We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel Clarens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Clarens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Clarens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Very nice looking hotel very well situated in town. Good service and very good food. Took my pregnant wife on a last minute Babymoon, worst bed I have ever slept in, or much rather tried to sleep in. When mentioned to reception at check out, we were told its because they are still the original mattresses from when the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willem S
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Willem S Congratulations on the upcoming arrival of your baby. I hope that little pink feet in the house will bring you much joy and fulfillment. Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, My sincerest apologies that your stay with us was not to your expectations. We have had extreme electrical storms over the last week resulting...

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located and within easy walking distance to the galleries, restaurants and shops in the town which is great because parking in town is limited. Rooms are very comfortable, well decorated and clean. The espresso machine in the room was a pleasant surprise. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and the dining experience is excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NeetsDegi
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the protea hotel clarens over New Years weekend . The shower is in the bedroom - this is very strange to me as there is no privacy. The room was not cleaned. Wet well- smudges on walls and in the shower and hair in a few places like the pillow which I hadn't used yet.The view from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne B
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Leanne B, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Clarens. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the view from the pool, the breakfast as well as the location of the hotel. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant overnight accommodation.Lovely mountain view rooms.Staff very helpful & friendly.One drawback however - the evening a la carte dinner was very disappointing the food was just not up to 4 star standard. The meat was tough and prawns were not de veined and tasteless. Great pity.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Rode on the adventure motor bike from Jhb. Awesome trip. The hotels location is perfect. Staff are helpful. Food was perfect. Perfect for a quick getaway. Ambience in Clarence is different to other getaways. Mountain bike. River rafting. Walking. Drinking and chilling. A bucket list venue. We are going back in January. Same hotel. It's perfect. But the pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deboraha25
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear deboraha25 Thank you for taking your road-trip out to Clarens. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our location and that my TEAM were helpful. I know that my kitchen brigade will be very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thank you for your comment about our pool - if you are looking...

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We decided to pop away to Clarens for a last minute getaway and booked this hotel 2 days before the time. It was one of the very few modern places to stay in Clarens. The service was really good and the staff are all very friendly. We had a problem with our safe in the room and they sent someone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 476shannond
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear 476shannond I am so happy to hear that you decided to take that last minute getaway! Everyone needs a break and Clarens is a beautifully serene place to do just that. Thank you for your wonderful review and all your positive comments about your experience with us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 18 November 2016

5 Nights at the Protea Clarens, although enjoyable, was marred by repeated problems with door key cards not working. Bar personnel could also be better trained to be more professional in their work. My take on their toiletries - soap/shampoo/hand cream - is that it has a distinctly masculine scent, not at all appealing to females! Other than this, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123Maxie123
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear 123Maxie123 Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience with the key card - the magnetic strips are relatively sensitive. Thank you for your comment regarding the service you experienced in the bar, my Food and Beverage Manager will appreciate the invaluable feedback and realign training to ensure future GUESTS experience excellence....

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the hotel over the weekend. The hotel is in the perfect location and has secure parking and wifi.The food was excellent. Dinner was superb with an A La Carte menu. Breakfast was good with an amazing pancake machine. Rooms are small but with very comfortable beds. Would recommend the hotel anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndreanaOchse
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable and neat. Breakfast was big with a very nifty pancake making machine, which were liked by the whole group. Staff members however were not very friendly and helpful. The way they answer when phoned from the room was very unprofessional and blunt. Did not had dinner, but friends of ours did and regretted not going with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adri H
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Adri H Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offering and more importantly the pancake machine - I hope it brought back childhood memories. My sincerest apologies for the unprofessional experience you had with the Restaurant team - I will address your concerns with my TEAM...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Needed an overnight in Clarens and this looked handy. The hotel is walking distance to the attractions on the square and has off street. parking. We were greeted by a helpful bellhop who stacked luggage, efficient and friendly checkin. The popcorn and ice tea in the lobby is a nice quirky touch. We were in the mountain facing rooms which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndieChisholm
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear AndieChisholm Thank you for sharing with us your experience of the Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens. I am so glad that you enjoyed the popcorn and iced tea on arrival, it is always good to be reminded that life doesn't need to be serious and that something fun is all that we need to make a day that much...

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
1.2 km away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
85 reviews
18.3 km away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 26 in Clarens
152 reviews
13.8 km away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 26 in Clarens
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Clarens Country House
0.7 km away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#5 of 38 in Clarens
159 reviews
0.8 km away
Ash River Lodge B&B
Ash River Lodge B&B
#10 of 38 in Clarens
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Clarens - Home is where the Art is. The Protea Hotel Clarens is located in the best kept secret in art and culture circles of the Free State. The picturesque village of Clarens is framed by the majestic Maluti Mountains, sandstone cliffs and is in close proximity to the Golden Gate National Park and the mountain kingdom of Lesotho. This artists’ haven is a tapestry steeped in history and rich in legend. Experience a living masterpiece that exudes sheer style, luxury and design. Protea Hotel Clarens blends in with the natural splendour that has inspired artists, eco lovers and tourists who simply enjoy the art of living to explore this tranquil, magical landscape and relax, in style. Take in the breathtaking scenery with sundowners on Protea Hotel Clarens’ terrace, enjoy fine dining or laze away the hours in luxury and comfort. This sanctuary embodies state-of-the-art excellence and service. From adrenalin rushes to cultural expeditions, Clarens offers it all. With an abundance of activities nearby, from San paintings and dinosaur trails to white river rafting and rock climbing; Protea Hotel Clarens’ warm hospitality completes the picture. So whether you plan a romantic getaway, team-building exercise, business conference or African adventure, Protea Hotel Clarens has it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Clarens

Address: corner of Main & Van der Merwe Streets, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Price Range: €90 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Clarens 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Clarens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Clarens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Polokwane, South Africa
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Clarens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure if you would mind not having a mountain facing room as I suspect you will spend more time outdoors.”
 of 5 bubbles jacob736, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If available the rooms with the mountain views are spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles charmaineb715, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“given the location they should all have wonderful views”
 of 5 bubbles PASM64, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front not good. Busses starts up in the early hours of the morning, to wake you up and then to shut down again.”
 of 5 bubbles ElmarieBooysen, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 112 was great”
 of 5 bubbles DavidL299, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5