We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oakeley Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Oakeley Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of Oakeley Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the one bed cottage, beautifully clean and cosy place, staff very friendly and approachable. Heating on a meter but it lasts ages and heats up quickly. Recommend Caverns and Bounce below nearby for fun seekers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mog H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited and found great food, lovely staff and very welcoming for families. We would return there no problem, and the choice of drinks and dishes were more than enough. As mentioned the staff are great, especially around the children.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen08_12
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed over here for the night, a lovely welcome and a great atmosphere, room was clean, fresh and very comfortable, a good verity of food to choose from on the menu and the beer, Oakeley Dokeley, well that went down like a treat, Thank you very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
Bala, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went as a gang of friends for a meal and drinks it was a friendly atmosphere the food was good and plenty of it would recommend the Oakeley arms to anyone for a nice relaxing night out and the price was good not to expensive for the quality of food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank majbala
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Visited here with my family for a meal. We were quite early so nice and quiet there, ordered at the bar, lovely lady working there, welsh speaking and very friendly. A bit more expensive than a lot of places though. But our food was very nice. Would recommend and will be back. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
annie75London, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and do hope to see you here again sometime soon :)

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Visited the Oakley for some food on a Sunday, arrived too late for the carvery so had to pick something from the bar menu, no probs! Menu does not have ANY starters on, weird, so straight for the main. I had Farmers Lamb and my partner the Lasagne, very poor food, the lamb itself was nice but no mint sauce...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IwanWyn1985
annie75London, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Iwan, Sorry to hear you were not happy with your meal. Had you only mentioned this to our friendly team whilst here they could have brought you some mint sauce and would have changed your lasange. We do not have starters on our lunch menu but do on our evening menu as we find the majority of starters are...

Balmaha, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Wow! Just lived it. Dropped in for hot drinks on a wet wintery day. But if course you aren't just given hot chocolates but homemade cream cup cacos are given as complimentary. Cosy, quirky areas to sit and relax in it here bar areas or with us cosy settees. The locals were friendly and the girl behind the bar serving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobRedley
annie75London, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to put up a lovely review and your mention of the cupcakes has made one young ladies day. Thanks :)

Llowes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We drove past The Oakeley Arms today on our way to Caernarfon, but half a mile up the road we turned back. We had spotted a well kept hotel with lots of plant pots full of bright flowers (though it's mid November), welcoming lights and a Sunday Carvery sign. We were served our drinks immediately by the friendly staff, given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizpinches
annie75London, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to put up a lovely review. I too am amazed at how long the flowers have lasted this season. The conditions here are suiting them so it looks like the same willbe on order for next year:). Happy all round that you enjoyed your time here.Hope to see you here again soon.

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

You could not describe this hotel as either friendly or welcoming !! Can't imagine why the lady with black hair works with people at all as customers are clearly an inconvenience or maybe it's the language difference she doesn't like. Place is overpriced noisy on a Friday & Saturday night. They couldn't be bothered to attend to my room after...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan F
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Has to be the worst offering of beer, food and service we found in Snowdonia. The staff look young with one manageress. A long interval between the order and receiving food to get something we did not order. The interior needs a refurbishment and a clean. As for the unique beer made for the pub my advice would be to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aylesby

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
8.1 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,363 reviews
10.1 km away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
207 reviews
20.3 km away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
20.5 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
652 reviews
20.3 km away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Oakeley Arms, a beautiful Historic Welsh Inn set in the Snowdonia National Park.Situated in the pretty village of Maentwrog and surrounded by the lush green hills of the Vale of Ffestiniog in the heart of Snowdonia, the Oakeley Arms is the perfect base for a holiday in North Wales... Pets are welcomed in the Self Catering Cottages but we do not allow pets in the Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakeley Arms Hotel

Address: Tan Y Bwlch, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range: €127 - €130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakeley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Oakeley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakeley Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Oakeley Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 15 - way too near the bar and it smells.”
 of 5 bubbles AChir, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My experience would suggest there are none.”
 of 5 bubbles Silenenutans, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We slept in room 5, top floor, Furthest fro the bar, no noise at all”
 of 5 bubbles white162010, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay here, had lunch and drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles grahamw185, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has accommodation outside the main building but that within the latter was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles 583RichardB, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5