We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mountain View B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mountain View B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We decided to stay in the mountain view B&B while we attended the kaya festival and had to say that the place and the owners turned out to be a huge DISAPPOINTMENT. We were rudely asked to be quite when back later at nigh (which is understandable ), but I was surprised to here the dog barking late night and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayacu418
jonahlewie, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

We are surprised and disheartened by this review considering we went out of our way to make sure we stayed home to wait for this couple when they returned after we called them to tell them they had left a purse behind. We talked at length with them about the surrounding area and places they could visit. We told them...

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We were put here as they suggested it would be better for the kids, how awful room was very old fashioned with an awful dusted smell, furniture or bedding didn't even match or look clean, we complained about the heating as kids were freezing and were told its summer months(uk weather in July is not very hot to begin with)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kirsty B
jonahlewie, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We made every effort to make you and your family as comfortable as possible. You booked a family room in our budget accommodation for two adults and three children at a cost of £60 a night for a period of two nights. After you made the booking, we felt...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

You may well be thinking the title of my review makes no sense at all but all will become clear as you lose yourself in my gripping review! This is the second year in a row I've stayed here and with the ongoing decline of Port Talbot's steel industry you may be asking why? With great access to Afan forest...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt_BBR
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Recommended this place to a friend who was contracting in the area and looking for a low cost B&b .... He opted for a single room with shared facilities (using the money saved to buy food in a pub within walking distance) The room was clean and comfortable,and the lady owners very friendly and accommodating. Would not hesitate to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vici P
elizie65, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

Hi Vici. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your kind review. We're so pleased that your recommendation of our accommodation was appreciated and that our goal of providing clean, comfortable, and affordable lodging was met. We always hope that the workers who stay with us will be comfortable and have a few extra pounds in their...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We were visiting as our son and his friend were in a downhill cycling event near by. There was a lockable shed for the bikes. We stayed in the garden house with use of the kitchen which was perfect as we had made a chilli and brought it with us. Rooms were clean and comfortable with en-suit. Our son managed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sara t
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

We stayed on Friday 24th September 2015 for one night, as were in town for a concert. The room was so lovely. Eli and Lisa are such lovely people and were so helpful when we explained that my husband would have a bit of difficulty with stairs, so they made sure that we had a ground floor room in The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
jonahlewie, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

Hi Julie, Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review for us. We appreciate it very much. Hope to see you again if your favorite bands come to town, or for any other reason. eli

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I stayed here for 18 long days and I really enjoyed my living! The people out here (Ely and Lisa) are great people and they are always eager to help you in any situation. They are very jovial. I loved their two dogs - Inka and Kelly, they are very cute and they are trained dogs so you do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv M
jonahlewie, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

Hi there, Rajiv, Thank you lots and lots for writing a review for us. I'm sure you had many other things to think about when you got home. I hope your mom loved all the things you brought her and that Deva's son enjoyed his gifts. If you come back to work in Port Talbot, please give us a call....

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The whole setup was perfect, I was put into room No7, TV, Shower, Brew Kit and very comfy beds! It was clean, tidy and well maintained throughout my stay and have the use of the kitchen, as the title says......It was just right!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ocarroll6209
jonahlewie, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

James, we want to thank you for spending the time to write a review for us. I'm so glad you liked the room you were in. I like that room, too. So did the Prime Minister of Denmark when she stayed there for a night with her husband, Aberavon's labour MP. Bet you didn't know that. If you're back in...

scotland
Reviewed 30 September 2015

The bedroom was fine. Clean and met my needs. The shared bathroom was a bit of a pain but I knew about it before I went. If I had been staying for holidays and not business I may not have been so keen. The main house did smell of dog a bit. Owners were pleasant and welcoming enough. We got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holiday232323
jonahlewie, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review for us. We are pleased that you found the Town House clean and that it met your needs. We did set up that property for people who are looking for a budget accommodation close to town and with free wifi. We're glad you found it to be suitable. Thanks again,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

I booked 2 of my close friends into The Mountain view for a 2 night stay in Resolven over the August Bank Holiday, ( I myself stayed at a friends house nearby) I have visited The Mountain view, And also met the owners Andrew and Jayne, I have owned and run a restaurant in Thailand For 3 years, So I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David G

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Aberavon Beach Hotel
1.0 km away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
418 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
544 reviews
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
6.7 km away
Barn B and B at Ty'n Cellar Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A bright and comfortable, newly-renovated Bed & Breakfast close to Port Talbot town, South Wales (5 min walk). There are three guest bedrooms attractively decorated, which provide you with all the amenities you expect. One twin has ensuite facilities, one double and one twin share bathroom. Additional folding and air beds available for larger groups. We are dressed in a southwest American style and offer you good old American hospitality in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain View B&B

Address: 7 Talcennau Road, Port Talbot SA13 1SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Price Range: €49 - €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View B&B Port Talbot, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain View B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room (5) near the kitchen area.”
 of 5 bubbles 851rajivm, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room 7 was spot on!!”
 of 5 bubbles ocarroll6209, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask to stay in the town house as this is seperate from the main house (which smells of dogs).”
 of 5 bubbles Matt_BBR, 19 May 2015 | Read review
“The Garden House is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles 657bernadinek, 6 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Call and chat with Eli or Lisa and tell them a bit about yourselves, then they will pick the perfect room for you and where to go during your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles LeeLisaP, 16 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay