We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Lake Resort - Koggala

Save
Share
Kathaluwa Loacted on the Maduwa lake, Koggala and Kathaluwa train stations are within walking distance, Ahangama 80630 Sri Lanka
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (302)
Pool & Beach (67)
Dining (56)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 14/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 37 in Ahangama
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
South Lake Resort located in Koggala is just 15 minutes drive (11km) from Unawatuna and 30 minutes (19km) from the famous city of Galle making it the perfect place to relax whilst enjoying the more popular tourist destinations. The property is situated on the main Galle – Matara Road and is adjacent to the Koggala Lake with access to its own private beach with a Bar and lounging facilities. The Resort offers 20 Chalet type luxury air-conditioned rooms around a large pond and 4 chalets overlooking the swimming pool with private balconies. The spacious restaurant with it’s open kitchen caters to all palettes with either buffet meals or ‘a la carte options. The Hotel also has a fully stocked Bar and snack menu. The Resort also has a Banquet Hall with a capacity of 200 -250pax, making it an ideal venue for weddings or corporate gatherings / conferences etc.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Darts
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala

Location

Full view
37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
145Restaurantswithin 10 km
17Attractionswithin 10 km
156Reviews4Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 40
  • 8
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Michael Snir wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
ideal for surfers who don't want to pay big money just for staying first line on the beach. 2 minutes walk from south beach break. spacious rooms, A/C, very clean, very nice hospitalizing staff. the hotel internet net work should be upgraded... will definately come again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: first floor are more quiet, ground floor are larger.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Misrar Rafeek wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I traveled with my family for one night we had nice time in south lake. Friendly staff, testy food, nice location, very calm place for family, best place to chill out. Thanks for all services. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Madawa Ranaweera wrote a review Mar 2022
Duqm, Oman1 contribution
We visited this hotel few days back. The staff were very great and quality service, so, the eat is verity and excellent , also the rooms were clean. it has fantastic location for the people that visit the town for work. Will recommended this hotel for all persons that to travel this city.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Chathurangi D wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
We NEVER recommend this resort for any person to have their most valuable WEDDING function.They even do not have a proper documentation process on our function date..They have took two wedding functions for one day for one hall and ask us to move for a another resort to have our wedding without taking any responsilibity..They just take it as a mistake and put all the stress on the couple.Its okay that even they tell it with having a proper period to managed at all..But they have told us to move for another hall by having only TWO days for the function..That was their service and responsibility towards their functions.Please think HUNDRED TIMES before having your valuable day with them..Never recommend for anyone..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Rasika, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 13 Mar 2022
We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us with regard to your wedding function and yes, we can understand the gravity of it and how it affected you as a couple. Again, extremely sorry for what happened and even though we made arrangements, we know how terrible the situation felt. We do take your comment seriously and appropriate action will be taken to improve standards and activities as you mentioned in your comment. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future to South Lake Resort. Thank you & Stay safe.
Read more
Asanka Amarasinghe wrote a review Feb 2022
Panadura, Sri Lanka2 contributions
Food was bland and lacked any real choice. No real amenities in the rooms (didn't have tissue box, no toothbrush, no tooth paste). Room was quite small and the AC right blowing right on to the bed - which made temperature control very tricky. You'd have to walk a decent distance and cross the main road to get to the beach - other than the beach there's absolutely nothing of substance to the hotel. The hotel property it self is quite small, so there's not much you can do there. It's a massive waste of money. I'd not go there even if they paid me to be there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Rasika, Guest Services / Front Office at South Lake Resort - Koggala
Responded 14 Mar 2022
Dear Asanka, Thank you very much for the time spent on reviewing us and the comments made. However, we sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay. We do take your comment seriously and appropriate action will be taken to improve standards and activities as you mentioned in your comment. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future to South Lake Resort. Thank you & Stay safe.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictAhangama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about South Lake Resort - Koggala
Which popular attractions are close to South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Nearby attractions include Handunugoda Tea Estate (4.5 km), Ashintha Tours & Taxi Service Koggala (0.3 km), and Martin Wickramasinghe Folk Museum Complex (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Conveniently located restaurants include Surf 'n' Turf, Plantation Surf inn's Restaurant, and A'la carte restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does South Lake Resort - Koggala have airport transportation?
Yes, South Lake Resort - Koggala offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does South Lake Resort - Koggala offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at South Lake Resort - Koggala?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Sinhala.