We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Saltgate House

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Saltgate House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Saltgate House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A great B&B in a fabulous location. Delicious breakfast with locally sourced food and excellent rooms - all individual and beautifully finished. And we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Thank you Karen & Alan.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Saltgate House is such a beautiful, historic place to stay in Beccles. Karen was so welcoming - she had me spoiled! I stayed in the Tudor room, which was in the oldest part of the building. It was light and elegant with a picturesque view of the garden and Norwich peeping behind. The bed was so comfortable, I haven't slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ailie19
Gibraltar
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were in Beccles as sadly we were attending a family funeral. The building is lovely, rooms of the highest standard, with the decor of a top boutique hotel. The bed was superbly comfortable and the curtains at the windows a beautiful standard, along with all else. The original features have been preserved. Such considerate and charming hosts in Karen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casablanca227
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This is the third time we've been welcomed to Beccles by Kate and Alan. Not only is the bed supremely comfortable, but the other half of the equation, breakfast is varied and simply delicious! We are already planning our next visit. The charming hosts have a wealth of local knowledge and can help you make the most of your stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 841Elizabeth
Beadnell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017

This is the third time I have stayed here. This lovely B&B is in a fabulous location (great market town), is beautifully furnished and amazingly comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious - all ingredients are locally sourced and the poached eggs are the best I've ever tasted. You will not be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jandeluke
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Perfect in every way. Beautiful bedrooms (look like the website photos) beautiful bathrooms and wonderful owners. Food was excellent for breakfast, gorgeous interior and spot on for price. 10s walk to Prezzo and 5min walk to Graze and Tesco superstore. Will definitely be staying here again if I'm in the area! Thanks Karen+ family!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
Karen R, Owner at Saltgate House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review , Alan and I were pleased to meet you and your colleagues and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Beccles on business

London
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed at Saltgate House as we were attending a wedding and it seemed that all the hotels were fully booked. That was, in itself, a blessing, as we found that the accommodation and the breakfast far exceeded anything that any of the local hotels could have offered. The proprietors, Karen and Alan, could not have done more to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnfromPinner
Karen R, Owner at Saltgate House, responded to this review

Wow - Thank you for a wonderful review ! It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope to see you again in the future Ps you stayed in Room 4 ! But Room 1 is equally gorgeous !

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

At the outset I should say I don't generally like staying in B&Bs and would prefer to stay in hotels but Saltgate House and Karen have given me cause to reconsider this. This really is a great B&B. I had a great room, really plush, with everything I needed and more. Real coffee, a great hospitality tray. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MJABATH
Karen R, Owner at Saltgate House, responded to this review

Gosh ! Thank you for writing such a lovely review about our small bed & breakfast . A great compliment that I have made you rethink staying in B&B s in the future Alan and I would be delighted if you stayed with us next time you are in the area on business Good luck with " The Tunnel "...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for three nights for a family party and visiting. Beautifully decorated house very old with so much history and character. Room was very tastefully decorated tea and coffee provided we loved the individual packets of biscuits and the dish of sweets. Great powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and soap all provided. Comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
Karen R, Owner at Saltgate House, responded to this review

Alan and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us , it was a pleasure meeting you both and its lovely that you appreciated all our little extra touches !

leics
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Saltgate in room 1, for three nights, The room was nice and quiet, ( apart from seagulls in the morning, but you can live with that) really lovely interiors, all good standard and tasteful done, The room size was okay, the ensuite is pretty small, but the shower if a good size and a great shower, Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macymo
Karen R, Owner at Saltgate House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review , Alan and I are glad that you enjoyed your mini break with us - hope you come back soon

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.2 km away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
485 reviews
0.1 km away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
281 reviews
9.3 km away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
448 reviews
15.3 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
21.9 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Saltgate House

Address: 5 Saltgate, Beccles NR34 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Saltgate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I cannot imagine anyone being other than delighted with any of the rooms.”
Casablanca227, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The purple room at the front is very plush.”
841Elizabeth, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The quieter rooms are at the back.”
jandeluke, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only saw one room (Room 1) but there are only 4 rooms in total!”
JohnfromPinner, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed in rooms 3 and 4 both are large ensuite rooms at front of house with very comfortable beds.”
sharonbK7896RM, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5