We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monkey Island Resort

Expedia.comUS$81*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$85*
US$81*
US$85*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Monkey Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 296: English reviews
Start your review of Monkey Island Resort
 Click to rate
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to chill out. A/C has a short offering which is not a big deal in April with the winds and tide. Staff is great lots of space to chill on the beach. Visit to monkeys can be hazardous since they are so aggressive, think Gibraltar and KL. They will charge 3% for a credit card.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexasCanuck2000
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunaly a friend of us get a terrible disease just arrived in Monkey Island,so we can't fully appreciate this Paradise. Wonderful holiday chalet between a tropical garden and the sea, we enjoied a barbecue buffet and a rich breakfast. Anyway the morning after, manager mr Duc Cu, our guardian angel, carry us to the hospital and organized the transfer back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nike2259
Reviewed 1 week ago

Monkey Island Resort offers Ha Long Bay cruises we booked in Hanoi. One night on the boat, one night in a bungalow on the island. Their boat is rough and you are pushed through the tourist traps like every other boat out there. I wont even get into the many issues with the boat but the resort was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So, the good: This is a fantastic location with great, friendly staff and well kept beach style bungalows. The variety and quality of food was good by my standards. The not so good and some tolerable: Sharing the resort facilities is a backpacker hostel. They don't stay in the bungalows but use everything else. If they're all there at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beni B
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of the trip from Central Backpackers in Hanoi and had a great time. Did the two night trip and got to do lots of boat trips, canoeing, swimming and a great day out on Cat Ba island. Perfect mix as it's good fun with good people but not too loud and booze-cruise like

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Amazing little island that really is worth a stay while doing a tour of Ha Long Bay. This island is much less built up than Cat Ba island. The trek up to the top of the island is also difficult for some but worth doing with sensible footwear, boasting beautiful views. The staff are very friendly. Kayaking is available as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ESQ389
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

It's just right place for relax and enjoy your holiday. The beach is clean, water is so cool for a hot day. The sea view bungalows are perfect. Nice staff, great service! Will come back and recommend to my friends!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank voiconbebong89
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2017

While the rustic bungalows are in keeping with staying on a small island in Halong Bay, the small sunbathing and swimming beach are good and the place is quiet (as long as you don't stay in the backpackers' hostel part), the food was, in all honesty, terrible. You're a captive audience and the resort doesn't make much effort to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ozglenda
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

If you want bad memories for your holiday, then this is the place to stay. Vicious rabid monkeys, rats in the bungalows, nothing worked - constant power outages and unpleasant service staff. All the things that make for a nightmare holiday. Try somewhere else on Cat Ba and avoid this place at all costs.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelite4
MKI_Customer_Service, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Monkey Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear travelite4, Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor on our property. In our opinion, however, your review was not fair with our effort to bring the best service to guests staying here. Following your review, we would have response as below: Firstly – monkeys. As you known, our property is on Monkey Island and its name...

Monterey, CA
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We spent two nights and wish we had stayed longer. The facilities need some renovating, and the food is good-not excellent, it's all about the location and the service here. The facilities are to be expected for the natural weathering of this small island, though it was clean and very comfortable. We loved the private beach, having the island all...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Courtney C

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
2.7 km away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#6 of 18 in Cat Ba
288 reviews
3.4 km away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 18 in Cat Ba
343 reviews
2.9 km away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#2 of 18 in Cat Ba
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
3.2 km away
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
3.2 km away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#9 of 18 in Cat Ba
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monkey Island Resort is located at a really lovely place in Lan Ha bay ( South of Halong bay). Staying here, please don't forget to take a tour to visit Lan Ha bay as it is unique beautiful area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monkey Island Resort

Address: Cat Dua Island, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Price Range: €68 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkey Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monkey Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Island Hotel Halong Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cat Ba
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Ba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monkey Island Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Chonburi Province, Thailand
Madrid, Spain
8 months ago
Croydon, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Wilmington, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Monkey Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See comments”
TexasCanuck2000, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get the beach front rooms raised above the ground. Quieter with private deck and lounge chairs.”
D2753ILkevink, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view in the center is the best, room 404 was perfect.”
CourtneyC126, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view "suites" are best, but still budget quality at luxury prices.”
stanleynoel, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Seaview huts a must”
ThuraSH, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$85
Travelocity
TripAdvisorUS$81
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates