We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunbird Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunbird Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunbird Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 25 August 2015

A little gem of a place in a very hot place! Lovely gardens, clean rooms and very helpful staff. Dave went out of his way to accommodate not just us, but our trailer of pigeons. Breakfast was great too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you both on another occasion and hope we will get the chance to stay with you one day! All the best..

Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Sunbird Lodge has beautiful garden, lovely rooms, and helpful and friendly staff. We only stayed for one night, but could quite happily have stayed for many more. Dave gave us lots of advice about the park, and surrounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey E
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Glad we could be of assistance! Thanks for the great review, we really appreciate it...

mettmann
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

With a warm welcome we felt quickly very comfortable in the very clean rooms. The pool was just in front of our room. Lots of information was given on eating out, the Kruger Park and nothing was too much. Breakfast was very nice and filling. We enjieyed our stay and recommend it to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dutchxxxx
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Really happy you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks for the great review.

Middelburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Our stay at the Sunbird Lodge was excellent. Dave was a definite people person and was so obliging and efficient. The room was very clean and tidy. The only disappointment was that we did not stay longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanmichelle24
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Guys, glad you enjoyed your stay. really pleased you got some great sightings on the way through the park! Look forward to seeing you in the future if you fancy exploring this part of the park again.

Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Great and friendly staff, helped us a lot with planning our Kruger trip. An excellent entry point for a day visit to Kruger or as a starting point. Close to all major interests in town yet quiet and beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank שחר ר
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, its much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your time here with us and had fun on the rest of your trip in SA.

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We spent one evening at Sunbird Lodge before entering theKruger Park. It was the perfect stay! The rooms are spacious and neat, and the garden is delightful! We were served a lovely breakfast and we liked the fact that we could help ourselves to honesty bar! We can highly recommended Sunbird Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DesireeB62
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a super holiday in South Africa.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 24 May 2015

The Sunbird Lodge is a definite stay. All rooms have a wonderful view onto the beautiful well maintained gardens. David and Sam (so too their delightful daughter) and Sam's parents are wonderful hosts. This was our second stay - in two years. Rooms are individually named - clean, spacious and is provided with free wifi, refrigerator and aircon. Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla K
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review Carla. It was great to have you guys staying with us once again. We are just sorry we missed you but glad to hear Sam's mum and our daughter looked after you all. It sounded like Becky was in her element showing you guys to your rooms! Look forward to seeing you next time...

Reviewed 9 April 2015

Met by Dave who was very welcoming, knowledgeable and obviously cares a great deal for the welfare of all guests; very generous with his time Faultless comfortable accommodation and tasty breakfast Very convenient location for the park

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin G
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review Paul, was lovely having you here with us and we look forward to the next time.

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2015

The sunbird lodge is a fantastic place to stay be it for short term or long term. It is ideally situated to all nearby shopping centres, restaurants and of course the Kruger National Park. The rooms are extremely clean and spacious and caters to all individual needs such as aircon, fridge, wifi and more. The pool is definitely worth taking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaeden
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review Shaeden. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 March 2015

If you plan to visit Kruger national park, accommodation within the park seems to be comprised of two choices: high end, expensive lodges or the park-operated camps. We therefore decided to seek accommodation outside, near one of the park gates. Sunbird lodge provided excellent value and met our needs completely during our 4-day stay. Our room was quite large and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidinToronto
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David & Sue Thank you for your super review, it was great to have to both with us and hope you enjoyed your trips into the Kruger. Hopefully the cold weather back home isn't too much of a shock to the system! Keep well and see you both next time.

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phalaborwa hotels
0.8 km away
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
#2 of 6 in Phalaborwa
277 reviews
2.0 km away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
3.2 km away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#3 of 25 in Phalaborwa
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#2 of 25 in Phalaborwa
271 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Game Guest House
Royal Game Guest House
#5 of 25 in Phalaborwa
26 reviews
8.1 km away
Silonque Bush Estate
Silonque Bush Estate
#3 of 21 in Phalaborwa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in 2.5 Acres of tropical gardens, Sunbird Lodge is the perfect place to relax and let your stress melt away. Laze by the swimming pool, sit under one of our Lapa's with a drink from the bar or take in the gardens at night looking at the stars, you can do as much or as little as you want.We are a family run business with the emphasis firmly on good quality and friendly service. As a member of Birdlife South Africa, bird lovers will be in their element, with a wide variety of different bird species in the gardens.We are less than 3km from both the Phalaborwa Gate for the Kruger National Park and the renowned Hans Merensky Golf Estate. The Central Business District of Phalaborwa is less than 2km away making us the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. We are less than 5 minutes drive from Phalaborwa airport and car hire can also be arranged. Choose from one of 5 spacious double/twin rooms in the main house all with their own private access from the gardens. We have 2 delightful twin bedded rooms next to the swimming pool and 3 rooms situated together in the garden. Each room has its own bathroom with either shower and bath or just shower plus air conditioning, fridges, ceiling fans, TV's, tea & coffee making facilities and private patios. All rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is allowed on the patios outside the rooms A full English cooked breakfast along with juices, cereals, fruit and yoghurts is available daily in our dining rooms and packed lunches and dinners are also available (these must be pre arranged). We can also provide a take away breakfast for those of you leaving us early in the morning.Dinner is a delicious home cooked set menu, is available Monday-Friday and must be pre booked. There are also several good eating places we can recommend all within 5 minutes drive of us. Facilities at the lodge include a unique African bar with DSTV, a good size swimming pool, lapa's, a large braai (barbecue) area, secure car parking, a safe to store your valuables, laundry services and fax and internet facilities ( FREE WIFI connection available throughout the Lodge). There are plenty of activities to keep you occupied, both close by and within 90 minutes drive and we are the perfect base to explore this wonderful region of Limpopo. These activities include the Kruger National Park, cruising down the Olifants River, golf at the challenging Hans Merensky course, day trips to Gods Window, 3 Rondavels, Graskop and Pilgrims Rest, walking with lions, elephant back safari's, micro light or balloon flights over the game reserves and many many more. We can help you with reservations and advise on any of the activities available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunbird Lodge

Address: 21 Aalwyn Street, Phalaborwa 1389, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Price Range: €70 - €81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room looked on to the garden away from the pool so quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 859iainh, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed next to the swimming pool which was ideal”
 of 5 bubbles _ymlatimer, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the braai area is amazing”
 of 5 bubbles fankomo86, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are nice, clean swimming pool, beautiful Lapa and braai Area, large beautiful garden, many bird species”
 of 5 bubbles tourafricansky, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Seemed to me all ròoms are equally well situated, with splendid view of garden.”
 of 5 bubbles cowleyManor, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5