We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bath Road, Midgham, Reading RG7 5UX England
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (64)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Berkshire Arms Hotel
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Midgham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you’re looking for a hotel in Newbury, look no further than the Berkshire Arms Hotel. Not only will you enjoy a great night's sleep, rooms at the Berkshire Arms Hotel provide a flat screen TV and a desk, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. In addition, while staying at the Berkshire Arms Hotel, guests have access to a 24 hour front desk and outdoor furniture. You can also enjoy an on-site restaurant. Need a place to park? Free parking is available too. We have a pub at the heart of this hotel so travellers don't need to look far for great food complimented by fantastic hospitality. looking for a Berkshire Arms is close to The Cottage Inn (1.2 mi), which is within walking distance. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Highclere Castle or Donnington Castle, which are popular castles amongst tourists. The staff at Berkshire Arms Hotel looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
430Reviews4Q+A65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 102
  • 132
  • 99
  • 52
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lisa R wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We arrived very late , but upon arrival we were greeted by a very cheerful member of staff at reception. Our room was very clean and warmed very quickly, and a very comfortable bed . We received a very warm welcome at breakfast and the food was served very promptly and very hot ! Well done to all the staff and thank you ... and a BIG thank you to Jess for such a lovely breakfast, keep up the great work . These staff are a credit to the company . A big thank you 😊
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello 55lissar, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review it’s much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Andreas
Read more
Peter wrote a review May 2022
Lymington, United Kingdom1 contribution
My stay was only for one night, but would of looked for somewhere else if any longer. Very poor, looks dated, not cared for, windows in the pub side need replacing, bedroom was tatty, carpets torn, tiles in bathroom shabby, I could go on. Needs a total re-vamp. Wont be staying here again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't go book here until its had an upgrade, as it looks shabby, and dated.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 28 May 2022
Hi Pb22363, I'm sorry about your experience with us we can do much better than this. We are due a total revamp and we are hoping you will give us another chance in the future. Kind regards Andreas
Read more
Sherz wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Rooms outdated and lighting very dim, miserable girl at reception who I never once saw smile or really be pleasant in any way over the 3 nights I stayed. The bed was comfortable though and the shower was nice and warm with great pressure. Mobile phone signal was non existent on Vodafone, even the their HQ is only a few miles down the road, so had to rely on the very very poor "cloud. sky" WiFi which randomly disconnects you as and when it chooses, no good when staying for a business course and relying on IT.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 28 May 2022
Hi Sherz998, Looks like we didn't meet your expectations when you visited us and for that I’m sorry. We are due a total transformation soon and I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Kind regards Andreas
Read more
LeyburnSteve wrote a review May 2022
Spennithorne, United Kingdom34 contributions4 helpful votes
We had two rooms booked for one night and had chosen the hotel because of its proximity to a 21st birthday party we were attending. Reception was unmanned and we had to wait an unsatisfactory length of time to check in. We had a problem that our key would not come out of the lock on one of our rooms. We didn’t think the attitude of the slightly scruffy man in the jeans and T-shirt was very good and we felt slightly patronised and that our complaint was a nuisance to him. Our other room guest felt she did not receive good customer service or a good attitude from staff regarding her early arrival. She was totally aware of the hotels policy on check in time but felt she wasn’t treated courteously. The rooms were adequate but felt the soundproofing needed improvement as we could hear personal type noises from rooms above on the first floor. All in all I would say it was probably the worst stay we have had in the many years of booking hotels through Booking.com
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 24 May 2022
Hi Leyburnsteve, I'd really appreciate the opportunity to speak to you about your experience, if you have a spare moment please could you get in touch on 6115@greeneking.co.uk with a contact number so we can discuss this further and hopefully turn your experience around? Kind regards Andreas
Read more
CCG wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you all for such a lovely visit. Every single member of staff we spoke to was the perfect mix of friendly and professional. Well done to everyone and we look forward to coming back in the very near future
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 23 May 2022
Hello Claire, Thank you ever so much for the kind comments and positive review I’ll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. We are over the moon you have such an enjoyable visit and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Andreas
Read more
Martyn W wrote a review May 2022
Newport, United Kingdom4 contributions
One night stay, easy check-in, clean well appointed room, pub with terrace tables on site, lovely menu and great value food, good service and relaxed atmosphere. Well worth staying here. Large car park for pub visitors and separate parking area for hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 22 May 2022
Hello Martyn, Thank you so much for the positive review and kind comments they mean a lot to us. Im glad you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Andreas
Read more
MeganLauraAnn wrote a review May 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom4 contributions
10 of us stayed overnight. The location was perfect for the races. The hotel recommended A1 cars for a taxi service who were also great. We also ate in the restaurant with Izzy (sorry if spelt wrong!) being our server. She was most helpful and helped confirm the allergen list and dealt with our 100’s of menu changes! She was friendly and attentive. Thank you for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 15 May 2022
Hello Megan, Thank you for the positive review and kind comments we are glad you had a great visit. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Andreas
Read more
adampgfinnis@gmail.com wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Room yes basic green king standard. Bar last orders 10.30 if your lucky. and that was Saturday night!!! food again green king standard.. Food maybe a step up from weatherspoons Probably will avoid coming back. There were traveler's staying here seem like they could use the place like home. There was a 6 maybe 7 year old traveler using the fruit machine. Over 18 only . Should lose your alcohol/food licence on the spot for that. But hay good luck.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 16 May 2022
Hello Adam, I’m sorry to hear about your experience. I can reassure you I will be looking further into your comments to make sure we improve moving forward. Kind regards Andreas
Read more
David wrote a review May 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom3 contributions
Not sure what changed in a period of a month but this visit is clearly 100% different. I don’t usually leave reviews however I have been pleasantly surprised. From the cleanliness standards to the fact the car park was full on arrival and I was unsure if it will be good or bad. The pub seems to have changed atmosphere all together with fresh flowers throughout and extra space and rooms available to explore! I was surprised how much more was hidden away in the past by a reserved sign after breakfast. The team still enjoying themselves and making everyone feel welcome which is always nice to see and even though the hotel is in need of modernisation you can tell something has changed lately. Whatever it is thank you for a great stay at a favourite place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 3 May 2022
David, It is reviews like yours that keeps us motivated to deliver great service to every guest. Thank you so much for the kind words and the five star review it’s much appreciated! We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Andreas
Read more
Angie wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Male taking orders for breakfast was rude in the extreme. Upset several female guests. We had previously advised them that because we were not able to check in until our function elsewhere had finished, we would be very late arriving. I was told that I could pay on checkout the next day. The male concerned was verbally agressive and walked away whilst I was still talking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Berkshire Arms Hotel
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Hello Angiepl7121CM, I am sorry to hear you didn’t have a great experience in your last visit. Allow me to reassure you this is not the level of standards we strive to deliver as a brand and if you can kindly email me on 6115@greeneking.co.uk with a contact number I would like to discuss this further with you in order to reinstate your faith in us. Kind regards Andreas
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$49 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn newbury / thatcham hotel newbury
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireReadingMidgham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Berkshire Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Berkshire Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include ExCLUEsive Games Escape Rooms (6.5 km), Nature Discovery Centre (4.4 km), and High Score Arcades Newbury (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Berkshire Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Berkshire Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Berkshire Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berkshire Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Henry & Joe's, Spotted Dog, and The Flower Pot Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Berkshire Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shaw House (7.3 km) and Greenham Control Tower (5.2 km).
Is Berkshire Arms Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.