We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Hartington Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Hartington Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 249: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We needed a place to stay for our annual gathering which usually takes place in fairly swish city centre type apartments so this was a real break from the norm and we all loved it. The rooms, bedding, etc were all clean and tidy. I felt the top bunks were slightly more comfy but that will no doubt vary from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cakeforbreakfast
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really pleased you had a great stay. I will pass on to the housekeeping staff how pleased you were with the cleanliness, and to our Reception staff for the good feedback. Our heating is temperamental, and the radiator in the dining room is a fine line...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here one night as a half way point to meet friends from Manchester. Great place and very reasonably priced. Excellent circular walk from the hostel too. Great facilities for kids too. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have something for everyone here, from great walking paths seconds away to games that can be played indoors and out. We hope that you and your friends will stay with us again the next time you meet!

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This house is beautiful. We arrived in the rain, dark, bit scary. But the house was lovely, the welcome at reception was great. Lovely lounge to hunker down in on sofas with a glass of wine. Shame the fires weren't working, as they were being refurbished, but all was great. Beds were comfortable compared to some of the YHA places....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthiebon
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are very much looking forward to having our fires fixed especially with winter upon us. Shame about the weather but unfortunately that's beyond our control, you did come at a very beautiful time of year though and we hope that you come again! Thank you...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This is a beautiful hostel to stay located right in the heart of Hartington with a lovely pub, tea room, shops and even it's own cheese shop - delicious!! No logs fire were working on our stay shame but lucky as we was up on a attic room that was very stuffy and had to have our very small window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sash54
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and can only apologise about our log fires of which we aim to get back up and roaring as soon as possible! We will always do what we can to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible whether that is turning...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The food and bar service leave a lot be desired they are right next too each other bar / hot food dispenser and it is madness to say the least at busy times. We abandoned our meal due to the wait and went to village pub one occasion and on another we stuck it out to wait in the meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparky659
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that at very busy times there are sometimes longer waits at the bar and we always manage this in the most effective way that we can. However, we are currently putting plans together to redesign this area and can only apologise that your experience on this occasion wasn't a positive one. If...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

YHA Hartington is a beautiful building more like a hotel than a Youth Hostel. The days of travelling teenagers filling the place in line with the YHA motto appear to be long gone. This was very much a base for families and older people. YHA have diversified so dramatically that food is on offer until 10 and beer is on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john h
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Hartington hall. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful building in stunning surroundings. We would just like to point out that we only serve food up until 8.30pm however the bar is open until 11pm. We do have signs throughout the hostel reminding...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Hartington Hall is a great place to stay in the Peak District. A good base for a weekend of walking the surrounding countryside. Our room was basic but very clean and comfy beds after a good day's walking. The staff are welcoming,friendly and helpful. Both the breakfasts and evening meals are good for the price. The bar serves good real...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shakers3
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay!! I'm sure a nice comfy bed is welcomed after a long days walk... We hope that you made the most of the beautiful scenery we have surrounding the hostel it certainly sounds like you did! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the...

Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is a lovely old house with loads of character. We stayed here for a school reunion gathering and so used some of the larger rooms wth ensuites. They were all good, clean & spacious. It was a very busy weekend for the hostel & the catering staff were definitely struggling on the Saturday evening! Our meal that night was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelenewright
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. I am glad that on the whole you and your friends enjoyed your stay. I can only send my sincere apologise for the experience you had in our restaurant on the Saturday evening but as you mentioned, this is not a usual occurrence and I am happy that...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I stayed in the Coach House, it had everything I needed, including our own small private kitchen. Quiet clean and the YHA is in a lovely location - perfect for walking. The wifi is a bit unpredictable if you have an iPhone - but always worked in the end - it just took patience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello, thank you very much for leaving a great review. I'm glad to hear that the Coach House suited your needs during your stay and that you were able to make the most of the beautiful Peak District countryside. I'm sorry the Wi-Fi access wasn't as straight forward as it should have been, most of the time it is fine...

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Why oh why do they call them youth hostels? It is just full of older retired folk who should really be able to afford a proper hotel or at least go to a Premier Inn, taking up rooms that should be for families and younger folk. . nice place to stay, but dead atmosphere what with the older folk in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zigtravel
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our location, we do have some lovely views across the countryside. We are proud to be able to offer something for everyone and our clientele changes almost daily with individuals, friends, families and school groups alike. We do hope to see you again in the future.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.4 km away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
814 reviews
9.6 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.7 km away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
681 reviews
23.6 km away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
18.6 km away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Address: Hartington Hall Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Price Range: €29 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Hartington Hall staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Madison, Wisconsin
Birmingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Hartington Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One right away from the main building. Don't forget those ear plugs!”
 of 5 bubbles 2oldfarts, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“"The Barn" is separate from the main building and is a little more peaceful. Hartington Hall has a preserved history plus modern amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the 3rd floor (top floor) and the room was much larger than other rooms that my friends stayed in.”
 of 5 bubbles massimopB8879NY, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Roost was ideal for us - bedroom, bathroom and kitchen/lounge area.”
 of 5 bubbles R_C_2014SA, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The Barn is across the courtyard, quiet and tucked away.”
 of 5 bubbles TenMileBank, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay