We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 256: English reviews
Wernau, Germany
Reviewed 12 October 2016

After two weeks of diving in another ressort we wanted to relax on Rihiveli. What should I say: It was a pefect choice. The rooms are really nice but you have to know, that there is no aircondition. We didn´t care about that as we only went there to sleep. Absolutely every employee was very polite, but in such a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex K
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear Alex K, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and sharing the same with the readers. It is encouraging to read your comments and was touched by your kind words. Indeed, the entire team tirelessly working to ensure all of our guests are happy. As you have highlighted, we offer a range of waster sports...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing stay in July 2016. We stayed for 5 nights, we were scared as it's supposed to be the raining season, however in 5 days we only had 2 hrs of rain during the full stay. The staff is friendly and really helpful. A lot of activities, most of them for free, no time to get bored....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenn244
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear jenn244, Greetings from Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels and Escapes ..! Happy that you have enjoyed what Rihiveli has to offer. Indeed the two islands are one of the best feature among many we are blessed with. The "Sunrise Island" and The Bird Island. Sunrise island is commonly used for Lunch BBQ for our guests and for Private experiences such...

Singapore
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I was there from 23 - 28 September 2016 with my family and a group of friends. The room is filled with the bare essentials. The place is very safe. We need not carry the key with us as there is a drop box on the wall for you to slip your key into. There is a regular housekeep who...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shirley T
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear Shirley T, Greetings from Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels and Escapes..! We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed stay in Rihiveli and have accepted the laid back concept and thank you for sharing your experience with the readers. We maintain "No news No Shoes" philosophy and encourage all our guests to follow the same. I will pass on...

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing experience at the resort all the bunglows are sea facing so no need to request for any particular type of room!!! 😃 very quaint and serene resort for private getaway. Loved the stay here!!! Would like to visit again!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dhanashree P
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear Dhanashree P, Thank you for taking time to review and share your experience here. We are really pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and pleasant. As you have pointed out, all the bungalows are similar and facing beach and lagoon on either Sunset or Sunrise side of the island. It would be our pleasure to welcome you...

Male
Reviewed 21 September 2016

At first our arrival transport was delayed for more than one hour from Male'. A very bad starting.. After arriving the resort we was informed of non a/c room, no Wi-Fi in room, no refrigerator in room, fan was not working properly and also so many . The next day, we had our lunch at 1pm, as we were informed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kopisse
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear kopisse, Greetings from Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels and Escapes..! Thank you for taking time to share your feedback and review with us and the readers. We acknowledge your dissatisfaction with regard to the transfer arrangements for your arrival and departure. However, I wold like to inform you that since your transfer was arranged to be combined with other guests...

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I've been to Rihiveli 3 times because of my previous experience in the first two visits. Unfortunately, the third was my last as management has changed and our stay turned into something more stressful than it should be. 1 - Unlike my first two times, the wait in the airport to be picked up lasted more than 3 hours. I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lo0olie
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear lo0olie, Greetings from Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels and Escapes..! We acknowledge your disappointment and the negative experiences you have faced during your stay with us in November 2015. We would like to inform you that, we have since changed the hotel manager and at the same time some of the practices from those days have been revised or cancelled....

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I have been here for my honeymoon with high expectations...and believe me...all my expectations were met...the location of island is unique... Away from any chaos....excellent staff with smiles on their face...always ready to help and make you feel comfortable.... Most beautiful room(ACANTASTER)...Forest like greenary.... Activities like Beach volleyball... Numerous watersports....Mouth watering food....I didn't see anything missing...Simply Superb... Will go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vamseer2015
Rihiveli1, Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review

Dear vamseer2015, Thank you for such a lovely review..! We are extremely happy to learn that we have been able to meet you your expectations and exceeded. Once again thank you for sharing such a lovely comment and we "the entire team" at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels and Escapes look forward to welcome you back and certainly look forward to...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

To start with, this resort is not high end so please don't expect a lot of luxury like what you see on pages of magazines BUT for the amount of money you pay, it's very good. First off, meet and greet at the airport. I guess since it's not a high end, don't expect someone will be looking for you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank asb_9theTraveller
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We spent our two weeks honeymoon in Rihiveli in a deluxe bungaloe. Overall the stay was pleasant, but there were way too many things that went somewhat suboptimal especially considering the price. We of course complained about all of these issues and except for once nothing ever happened... We got friendly apologies, but that was it. I'll start with a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sara K
Gold Coast Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We recently had 5 nights staying here. Such a beautiful island. Our cottage was simple, but very clean. The view from our room to the lagoon was great. I was blown away by the quality of the food here - amazing!! Thank you to all the hard working kitchen staff, what you produce is awesome. The staff here are wonderful....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sammy0068

1,726 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1374)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (189)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (129)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (812)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (345)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Bungalow (60)
Viewed
Dining (96)
Viewed
Standard Double Bungalow (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Triple Bungalow (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
12.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,376 reviews
11.7 km away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,299 reviews
6.4 km away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
1,109 reviews
34.4 km away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,514 reviews
13.2 km away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes boasts sea-facing bungalows, each with their own private terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean. Located in South Male Atoll, the resort has its own spa and restaurant which offers buffet meals and open-air dining. 400 metres from Sunrise Island and Bird Island, the resort is accessible from Male International Airport via a 1-hour speedboat ride. The fan-cooled bungalows open out to a private terrace and feature wooden flooring. A private garden with hammock or deck chairs leads to the lagoon water. Outdoor showers are available in the Deluxe Bungalows, complimenting the separate indoor bathroom. Guests can enjoy a variety of water sports including sailing, water-skiing and night snorkelling during their stay at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes. Other recreation facilities include volleyball, tennis and billiards. Each day the resort's talented chefs prepare a different cuisine which can include French, Italian, Maldivian and Asian. Dinner is either a buffet or set menu depending on the daily theme, 3 times during the week dinner is set up on the beach to enjoy the beautiful starry nights. An extensive wine list is also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes

Address: South Male Atoll
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
Price Range: €162 - €778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihiveli Beach Hotel South Male Atoll
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes staff and other travellers.
64 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (64)

Questions? Get answers from Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are really nice, some under the wind which are cooler of course.”
 of 5 bubbles isafromkl, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“cabin at the small beach”
 of 5 bubbles janinachristian1, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the chalets face the sea however the sunrise section is nearer to the sea and watersport centre”
 of 5 bubbles 168shirleyt, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Huts on the sunrise side have better, secluded beach whereas windy sunset side can be better for sleeping in the sunny windless months.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelap812, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“East side is more calm. Do not waste your money for deluxe bungalow. It is no luxury and it is on the west side - very windy.”
 of 5 bubbles krasi, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5