We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Jolly Sailor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maldon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Jolly Sailor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Start your review of The Jolly Sailor
 Click to rate
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had lunch here and must say while we were waiting we were very excited about the size of the meals coming out!! When ours came we weren't disappointed I had the thick cut Ham egg and chips wow 2 big lovely sliced of THICK gammon 3 eggs and piles of fries all cooked to perfection. My wife had bacon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gjbell
adboperations, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

hi gjbell thank you for your kind review. thank you for choosing the Jolly Sailor

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Working in Malden and needing to up really early, and I mean really early, then needing to be in and out of the Jolly Farmer during the daytime and evening,You might think the managment and staff would be fwd up. not a bit of it Ben the manager could not have been more helpful freindly and attentivewehatever the time. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
adboperations, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

hi John thank you for your kind review. we are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Jolly Sailor and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Sheerness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Please please please do something about the small step as you walk into the dining area. Not only did my date nearly fall on her face, but as the evening went on a few other guests did the same. We saw the funny side, but I'm sure if someone hurt themselves they wouldn't be amused!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
adboperations, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

Hi Steve Thank you for your review We are a 16th century building and as such we cannot alter the interior Thank you for bringing it to our attention

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We found The Jolly Sailor to be welcoming and good value. The staff were helpful and not intrusive. We enjoyed a lovely lunch overlooking the river. The décor was attractive and even though a large family came in there was plenty of room. I'm not sure if it is a hotel as well as a restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MasterMag
adboperations, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

hi master mag Thank you for your kind review. we are glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again very soon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Been many times, Great people staff and locals, good atmosphere, food great and fresh quality Only issue is can be a cold pub because of location need more heaters!! Will be returning probably in the summer though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Daw_01
adboperations, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

hi Helen thank you for your kind review. your comments are noted. we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

I went to the jolly sailor for family lunch we had a lovely homemade fish stew and a fish pie and chilli and a spicy salmon linguine it was lovely the food was excellent and the service was excellent as well it was good value for money I and going back this Sunday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimmyphipps44
adboperations, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

hi Kim thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We visited because we have a hi-life card. But was rudely told they have never taken the card, although it is quite plainly on the hi-life Web site. We would not visit again. When the food came, it was not what we ordered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LorraineKn
adboperations, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

thank you for your review. we have never been on the hi life scheme. we have made numerous attempts to have the entry removed. I also understand that you was rude to a member of my staff

Bexley
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We were pleasantly surprised when we ate here yesterday. For our roast dinner we could choose either tukey or lamb shank. We both chose the lamb which was so tender, it fell off the bone. This was accompaned by roast potatoes, pork and sage stuffiing, yorkshire pudding and we both had an individual portion of cheesy broccoli bake. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
adboperations, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Stradbroke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Went here for Sunday lunch today. Arrived 35 minutes late due to high St road closures and diversions but staff still pleasant and helpful. Sunday lunch( lamb shank or turkey,even though website also mentions beef and pork) was very good and plenty of it.service was quick and very reasonable price for 4 Would go again. P.S. Think toilets might need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorrmun2016
adboperations, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review . We are glad you enjoyed Sunday lunch with us

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights for a short break. Room was small, but the bed was very comfortable and the view over the river was lovely. Breakfast was pretty poor. I had scrambled eggs the first day which were over cooked - very likely done in the microwave. My husband had the full English - ok, but cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soobie2401
liquid01, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this review

thank you for your review. your comments have been noted

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldon
5.8 km away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
173 reviews
5.1 km away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
211 reviews
10.8 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
389 reviews
5.9 km away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#6 of 11 in Maldon
32 reviews
5.4 km away
Hanson House
Hanson House
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Jolly Sailor

Address: Church Street, Maldon CM9 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon
Price Range: €89 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Jolly Sailor Maldon, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jolly Sailor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Jolly Sailor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the room with the view over the Quay and sthe sunrise”
  • A view from the terrace
340JohnP, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Delicious Roast Dinner”
GrahamP319, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We only used the pub,didn't realise it also had accomodation”
lorrmun2016, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were only there for lunch”
t0andfr0, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just enjoy the relaxed ambience”
msparky3, 7 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5