We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Galle Road Kataluwa/Koggala, Ahangama 80650 Sri Lanka
Booking.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Destinia.com
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (216)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 37 in Ahangama
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Kabalana provides a magnificent view of the Indian Ocean and stunning sunset. The kingdom of ancient Egypt was a golden age of architecture and art. The Hotel Kabalana is only the place in Sri Lanka which inspired with most creative cultures of the ancient palace of Alexandria in Egypt.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
157Reviews2Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 26
  • 15
  • 18
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
woowho66 wrote a review 1 May
Bidart, France1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel is in a great location, particularly if you're a surfer. Nice beach directly in front and a five minute tuk tuk ride into town. It's directly opposite one of the best beach breaks in the south of SL, known as The Rock. Apart from that, the food is extremely average. The rooms are spacious, but the hotel is extremely rundown. The TV is almost unwatchable, except for the cricket channel and the wifi is extremely patchy at best. The staff are very friendly, but the level of English of many of them remains extremely basic, making it difficult to communicate. There are definitely alternative options nearby that merit your attention.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on the northern side in the separate building to the main hotyel, are definitely much bigger
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Madushani W wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I went to the hotel on last January it was a great...they treat all of us very friendly....delicious food amazing...thanks hotel kabalana...i recommend this hotel,.pool is very clean...quick beach entry...excellent room service....quick checking...best hotel ever....good sea view....
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Thamali Jayasek... S wrote a review Apr 2021
12 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked the hotel beforehand as we are going to stay one night at Hotel Kabalana on half board basis. I will attach the details with this review. Just after the booking they have confirmed our booking through a confirmation email to my email address. ( I will attach the relevant details as photos with this review) . Me and my husband went to the hotel to spend our dreamy Egyptian vacation. When we enter to the hotel premises, the security asked why we came. My husband told we have booked a room through booking.com and the hotel management has already sent us a confirmation email too and he showed it to that security officer. Then the security called The Chaiman Mr.Ranjana Masakoraala and he told to us that Hotel Kabalana is closed due to unavoidable circumstances and we cannot stay here. 😡Just think about our mental situation with a small breastfeeding baby. Their Hotel Management is really disgusting. People don’t spend your precious money on this useless property who ruin customers’ hopes. This so called chairman sent us to another villa which was named as “The Villa Hotel” located on the Unawatuna beach. There we didn’t get what we expected. And their food was totally terrible and disgusting. They offered us just some toast, butter,jam,juice for our breakfast and for the dinner they offered us a mixed fried rice which tasted overcooked. For that , they charged us Rs 16000. 😥This was the actual situation of our dream Egyptian vacation. And I want to say to the general public this message, “Please don’t book this terrible hotel. They will surely mess your precious vacation up and they charge luxurious prices for cheap services”
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Suraj Thekke Veettil wrote a review Apr 2021
Kochi (Cochin), India81 contributions32 helpful votes
We were group of 19, stayed in the hotel, and i have no words to express my dislikes on our Stay. My dear friends pls be keep yourself away from this. Its worst experience i ever had. It will spoil all your mood. Nothing is working in the property. No AC, No Wifi, No Phone, No hotwater, you name it and it wont. But everyone have ready one excuse to give you that is "Technical Error", and if you ask when it will be rectified they immediately say in 30 minutes, but that 30 minutes never come. Property construction is good, rooms are spacious, but thata not all we need dor comfort stay. Wee could not sleep in the room, and whole night is spoiled. And you will be able to see cockroaches to rat free of coast. Nothing much to say staying this property is like committing suicide. Choice is yours...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Steffi wrote a review Mar 2021
Koggala, Sri Lanka7 contributions
Me and my friend came to eat in the restaurant. The guard asked us where are we going and we asked if can we eat here and she said yes and she take us to the restaurant. Then she call the waiter to assist us, the waiter gave us the menu and I order beef burger then I asked for wifi password in the Reception and the lady said something really bad in Sinhala and I will not elaborate here and she said there's a problem in the hotel wifi but she said in Sinhala is different which I understand. Then I came back to the restaurant the waiter said Beef Burger is not available and gave me the menu again, while scanning the menu someone came and said no A La carte because they have function and they are busy, and said they don't have food which is awful to say that to a customer especially for a 4 STAR HOTEL. The waiter don't even know that they don't serve A La Carte and was sorry to us. Why open the restaurant if they don't serve food? Why all the staff don't know they don't serve A La Carte? The waiter should say to me that the restaurant is close rather than giving me the menu. Even if they have function, being busy is not a reason to turn down a customer especially in hospitality industry. I'm too disappointed with the service. We left the hotel and the security guard asked me why and I said THERE'S NO FOOD. 4 STAR HOTEL WITH BAD SERVICE. You don't deserve 4 STAR! 1 STAR IS BETTER!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Kabalana, General Manager at Hotel Kabalana
Responded 18 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, First of all, we apologize for an inconvenience, that day was a very busy day for our hotel and due to unavoidable reasons we had to suspend the meal. At that time,due to the busy schedule of the wedding, we had no choice other than temporally suspend the delivery of food. As a hotel, we invite you to return here as soon as possible, and kindly request that you give us another opportunity to negotiate with you and apologize for the inconvenienced caused to you. Thank you.! General Manager
Read more
Lahiru Chamara wrote a review Sep 2020
Weligama, Sri Lanka22 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Very pretty hotel located in front of stunning beach.the views are mind blowing. We went for dinner outing visit to the hotel and the food provided was just superb. Staff is very friendly front office team was fantastic . Special thanks to vishwa he is do fantastic job. He showed us hotel rooms and explained about the architectural designs and facilities in hotel . Hotel is nice relaxing place. Food is delicious and magnificent special thanks for chef chandana he is really friendly nice to talk to him. Also iduwara from restaurant his service absolutely fantastic always smiling and very friendly . Amazing hotel and exceptional staff. Thankyou very much guys we will definitely come back again .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Asoka K wrote a review Sep 2020
Kandy, Sri Lanka46 contributions60 helpful votes
unique property with egyptian theme ideal forkids to gaze at . beach too rough to even step into only for surfers as waves crash onto the parapet boundary wall.roos were large nd very well appointed and hd even electronic toilets a bit messy for kids
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: corner rooms for best views or duplex for huge space
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Rosan wrote a review Jul 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka1 contribution2 helpful votes
The hotel as fully artist with Egyptian style. Different feeling stay with family.Nice front office management and the staff. Well arrange restaurant food.good people acknowledge. quality service. And safe place . The room was amazing with Beach view. The pool was very nice..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Tracy H wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
This hotel was not ready to serve guests.Elevators, air conditioners, room phones and electric kettles did not work. We were the only guests at the hotel but had a stressful time dealing with wrong room allocations and the equivalent discount costs. Management did not meet with us but left everything to junior staff who were at a loss of how to negotiate with us. Really not a fine moment for the hospitality industry. We were travelling with children for the first time after lockdown, and this was not the experience we imagined. Upon wanting to cancel and receive a refund as we did not stay for the intended time,they were unable to provide us with contacts for reaching agoda.com until we searched and found the details. We asked the hotel to send an email to agoda, copied to us, stating that we did not stay the intended time and wanted a refund. Having received this email on which agoda is copied, we are yet to hear from them. A disappointing, frustrating experience all told. We will not be visiting ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Abhilash VT wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
The hotel mainly survive because of the beach, not because of services or hospitality. The beach is a surfers paradise, awesome waves. There is nothing much to talk about this heavy Egyptian themed hotel, i can only imagine about its past glory, now it’s just the ruins. It is not well maintained, lacks professional housekeeping and management I guess. We were surprised to see that the trash were not removed when we checked in. The room itself was dusty, greasy can of toiletries, broken wardrobe shutter etc. The restaurant has reasonable buffet and good staff but our à la carte orders were disastrous.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$54 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kabalana Boutique Hotel & Spa
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictAhangama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Kabalana
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Kabalana?
Nearby attractions include Ashintha Tours & Taxi Service Koggala (1.1 km) and Kabalana Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Kabalana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Kabalana?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Kabalana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Kabalana?
Conveniently located restaurants include A'la carte restaurant, Citra, and Cafe Ceylon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Kabalana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Kabalana have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Kabalana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Kabalana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Kabalana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Kabalana?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kushta Raja Gala (8.0 km).
Does Hotel Kabalana have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.