We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penzy Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Penzy Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I opted for the private room when I stayed here because I don't like the group dorm scene. The room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. They always provided water and fresh linens, there was a desk space, storage, sitting bench, and a small deck. The best part about our stay was the owners. They are incredibly nice, knowledgable, and always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxanne I
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at penzy. Very close to the beach and local amenities. Furthermore the care that they showed to each guest was first class. I lost my wallet in the taxi on the way and only realised when I arrived. Penzy arranged for it to be brought back using people she knew. Thank you very much!

Helpful?
Thank Will S
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Penzy and David were very accommodating during our stay. They helped us to book a tour and hire a jeep, as well as providing us with local knowledge of the area. The rooms were very spacious and comfy. The guesthouse itself is in a good area just off the main road and very close to the beach.

Helpful?
Thank travelbug007164
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Guesthouse was immaculate and the service from Penzy, her husband and the staff was fabulous. They genuinely seemed to care about us and everyone staying there! About a 30min walk to Ark Bar but there are loads of restaurants and a beach closeby. Would definitely recommend, and return!

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Staff are lovely, very helpful. Penzy is so so helpful, can't do enough for you. Place is clean, comfy and the DVDs to watch were welcome. Great location for bars/beach but not noisy at night. I left my purse here and travelled to another destination in Thailand. Penzy informed me of this and was kind enough to post it to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank harrietsoul72
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Penzy and her husband are great hosts. They were really helpful and friendly. The accommodation was very clean and it's located close to the beach. I can highly recommand this place. Would definatly come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank sabrinanei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We have travelled to Chaweng quite a few times. We have stayed at a variety of hotels. We have finaly got the jackpot. Penzy and her husband speak English! We were made welcome upon our arrival. A lot of operators/motels could learn some lessons in: customer service! The motel is located on a quiet side-street. Location, location: walking to restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

The hostel is very clean and well located. With the help of Penzy and her husband David, the stay and local advise was very helpful. They also provide local booking for cabs, full moon party, snorkelling and scooba. Nice and pleasant stay. Thanks.

Helpful?
1 Thank 60abhishekc
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2016

All that we needed. Clean, comfortable, basic, and quiet. Good location and walking distance to all you need. (markets, shops, restaurants, beach etc) Staff were friendly, helpful (supplied us with scooters for $4 US per day!) The stairs were a bit funky and steep, but then again who really needs to haul suitcases when back packs are so much easier!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather L
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

This guest house we found was distinctly average. Our tv didn't work, bed was broken, curtains let loads of light in, wifi wasn't great, fridge was warm and the shower flooded the whole bathroom. The stairs are really steep as well, with no lift available. Makes it hard to haul luggage up when the steps are uneven. The owners were... More 

Helpful?
Thank hlp162
Domrongsak P, Owner at Penzy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Glad you liked us, but sorry you weren't satisfied with the room. If you would have made us aware of any issues while you were here, then we could have resolved them while you were still here. The TV was an easy fix, the channels just had to reprogrammed via the remote. The Fridge was an easy fix, the dial... More 

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 km away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
566 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#6 of 103 in Chaweng
1,484 reviews
0.9 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#4 of 103 in Chaweng
1,271 reviews
0.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Penzy Guesthouse

Address: 37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: €21 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penzy Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Penzy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzy Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Penzy Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penzy Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Penzy Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need wifi, ask for a room on the lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles Cindel_Jane_12, 24 May 2014 | Read review
“She only has 8 rooms at Penzy so I think they are pretty much similar.”
 of 5 bubbles 295jackn, 10 Apr 2014 | Read review
“We stayed on the first floor where the wifi signal was very good. Room was very clean and also contained a fridge and safe.”
 of 5 bubbles 344jessical, 30 Nov 2013 | Read review
“if you smoke request a balcony room which are near the front otherwise its a lot of walking up and down steep steps”
 of 5 bubbles deanac_12, 20 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Rooms with a balcony are better for smokers”
 of 5 bubbles beckycass, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay