We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
67 Matara Road, Ahangama 80650 Sri Lanka
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$47
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (526)
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (47)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 37 in Ahangama
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View

Location

Full view
42Car recommended
Grade: 42 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
382Reviews4Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 160
  • 127
  • 44
  • 21
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lucy wrote a review 8 May
6 contributions
+1
I had such a great time in Insight Resort. Very clean, nice hotel. With very helpful and polite staff, I’ve never felt unattended. Beautiful private beach access and spacious pool. The food at the restaurant was amazing and super fresh. Will definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear resort guest, Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor We are delighted to receive good comments and a good rating of 5 out of 5. Thank you for being a brand ambassador. Thank you and hope to see you again The Management
Read more
Dross18 wrote a review Apr 2022
Maidenhead, United Kingdom24 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel itself was OK for a night or two. Use of the spa was disappointing. New staff not trained in their advertised services. the pool was quite small and not enough loungers available. All was clean and tidy but I wouldn't choose it as a permanent base but is was value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear resort guest, Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor We are sorry to hear that your expectation was not met by the Spa. We shall take this up with the resort management and do regret the disappointment. Guess your requirement is a larger pool. However, we never have received this as a negative comment. Yes certainly, Insight resort is value for money as the resort maintains 3-star hotel standards and the rates we charge are quite reasonable compared to the nearby other hotels and resorts. Thank you and see you again. The management.
Read more
Isuru K wrote a review Apr 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka13 contributions2 helpful votes
I went for my anniversary full board package. When I inform my reason, they arranged some surprises for us. They decorate our room and arrange a candle cake in dinner. It's staff also very friendly and kind. Their rooms also very clean and fully featured. And meals are based on for foreigners. But they had local rice and curry for lunch, it's very good and tasty. Price also best for place. We went by train from Colombo. Its near to Ahangama railway station after we went by walk from station like 500m.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Beach side view rooms are available.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Resort guest, Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.com We are delighted to receive good comments and a good rating of 5 out of 5. We will convey this to the hotel staff to encourage more. Thank you for endorsing our resort and for being a brand ambassador. Thank you and hope to see you again. The Management
Read more
tagaOahu wrote a review Mar 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii89 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
I stayed a total of two weeks in an ocean front room. The view is amazing!! Especially if you surf! There’s two surf spots right in front of the hotel. The one on the left is a shortboarding break, while the one to the right is called Marshmallows and is good for longboarding and is beginner friendly. A third spot about 20 minutes by paddling to the right is my favorite break called Sticks. It has more punch than Marshmallows. The beach right in front of the hotel is really clean and almost always empty. The water is so clear and clean too and good for swimming. During low tide you can walk along the beach to the left for about a kilometer. Early mornings and late afternoons you will see fishermen on sticks - a fishing technique unique to Sri Lanka. The room I was staying in was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was spacious and comes with a rain shower with really good water pressure. Towels are fresh and really good quality. The furniture is a bit old but kept really clean and functional. I’ve read negative comments about this which I think are unjustified. For the price I paid per night I think everything is really worth it. And if modern furnishings are very important to you then stay at the Marriott in Weligama and pay 4 times as much. Overall my stay at Insight is really amazing! I traveled solo but never felt lonely because everyone is just so friendly! I can go anywhere in the hotel and just start a conversation with any of the staff! I felt so at home the whole time. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Sri Lanka.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Dear Resort guest, We thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. Appreciate your good comments and overall rating of 5out of 5. We will convey this to the hotel staff to encourage more. Thank you very much for endorsing our resort and for being a brand ambassador. Thanking you and hope you visit again The management.
Read more
claudia g wrote a review Jan 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
At Insight you have the most beautiful beach in Ahangama at your feet, that's why it's worth it. The rooms are very clean and you have friendly, professional and effective reception staff that will help you if you need it. Beach and pool are very nice. What I liked the least was the service in the restaurant. But I would still come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: with ocean views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Dear Lady/Gentleman, Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Appreciate your excellent comments on our location, food and overall products. Thank you for the understanding of the service in the restaurant. As lots of experienced staff have left the industry as their jobs too got effected during the last two years due to Covid. As such to be honest, we are compelled to manage with lots of new staff. This may have been the exact reason. We are happy to hear that you will come back again Thank you and hope to see you again. The Management
Read more
buftje wrote a review Jan 2022
Ostend, Belgium23 contributions10 helpful votes
We first came to the Insight resort, by recommendation of our good friend Veerle Helsen, the author of Surf and Stay, on December 6th for 4 nights. We were so happy with the location that we have rebooked 4 more times since and will have stayed for a total of 6 weeks here, spread across December 2021 and January 2022. The location is perfect. As surfers we want to be as close as possible to a good surf break, so we were pleased to have 3 excellent surfing locations right in front of Insight. The building is really nice, with lots of space, nice garden en excellent pool, overlooking the ocean. We really enjoy the breakfast buffet, perfect after a long surf. The staff has always made sure to give us our favourite room, room 505, overlooking the surf, so we can do our surf check from our comfy bed. Everyone working here is very friendly, always present when you need them and super professional. I would like to give a special thanks to Ginny, the frontdesk manager, for always going above and beyond our needs. This place feels like home, will return if we come back to Sri Lanka.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Dear Lady/Gentleman, Thank you for staying with us at Insight Resort and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your excellent comments on our staff and food. Appreciate it and we shall convey to them to encourage more. You are the brand ambassador for us. Thank you and hope to see you again. The Management
Read more
Sundara M wrote a review Sep 2021
14 contributions20 helpful votes
Very nice atmosphere with the private beach but room cleaning is 3 days once that is most awful. Most of the rooms have a view of the ocean and a bit attractive gardening area, friendly squirrels. The restaurant could provide a vegetarian menu. Most of the food is not tasty, buffy is not worth money, even the Naan like rubber. Out of the resort nearby small restaurant, which is preparing tastier than insight resort. However, the restaurant manager is very good and nice, he re-fry the naan or re-cook the possible food as on request to as an eatable. At Last, we ask him no need for buffy give a 1-dish with good manner cooked and he did it. Have to appreciate the Restaurant manager and their team Prashant, others… humbly served. Cons:- The hotel has to provide the proper Amenities, not to request or repair every time. Very worst cleaning services, Room cleaning has to be every day. Awful to ask for a complimentary water bottle 3 to 4 times a day with the reception staff, it is their responsibility to provide it every day on time, but pay for the water bottle to reach the room in minutes. Each request has to make 2 to 3 times in the reception, which is horrible. The bed has to improve with the Softest mattresses, innerspring are disturbing our sleep to turn around the bed When all the rooms are almost occupied food is very worst not eatable. There is no kid’s zone or play infra for children. A good Resort but poorly managing which makes it repulsive.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The ground floor is good
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Dear Gentleman, I acknowledge your comments and wish to make our response in that regard. 1. Gentleman, due to Covid, we practice the best of health protocols in our resort. For our professionalism, some of the Tripadvisor comments itself will stand evidence. It is our practice post-Covid, to check with the guests when they are checking in, if they would want Housekeepers to come into their rooms and clean on a daily basis or would they opt to reduce it to 3 times a week. We checked our records and your request has been for 3 times a week. That’s why the Housekeeper has only been there 3 times a week. These practices are offered to minimize human interaction for your benefit. However, had you insisted for daily housekeeping, certainly, we would have done so. 2. Regret, I have to give you back the responsibility for not indicating that you are a vegetarian before check-in. Well, if food was not to your taste we regret that. However, the other 2 members stayed in your room praised our food. Was very happy and they were not vegetarians. Your entire group had 55 passengers staying for 14 nights. To our advantage no one else has complained about services of the hotel or food throughout their stay. After we came to know you are a vegetarian, we instructed the Restaurant Manager to always offer you extra vegetarian food. I’m sure that’s the reason why you are impressed with the Restaurant Manager. 3. To the best of our understanding, we always provide amenities proper; however, once in a while there can be a drawback. However, moment you bring it out, we immediately correct. We provide the complimentary water bottles only between 9am to 9.30am. Sadly at times, if you had wanted water prior to that, you could have ordered the previous night and kept along. In our service standards, whether it’s a complimentary water bottle or a paid one, doesn’t make a difference. Normally, we would take the same amount of time to deliver. Your accusations there, sadly to me sounds irrational. As out of 55 guests for 14 nights, no one else complained about any of this. 4. We shall take note of your disappointment about the bed, however, the mattresses are not at all old. I shall not further comment about food quality. Our valuable other Tripadvisor comments will justify it all. Further, I am not sure why the gentleman is complaining about not having a children’s area, when there were no children what-so-ever in the group. Sounds like looking out for complaints. Lastly, I guess the biggest disappointment of the gentleman is whilst being on quarantine, he tried to forciably go out which is against the law; and had we allowed, we would have been in penalized. The situation became impossible. As a result, we had to seek the help of local health officers to come and advise. He explained and said that both the hotel and he would get into trouble if we allow the passenger to go out, and prevented him from doing so. I am sorry Sir, you may have not liked it; but we had to seek their assistance after many a cordial requests you were forciably trying to go out. We are of the view that this has triggered the biggest unpleasantness. The Management
Read more
Arvid J wrote a review Aug 2021
Stockholm, Sweden4 contributions1 helpful vote
As a couple, we stayed 13 nights in Corona quarantine at Insight Resort Ahangama and we are very pleased. The personnel was from Sri Lanka only and it felt local but still extremely friendly and welcoming. Food is great and even if the hotel is not brand new, it has charm with a lot of open spaces, a large outside area including a swimming pool suitable for swimming and a private beach and massage. I expected to feel a bit trapped during the quarantine but given the open spaces and the welcoming and service minded staff, I very much enjoyed my stay. / Arvid (Sweden)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Dear Lady/Gentleman, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback and quarantine experience at Insight Resort on TripAdvisor. Appreciate your excellent comments on our food, staff and overall services. Glad your quarantine was well spent and that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you once again and hope to see you at Insight Resort again. The Management
Read more
Michael M wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I did quarantine here when I came to SL in Feb. Good Lankan food, great service and an amazing location! The staff are super friendly and its a great place to hang out. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Dear Lady/Gentleman, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your quarantine stay at Insight Resort on TripAdvisor. Truly appreciate your excellent comments on our food, staff and services. I am sure you had a pleasant stay with us and didn’t feel the time passing… Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you at Insight Resort. The Management
Read more
Jennifer A wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 weeks. The location is amazing just next to the beach and close to the center of Ahangama. Rooms and cleaning is really good, the food, staff, service! Have nothing to complain about :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nilmin Nanayakkara, Owner at Insight Resort
Responded 22 Jun 2021
Dear Lady/Gentleman, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback on TripAdvsior. Appreciate your excellent comments on our food, staff, atmosphere and our overall services. Thank you once again and look forward to seeing you back at Insight Resort. The Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$46 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
insight hotel ahangama
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictAhangama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Insight Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Insight Resort?
Nearby attractions include Kabalana Beach (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Insight Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Insight Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Insight Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Insight Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Insight Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include A'la carte restaurant, Follow the White Rabbit, and Citra.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Insight Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Insight Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Insight Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Insight Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Insight Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Insight Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kushta Raja Gala (6.6 km).