We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
38 Matara Rd, Welhengoda Welhengoda, Ahangama 80650 Sri Lanka
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Snaptravel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (360)
Pool & Beach (79)
Room & Suite (42)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 90 in Ahangama
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Nestled along Sri Lanka's famous south coast, lies a sleepy coastal hamlet seemingly lost in time. The village of Ahangama is one of the island's best kept secrets and tucked away amidst its palm lined shores you will find a luxurious sanctuary by the sea, Mosvold Villa - Ahangama. The 12 rooms are available to separate travelers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Airport transportation
Full body massage
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Modern

Location

Full view
50Car recommended
Grade: 50 out of 100
17Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
317Reviews5Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 242
  • 48
  • 17
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
GlobeTrotting767812 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
Excellent personalised service from Dinesh and his team, who always managed to meet our requests. Special mention to Eranga who mixed some excellent cocktails for us. Location is amazing, service is wonderful and the food was excellent. Many thanks for a memorable family holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Thean van Spanje wrote a review Apr 2022
25 contributions4 helpful votes
First if all: the staff is absolutely 5-star!! (Apart from the fake smile girl at reception who started a discussion within 5 minutes if our arrival) the staff is amazing. But the hotel itself is not worthy of 5 stars in this condition. Yes, beautiful view and beach. Deluxe rooms are nice but cluttered with furniture of no use. A sofa crammed into a corner in front of connecting door, an easy chair in front of window an mirror. Wardrobe so close to bed, you can only just open doors. No 2nd luggage rack. And that is Deluxe. Standard room is a "closet". There are open electrical sockets lying in the gutter of the swimming pool. Get ready to be electrocuted. Holes in the parasols, not enough parasols. Every morning people get up early to put a towel on a sunlounger and claim it for the rest of the day. This should not be allowed but the lack of enough sunbeds will create such problems. Sunbeds near pool not being used because there are no parasols and UV12 is too much. Especially for parents with small children at the kiddie-pool! The "private terrace" in front of our room had no privacy at all. We had to pull in our legs to let staff pass, to let other guests, coming from the pool, pass. The tiles on "our terrace" were therefore constantly wet and dangerously slippery. Our neighbours were only 2 meters away in their chairs. Ridiculous. Again, no faulting the staff!! They were amazing and attending to our every need. The last night they especially went to get groceries for the dish I wanted to order but was out of stock. Also made a dessert that was not even on the menu. Mosvold should treasure this staff. It's the only thing making it 5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
lifestylekitten wrote a review Mar 2022
9 contributions12 helpful votes
A charming small hotel on a wild beach prone to currents (for a surfer or a confident swimmer), quite remote; eating on the property is the only easy option but speak to the chef about the ingredients and focus on the local dishes. The attempts at Thai or European cooking may not work for a discerning diner. We were lucky to book the most modest room at the end of the terrace and pick up the cheapest dates in mid December, and for that reason were not too miffed about a mouldy smell, damp beddings, dusty curtains and grubby dated bathroom (I personally spent time with a housekeeper trying to make our room more hygienic). The front terrace was tiled with grey slabs overgrown with grass unlike the rest of the polished promenade, and was not inviting to sit around. We preferred to hang out at other spots around the property including spaciously situated sun beds with plenty of shade and magnificent wave breaks views. Being witness to the disputes between other guests and management we concluded our room was not the only one in a desperate need of refurbishment. A middle aged American couple who had booked an upmarket option ended up in a room with leaking pipes and contaminated with sewage smell! The lady, being Sri Lankan by origin and senior to the argumentative staff, gave up and moved to another hotel. We had a generous Sri Lankan breakfast every morning and were very impressed by a personalised service from all staff members including the front of the house manager who purchased a set of chess upon our request, and Dilshan and Charith, F&B assistants, who stood out in their serving style and even treated us to some local take away food. Thanks to them we had tried various options of Sri Lankan breakfast to avoid repetition, and were treated to a decent freshly brewed coffee which they kept regularly refreshed. The downer factor during our stay was an ongoing misunderstanding about the food on the dinner menu; after discussing fine points and asking all the right questions 3 times out of 4 poorly prepared dishes made with wrong ingredients had arrived. The saving feature was their readiness to replace or take them off the bill. Beware of the wine list - the advertised wines may not be there any more, and a recommended substitute turns out to be the lowest quality plonk. There is a very pretty tropical fish pool in the front lobby - shame it is made into a sitting area to spend more time there. The dining room / lounge could be extended and re-designed to accommodate more guests when it is raining or in the evening, and so could the under-utilised pool bar. We'd love to return one day but on one condition - please re-furbish.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure all rooms have been refurbished before booking any
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from A Sally, Marketing at Mosvold Villa
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for any unpleasant experience you may have had at the hotel. Our intentions are always to send off happy guests and we do deeply regret that we could not in your case. Mosvold Villa is the only hotel in the area to have won international awards in the culinary world along with being named one of the best restaurants in the southern coast by World Luxury Hotel Awards. And irrespective of the hotels occupancy, our daily dinner service is full with both discerning travellers and food enthusiasts. These are testaments to the hard work our culinary team puts in to keep the hotel and the hotels restaurant running at high standards even during such hard times where sourcing good ingredients has become impossible due to the economic crisis. The room you had booked was the lowest category from our room categories and is placed at the end of the terrace. This room is maintained properly but if the door facing the sea is left open, the sea breeze can get the bedding dampen. As the property itself is antique Sri Lankan, the bathroom too is made to look like this, and is not actually a dated bathroom - it has all the facilities including hot/cold water facilities with a hair dryer and a AC plug for your clipper. We understand that the wine menu falls short of expectations, we sincerely apologise. Please understand that due to the economic crisis and import limitations, we've not been able to source some of these labels properly. We do our best to manage and keep an inventory of few decent wines so that our guest have options at the hotel despite the very temporary economic crisis. We hope to be fully stocked once we are able to purchase these lables. Our hotel is going through a complete refurbishment with new rooms on a new level and a founders suite with a private pool as well. The renovation is due from May of 2022 to December 2022. We do hope you'll change your mind and visit us again, you're welcome to stay at our founder's suite, we will certainly be happy to arrange something special for you! Wishing you well! Regards
Read more
RadhikaWrites wrote a review Feb 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka7 contributions3 helpful votes
To be honest, I've not wanted to click 'send' on anything I wrote here because of the unpleasantness of it and reliving that experience. The place is charming. We booked and paid well in advance 3 nights for 12th to 15th December - peak prices, king bed/suite (top category room). We were given a twin room next to the kitchen, far smaller with a foul stench. The management said it was the air conditioning and would pass. There were candles lit and aroma oil and cheap air freshener used liberally, we should have realised they knew. They said it was only available room, all other guests had checked in, we found out otherwise. They said they'd never had a problem with the room, friends in another room said the week before, the manager agreed to transfer them from next room because the sewer smell was so bad in adjoining room. And agreed it was a recurring problem in this room, which they knew of being regular guests. The toilet was leaking, water was seeping out of shower area, plumbing was clearly an issue. When we opened our bay windows, other guests seated on veranda outdoors looked shocked and/or moved. When we opened our front door the next morning, we found towels jamming the door, appears the kitchen/staff couldn't handle the sewer room either. At every point we were lied to from the Head Office, to the Manager onsite, and to the waiter he delegated the responsibility to and ran off for the day. Shafaz (I think) was a good waiter, just didn't know enough about boutique hotel management, the manager took the day off the next day, Monday and didn't answer phone again, waiter said they can give a new room. They were full, I understand that, but they should have offered us any other room at any nearby hotel that wasn't a human rights violation. At breakfast, the waiter was shouting at an elderly French lady saying she already had her fruit platter and declined anything else. She was asking why she had been sitting there with the rest of us for over an hour waiting for next course. We checked out, forfeited our next 2 nights fully paid and went on to Tri Ahangama, where all was calm and kind. I'm Sri Lankan, this is my first negative review and I'm sad its my own country. Mosvold Villa has charm but remote disinterested management. Judging by the 4 tiny prawns in the Tandoori Wrap, I'd say the neglect is replaced by opportunism at other levels, I've seen it happen all over this country when proprietors are not hands on. My partner is American, the booking is in his name, no one called, emailed or apologised. It was the worst part of an otherwise lovely holiday around Sri Lanka. I feel bad for Kurt Mosvold, we reviewed this property for a magazine I ran, he had a vision and you can see that in the details. The sewer room is infamous, check out other posts and make sure you avoid this place, your chances are 12/1 and your written requests wont matter.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from A Sally, Marketing at Mosvold Villa
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you may have had at the hotel. Our intentions are always to send off happy guests and we do deeply regret that we could not in your case. To clarify on your room category, you had booked a Deluxe Sea View Room (2nd best category), and the team has only given you a twin room from this category with the twin bed being made into a double with a double duvet on. There were no size differences in terms of the room size as these rooms are all identical except for the beds. We can assure you that we had no intentions of misleading you in any way. Although, we deeply regret the sewage leak that happened during your stay - this was not foreseen by our team as it happened for the very first time despite what you've mentioned. Should it have happened before, you'd definitely see more reviews reflecting on this. Irrespectively, we regret what happened and we were trying our best to resolve the issue ASAP to the best of our ability, as it was very important to us that your stay is a pleasant stay at the hotel. What you may not know is that we did check our immediate properties for vacant rooms and were not able to find an empty room, and whilst we were waiting on other hotel feedback our maintenance team was trying to figure out the issue and fix it ASAP. As the hotel too was full, we were not able to offer you a room change, unfortunately. On the 2nd day, as a sincere apology from us, we offered you a complete refund on the first night, dinner for 2 on us during your stay, and an upgrade to a better room from the 2nd day onwards. But we were met with a situation in which you tore off the money and have it thrown at our employee before you left, unfortunately. Our hotel is going through a complete refurbishment with new rooms on a new level and a founders suite with a private pool as well. The renovation is due from May of 2022 to December 2022. We hope you'll change your mind and visit us again, you're welcome to stay at our founder's suite, we will certainly be happy to arrange something special for you! Wishing you well! Regards
Read more
THQ wrote a review Feb 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a honeymoon stay here last week for three nights and couldn't have been happier. The staff were all very professional and the service was excellent. The rooms are lovely and the space looking out onto the beach is beautiful. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Emma Bovary wrote a review Dec 2021
London, United Kingdom11 contributions8 helpful votes
Attentive service, especially from Charith and Dilshan and other waiting staff made the stay pleasant. The Sri Lanka breakfast and other local food on the menu was good. The international dishes hit and miss. Easy access to beach and great sea view.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sam G wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My time at Mosvold Villa has been exceptional and I strongly recommend anyone visiting the area to stay here. This hotel only has a small number of rooms which helps it create the perfect combination of a relaxed, intimate vibe with easy access to everything you could want - a perfect beach, surfing, bars and restaurants. The rooms are incredibly spacious, clean and comfortable. You will sleep well here. You may get some noise from the road but it is minor and certainly didn't disturb my sleep or the chilled vibe. You will hear the waves of the ocean more than anything else. Being able to walk straight onto the beach from the hotel is a real positive. What really sets Mosvold Villa apart is the hospitality of its staff who are all diligent and friendly. It makes the place feel like a home. Mr Dinesh works tirelessly to enhance the experience of all the guests. He made sure I had everything I needed and he was readily on hand to help arrange bookings, surfing lessons, transport and offer advice on places to visit and things to do. Mr Dinshan served me during meal times and he was exceptional. He was polite and he was diligent in his service with a very keen eye for detail. Nothing was ever too much trouble and his focus was always on making guests feel at home and relaxed. He was always on hand to offer advice on which Sri Lankan dishes to try and he even arranged with the chef to make a special Sri Lankan meal on my last night which was delicious! Thank you to all of the staff at the excellent Mosvold Villa. I look forward to staying with you again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Pedro wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I'm the kind of person who doesn't write reviews about the places I visit, however, Mosvold Villa is a different place. From the first contact with Mr Dinesh until the moment of departure, everything went perfectly. The hotel is small and very intimate, it's like being at home. The rooms are very spacious, refined, clean and with all the amenities, with an incredible view over the beach. For our stay we have chosen half board and I can say that the Chef has always prepared the best food you will taste in Sri Lanka. For those who are surfers like us and want to enjoy the best spots, there is no better place. We appreciate all the care and attention given by Mr Dinesh, Shafraz and the entire team. Hope to return soon
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Hema R wrote a review Oct 2021
10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Our stay at The Mosvold Villa was an excellent break for my friend and me. We stayed in a sea facing villa and the view and sound from the Ocean was splendid! Beyond the relaxing atmosphere of the villa, the next best part was the fantastic food and excellent service . Manager Dinesh and The other staff was very attentive, professional and friendly. All precautions were taken to make our stay safe during the pandemic. Thank you team Mosvold ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
dinelka s wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Spent a weekend at this lovely luxury villa and its nothing short of vacay with breathtaking views , extreme tranquility with delicious food and good service 😊 Its an excellent choice fr a peaceful stay .loved every bit of this experience
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$298 - US$506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictAhangama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mosvold Villa
Which popular attractions are close to Mosvold Villa?
Nearby attractions include Kabalana Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mosvold Villa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mosvold Villa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mosvold Villa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mosvold Villa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mosvold Villa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Follow The White Rabbit, A'la carte restaurant, and Citra.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mosvold Villa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mosvold Villa have airport transportation?
Yes, Mosvold Villa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mosvold Villa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Mosvold Villa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kushta Raja Gala (7.4 km).
Does Mosvold Villa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.