We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Mwanza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
New Mwanza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Mauritius
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at the hotel on a business trip for a week in June 2016. To start with the receptionists could have been more helpful/ friendlier. Although the rooms are clean, they are very dated and could really use some refurbishment. I also had trouble having hot water in the shower a couple of times. The restaurant doesn't offer much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poonam D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've been at New Mwanza Hotel for a week and it was simply horrific. The staff was so unwelcoming and almost rude - none of them spoke English and wasn't very helpful. The room wasn't isolated and they (the clubs around the hotel and the hotel itself) held parties till 3 AM, so it was hard to sleep. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Best services and hotel rooms was clean,also its excellent location,food was delicious,i like the gym which is included the hotel prices,also the staff was very friendly and they are not many alternatives at Mwanza.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moses K
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you very much for taking your precious time to write the feedback on our hotel in TripAdvisor. We feel great to know that you have liked our hotel and its facilities and services.We thank you for choosing New Mwanza hotel for your stay.The entire team of New Mwanza Hotel looking forward to welcome you back on...

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

It is a perfect place for business travellers.Cozy rooms,good Wi-Fi,fine restaurant and great staff. Clean and well maintained hotel.Excellant location in the heart of Mwanza city.Staffs are well trained and service levels are upto my expectations.I will stay again on my next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sayyed T
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was our pleasure to see your feed back on the trip adviser review.We are happy to know that you have highly satisfied with our hotel and services.We thank you for choosing New Mwanza Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Senthil Kumar General Manager

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Best service available in Mwanza. Excellent location, Courteous staff and personalized services. Food was delicious. Even phone refill was available at night when all shops were closed. We even hired trip to Sarengeti with hotel vehicle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Padmendra P
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was our pleasure to see your feed back on the trip adviser review.We are happy to know that you have highly satisfied with our hotel and services.We thank you for choosing New Mwanza Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Senthil Kumar General Manager

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel room was clean and comfy. pool instead was a bit dirty. breakfast changed from day to day and was delicious. a gym is included, but it looks a bit sordid. staff is very nice and friendly. given that there are not many alternatives in mwanza, we'd come back on our next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for your review on our hotel at the trip adviser.We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us.We will certainly look in to the cleanliness and upkeep of the swimming pool and gym areas up to the expected standards.We once again thank you for choosing New Mwanza Hotel for your stay...

Tanzania
Reviewed 30 April 2016

I booked a romantic getaway for my husband and I at new mwanza hotel. I was very pleased when we were shown to our room but the excitement died on further investigation. The amenities did not cater for two people e.g. One toothbrush, one teacup etc. the bed was rock-hard (like sleeping on a concrete floor). The lights went off...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Midecha
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kindly accept our sincere apologies for inconveniences caused during your stay at our hotel.We have taken serious note on the points mentioned in your review.Starting from Tea Cup,Dental Kit,Electricity and noise from the club.We will surely work on this issues and ensure our guests gets comfortable stay with all the amenities. We are sorry for the inconvenience once...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 2 April 2016

First of all the rooms are really spacious and well furnished. the interiors can even be compared with some of the best 4- 5 Stars hotels in Tanzania. The staffs are very kind and helpful. They have one of the nice Indian menu for lunch and dinner. Overall you will really fell good about the stay right from the View...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guhan K
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for taking your time to write your review on our hotel and services.We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.The entire team of New Mwanza Hotel thank you for staying with us and assuring of our best services at all times. Best Regards Senthil Kumar General Manager

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Amazing view of the Great Lake. Bring a camera with a good zoom lens and you will be amazed at what you can see from your room. The rooms are quite large and carpets are clean. Nice big bathrooms too. Food is just better than average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TabrezNasar
NewHotel M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking your time to write review on New Mwanza Hotel.We are happy to know that you have liked our rooms and view.In the Food front we have noted your comments and surely improve on taste and quality.We once again thank you for choosing our hotel and assuring of our best services at all...

Czech Republic
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We just stayed one night at this place. We parked our car right in front of the hotel. Room was clean and very nice with small fridge. Our room was quiet although it was noisy outside of the hotel. I was surprised with breakfast as it looked more like branch then breakfast. Fried fish, beef with vegetable, fried spring rolls,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exulant
New M, General Manager at New Mwanza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for your feed back about our Hotel in Trip Advisor.We are happy to know that your stay was comfortable and you have enjoyed.Your feed back is a energy booster to our team we will strive to provide more luxury and comfort for our guests in the future. The Entire Team of New Mwanza Hotel thank...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mwanza hotels
8.5 km away
Malaika Beach Resort
Malaika Beach Resort
#1 of 14 in Mwanza
209 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Tilapia
Hotel Tilapia
#3 of 14 in Mwanza
176 reviews
0.6 km away
Ryan's Bay Hotel
Ryan's Bay Hotel
#2 of 14 in Mwanza
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel La Kairo
Hotel La Kairo
#9 of 14 in Mwanza
18 reviews
0.0 km away
Adden Palace Hotel
Adden Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in Mwanza
6 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Kingdom
#4 of 14 in Mwanza
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEW MWANZA HOTEL is in the heart of Mwanza city, 7 KM from the city’s airport and only 1 ½ km walk to the shores of Lake Victoria the biggest lake in Africa. It is the perfect base from which to discover some of the most impressive natural scenery and wildlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Mwanza Hotel

Address: Posta Street | along Posta Road, Mwanza, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Mwanza Region > Mwanza
Price Range: €63 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Mwanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your New Mwanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Mwanza Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from New Mwanza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The new Mwanza hotel its the best hotel to stay in Mwanza”
 of 5 bubbles MosesK161, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms on higher floors and facing the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles TabrezNasar, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Lake Facing Rooms on the higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Sanmathi, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay close to this hotel...at all.”
 of 5 bubbles HendryinMwanza, 6 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Lake facing room on the higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles thamizharasank, 15 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay