast space of the property. The rooms are tastefully done with a Swahili touch. The rooms are super spacious even for a standard room. They have a gym for those who are addicts to exercising:-). They have amazing large swimming pools. The food tastes really good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fwawesh
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a week in Swahili Beach. The hotel service is second to none. The staff are friendly, One thing I must mention is their food. No stomach upsets during the entire stay. This is very key and I commend the team.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SERAH K
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have visited Kenya and Diani beach several times now. This time we chose Swahili Beach Resort as it was my wife's birthday for a 10 night stay. We specifically chose a more couple focused luxury hotel, as we were without children on a romantic break. We were not disappointed. I arranged this vacation independently (non package) as i am...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank theberber
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Taylor, Thank you so very much for your comprehensive and very detailed review. I am not sure whether "review" does it justice, as it is a genuine and honest 'guide to visiting Swahili Beach Resort'. The Team and I are humbled by your objective comments. Most importantly, we are extremely pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay...

Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place is all in essence very cultural, very Swahili!!! Love the service, ambience and general feel about it. Whilst here, ask for a discount you must just get it. I did!! I encountered just a small mishap with missing toiletries, but it was sorted in minutes despite it being past midnight. Kudos!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knjenga9
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. Glad to note that you were impressed by the service, ambiance and atmosphere of the hotel. We have tried to achieve a true Swahili feel with both the architecture and ambiance and are always touched when our guests appreciate this. We hope you will pay us another visit soon. Best regards,...

uk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have done several reviews of this hotel and have been in general disappointed at so much potential being wasted Today I decided to just pop in and have a coffee in the coffee lounge I was treated at the entrance by a friendly concierge who guided me to the coffee lounge As it is a quiet time I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beltanefire
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for yet another visit and another review. The team and I are delighted that every visit is better than the last. We are glad you enjoyed the coffee, thanks to our very experienced Barrister Felix, who has added that extra touch to the Kahawa Lounge and the quality of our coffee. We agree with your comments...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Swahili Beach in december 2016 and had an amazing time at the hotel. we were wowed by the architectural design of the hotel right from the entrance to the lounge, right to the rooms. The room was very spacious and cosy with authentic Swahili decorations. The cascading pool is quite impressive and goes all the way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlesgmaina
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for the 5-star review. We are glad that you chose Swahili Beach Resort as your honeymoon destination and delighted that we were able to make your honeymoon a memorable and enjoyable experience. The romantic beach dinner and the Africology Spa treatments are our signature offers and we are pleased to note...

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On fridays they normally serve pizza half price, so you get one for around 400 ksh / 4$. They taste very good. The whole hotel surroundings is very nicely done, specially the light. You have to go there at least once. The drinks though can be left out. They are also half price, but half taste too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lukas H
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience through this review. The 'Happy Friday' offer of half price on Pizzas and cocktails at the Barharini Beach Bar & Restaurant is the most popular night in Diani, for both resident and non-resident guests. Our Pizzas are highly rated, thanks to Chef Jas who is always around to ensure...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From checking everything was awesome. Lovely rooms and Arafa at the pool bar made best cocktails and such great customer service. Pools awesome and for all ages. I plan on going back in fact my daughter said of all Diani hotels we've been to Swahili beach is the best. Keep it up and we'll keep coming

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josphine M
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent Daughter & Mom holiday. We are inspired, to the extent that we are working on introducing a special 'Daughter & Mom Package'. Thank you for appreciating the effort put in by Arafa. She is one of our long serving team members and is...

Nairobi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My reception at Swaihili Beach was awful. My family and i were kept waiting to be checked-in for a whole 1.5hrs. What made it worse is that no-one updated us on what's causing the delay and whenever we inquired on how soon we'll get our rooms the front office staff just responded casually - "10minutes...!!" Inspite of having booked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 659francisg
Jeff M, General Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Swahili Beach. Please accept mine and my team's sincerest apologies for the 'un'-welcome you received on arrival. The situation you describe is definitely below our standards and should not have happened. We also take note of your comment regarding the need for more entertainment....

650 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (618)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (167)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (199)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.2 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 30 in Diani Beach
389 reviews
1.7 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 30 in Diani Beach
933 reviews
2.8 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Diani Beach
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
360 reviews
2.6 km away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#14 of 30 in Diani Beach
187 reviews
2.1 km away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 30 in Diani Beach
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Swahili Beach is much more than meets the eye. Culture and history provide its very soul. From the architecture and the aromas to the music, it teases the senses. Drawing you in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach Road | Diani-Mombasa, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: €147 - €234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swahili Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swahili Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
11 months ago
Nairobi, Kenya

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Swahili Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower numbers are nearer main building. Worth the extra for a superior room on ground floor with double doors onto private terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles theberber, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms-quite spacious”
 of 5 bubbles charlesgmaina, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground floor seemed to be cooler than those upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles nekjo2008, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get rooms on the first floor for better view of the gardens and pools”
 of 5 bubbles pamelamZ9360UI, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do let the resort know of your preferences and unique needs when making reservations. They met our requests and unique needs 100%.”
 of 5 bubbles L2381ANrichardm, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5