We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Start your review of Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had the opportunity to spend a day at Selbourne Golf Resort. The security is very strict.... not for visitors ! The Hotel itself was very nice. The rooms were good size and off from the main Hotel but the setting for the rooms was very dark and dismal with too many trees. No good outlook. Very disappointing. They need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennedy233
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place, however calculate approximately 15 minutes to enter the gate and another 15 minutes to exit the gate. They have a very slow insufficient security system. During our two nights stay we spend about 1.5 hours waiting at the gate to drive in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roisin w
First_Resorts, General Manager at Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated. Please accept our apologies with regards the delays at the gate, the new access system is just a month old and we were still experiencing teething challenges, hence the delays. The system is improving daily and we hope to iron out all the challenges soon allowing for quicker entry without...

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there on an Executive Strategic Session. Conferencing was average, nothing special. Food was very poor. 5 main courses returned due to poor food quality and over cooked hard steaks. The choice on offer was poor with a number of items being used for lunch and dinner. Service in F&B terrible. Almost an hour for breakfast, way to long....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bomber08
First_Resorts, General Manager at Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. All areas of concern have been noted and addressed and our team is working on this to improve our services. We sincerely do apologise for not meeting your requirements on your last visit to Selborne Hotel Spa and Golf Estate and appreciate you bringing this to my attention so we can strive for...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay , accommodation is neat, clean and The view of the golf course is great , lovely calm and serene place , close to beach and value for money . One awesome thing is the staff are very friendly , I'll definitely go back and stay there in the future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 545jeromef
First_Resorts, General Manager at Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, it is very much appreciated. It gives the Team at Selborne Hotel Spa and Golf Estate great pleasure to know we were able to make your last visit a memorable experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Goodman Ncobeni

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The trip started of on a shaky note. We waited for 45 minutes to check in and the phone was not working. However, Zanele and Duncan were wonderful. Their service changed my opinion of the hotel. They were helpful and compensated for the initial issues. The garden room on the first floor is spacious and feels private. There is some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank humidendar
First_Resorts, General Manager at Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your beautiful and encouraging comments, it is always great to know that our guests appreciate the efforts that the Team at Selborne Hotel Spa and Golf Estate put towards customer care. I have sheared your review with Zanele and Duncan too as such comments really keep our team motivated We do hope to welcome you back in...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We rented one of the 3 bedroom villas on the Golf Estate for a 10 day period over New Year. The house was superbly appointed and maintained and serviced daily by a super efficient and friendly Lucy. The Golf estate is set in the most beautiful and tranquil gardens and forest with prolific bird life and the odd Duiker and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smokey128
First_Resorts, General Manager at Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback, it is very much appreciated and a pleasure to receive such motivating feedback. The team strives to ensure customer satisfaction and, by your comments, we seem to be on the right track. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Lucy and the rest of the staff Once again, thank you and...

Reviewed 16 January 2017

The staff from the gate, to the porters, to the receptionist, to the waiters and management were all excellent. They really go out their way to make you happy. The lamb curry was really good in the restaurant. The breakfast was good. The gardens and golf course are absolutely beautiful. If you want a peaceful, relaxed place I would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank secreyme1
First_Resorts, General Manager at Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

The Team at Selborne Hotel Spa and Golf Estate would like to thank you for your beautiful comments, it is very much appreciated. We do hope to see you back home soon! Goodman Ncobeni

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

RE: FEEDBACK ON STAY AT SELBORNE We originally booked the hotel for the 26th to the 29th December 2016 but had to check out after the 26th due to the hotel being unacceptable. My feedback is as follows: • We stayed at rooms 32 and 34 • Room 32 had staples/nails sticking out from the base of the bed. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DesAlw123
First_Resorts, General Manager at Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review, we appreciate your feedback. First and foremost, we sincerely do apologize that you did not enjoy your last visit to Selborne Hotel Spa and Golf Estate. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, it is only with constructive criticism that we grow and be rated amongst the best, so...

Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Negatives: phones did not work; bathroom cleanliness can improve; definitely avoid the chicken and prawn curry; mediocre breakfast; long waits at spa resulted in shorter treatment than we paid for Positives: excellent golf course; comfortable rooms; friendly and helpful staff; excellent burger and lamb curry; great facilities for family and kids; good value for money as kids stay free; tranquil...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thubendran N
First_Resorts, General Manager at Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Thubendran, Thank you for taking time to post this review, I appreciate your feedback. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay however there were a few issues that could have improved your stay with us. We will definitely be looking into these things and taking the necessary action. We hope to welcome you back soon to...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I booked a garden room, but was upgraded to a fantastic room in the manor house (room 4), directly next to the spa. Amazing place to relax. Great pool area. Nice walks on paths of golf course. Great that no room service fee is charged. I had a t-bone steak, tasted fantastic and not as expensive as one would expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanineZA
First_Resorts, General Manager at Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Janine, Thank you for taking time to post this review. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us . I have noted your comments & will address them with the relevant parties. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Andy Young

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennington
12.6 km away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
170 reviews
12.3 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
18 reviews
31.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
37 reviews
0.0 km away
Midlands Saddle & Trout Resort
21.0 km away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#4 of 8 in Umkomaas
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the beautiful and sunny Natal South Coast, The Selborne Hotel, Spa & Golf Estate is located in the charming seaside town of Pennington. Decorated in elegant colonial style, the hotel has its own unique character of old world charm and discreet personalized service. With its landscaped grounds, manicured fairways, coastal forests and ocean views, it is one of Southern Africa’s iconic luxury estates. The award winning, PGA rated 18-hole golf course is a superb masterpiece. The number of golfers that return year after year stands testimony to Selborne’s reputation as one of the country’s premier courses. Relaxing and rejuvenating are “par for the course” in this picture perfect estate that offers guests the complete luxury experience - warm and friendly staff, tempting culinary delights, championship golf course with country club and revitalizing spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa

Address: Old Main Road, Pennington 2000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pennington
Price Range: €64 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel, Spa And Golf Estate
Selborne Hotel, Spa & Golf Estate Hotel Pennington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms appear to be 'in the trees' None had a good outlook .”
 of 5 bubbles kennedy233, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some room s have nice views of the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles Bomber08, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room overlooking the fairway had a wonderful patio to sit and soak in the scenery.”
 of 5 bubbles secreyme1, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 or any room in the manor house”
  • Room 4
  • Morning sun in Room 4
  • Room 4
  • Room 4
  • Room 4
  • Room 4
 of 5 bubbles JanineZA, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take one of the best rooms....well worth the slight extra pric.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveGMcC, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5