We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Uda Walawe National Park

Kalu's Hideaway

Save
Traveller (375)
Room & Suite (104)
Pool & Beach (37)
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good33%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“infinity pool”(15 reviews)
“sri lanka”(85 reviews)
“vegetable garden”(11 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (606)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Kalu's Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
201
164
77
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
201
164
77
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolsri lankavegetable gardennational parkmain buildingtable tennisboutique hotelworld cupnice pooltop floorset menucricket fancricket memorabiliasmall hotelrelaxing placehidden awaylounge area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
81 - 85 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Found this place out on a walk in Udawalawe, so wish we had stayed here but we just went for dinner and drinks, what an amazing plce, i asked to see one of the rooms , such luxery. we sat in the lounge area and...More

Thank Diane C
Response from Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's HideawayResponded 4 January 2017

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide...More

Reviewed 29 December 2016

Pleasant place and conveniently located to access the Uda Walawe National Park, but nothing exceptional about the place. Food was OK, as well as the rooms. Probably best was the service from the restaurant waiters, really doing their best. Slightly surprising that the hotel did...More

Thank Tanguy M
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We had multiple choices to make in Udawalwe but i want the cost to be reasonable..not intrusive front office..calm and more importantly not on the main road..Kalus fit the bill and being a cricket fan i was also equally excited when i know this is...More

Thank Vijays
Response from Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's HideawayResponded 26 December 2016

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our Food ,staff, services and the facilities. We continue to be...More

Reviewed 22 December 2016

Kulas retreat When you enter the grounds you get that wow feeling, as time goes on you start to be aware of signs that that establishment appears to be run by accountants rather than. managers. Let me explain, The breakfast was minimal, the butter and...More

Thank KingsleyRoyal
Response from Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's HideawayResponded 25 December 2016

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly...More

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Nice place in the wilderness. People are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are good and well maintained except the bed we had was of really poor quality. Every time I turned around in my sleep I woke myself up from the noise the bed made....More

Thank Randel V
Response from Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's HideawayResponded 15 December 2016

Dear Guest, We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1151617181997
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$74 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$74 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (375)
Room & Suite (104)
Pool & Beach (37)
Dining (24)
Hotel & Grounds (260)
Bathroom (12)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sj112
19 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from margotsmortgage | Reviewed this property |
Sorry not to check the site more often. I booked the hotel through an agent in Ann Arbor who also selected other hotels/tents in Sri Lanka. I went through several wildlife parks in Sri Lanka but again, the agent had... More
0
Votes
xulon
27 June 2016|
Answer
Response from JulieH6061 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do provide driver accommodation but it is sometimes best to phone ahead and check they have some available as they can get very busy at times.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"'' Rooms with a river view ''"
Read review
"Our third floor suite had a comically large balcony and bathroom"
Read review
"The Chalets are nice and separate from the other buildings."
Read review
"We only had the room above the restaurant which was great."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite