We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Sand Dive Retreat

Share
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (23)
Overview
Kasawari Kel. Kasawari, Bitung 95513 Indonesia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
59
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
59
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great diving lembeh strait ample choice idyllic resort wind direction balinese bathrooms multiple choices muck diving swimming pool octopus camera room ghost pipefish each meal small resort local and western dishes tropical garden wealth of knowledge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

My wife and I love to travel and as you know, there is a big world out there with a lot of places to visit so we rarely return to the same place again even if it was really good; however, we broke this rule...More

Thank Brown C
Response from Bruce M, Owner at Black Sand Dive RetreatResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks So Much Brown & Eileen. It was a distinct pleasure to host you again and having such enthusiastic guests is a bonus. We enjoy not only meeting our guests, but learning from them about life and the world around us and you both had...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018

I had the pleasure of staying at Black Sand Dive Retreat with my wife and one of our friends a few months ago (and I must apologize for only writing this review now!). Everything from the easy pickup at the airport to our drop-off at...More

2  Thank Scallywag81
Response from Bruce M, Owner at Black Sand Dive RetreatResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks a lot "Scallywag". We always welcome positive reviews. Better late than never. We glad to have made your visit with us a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

This was my second stay at this beautiful resort and it won’t be my last. Everything was perfect, the weather in early February was fantastic , just a few hours rain in two weeks. The dive sites and resorts all seemed really quiet and the...More

Thank ire123
Response from Bruce M, Owner at Black Sand Dive RetreatResponded 15 March 2018

Thanks soooo much Geraldine. You certainly brought your own great luck with your great diving attitude. It was a pleasure to host you and we know that we'll see you again, so we'll come up with some new desserts for next time.

Reviewed 27 February 2018

A dive buddy and I stopped here on our way to Raja Ampat on the recommendation of Raf from ChaCha resort in Bunakken. This was a great start. Lembeh diving is quite unique but mostly fairly easy compared to some of the diving that came...More

1  Thank PJradio
Response from Bruce M, Owner at Black Sand Dive RetreatResponded 18 March 2018

Thanks to the both of you for your review. We're happy that your introduction to both BSDR & Lembeh went so well. We're different than Raja Ampat & Bunaken, so you certainly got great variety on your journey. We hope to see you again. Go...More

Reviewed 21 February 2018

I am hesitant to give a great review for selfish reasons -- I would hate to see Black Sand get so popular that I can't get in. But Bruce and Fung really deserve it. They have built a paradise in a place that is already...More

1  Thank Riofan1952
Response from Bruce M, Owner at Black Sand Dive RetreatResponded 25 February 2018

Thanks Craig for your great review. We look forward to hosting your groups later this year. There will be singing.....

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Babysitting
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Details
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Photos
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (23)
Dining (9)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Dive Into Lembeh
55 reviews
.54 km away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
127 reviews
1.33 km away
Kungkungan Bay Resort
267 reviews
3.60 km away
Lembeh Resort
690 reviews
3.96 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 nearby restaurants
RM Pondok Kelapa
7 reviews
36.48 km away
RM. Ikang Jubi
33 reviews
36.55 km away
Pondok Hijau Restaurant
37 reviews
34.60 km away
Talaga Resto
17 reviews
36.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 17 nearby attractions
Lembeh Strait
223 reviews
8.73 km away
Waruga Burial Complexes
27 reviews
32.85 km away
Kaki Dian
7 reviews
32.12 km away
YOS Dive Lembeh
52 reviews
1.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Black Sand Dive Retreat staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All rooms are great. They are each an individual bungalow on the side of the hill overlooking Lembeh..."
Riofan1952
21 Feb 2018
Read review
"All rooms with views at the strait, well separated from each other to guarantee privacy."
roberteichler
19 Feb 2018
Read review
"They all are great and face the bay area."
Biology-Teacher308
9 Aug 2017
Read review
"All rooms are excellent...private...decks overlooking both nature and water."
scuba4meToronto
7 May 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing