We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Mahoora Tented Camp Safari was a great experience. We travelled as a couple and stayed two nights in Udawalawe National Park at Mahoora Tented Safari. The service of our naturalist Gayan was the highlight! Mahoora offered a very personalised service: we had a great tent with all the amenities, enjoyed great food in beautiful settings, the staff are amazingly nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salomé S
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a very detailed review. We are really glad to see that your stay in every aspect has been memorable. the details that you have shared including our services, food, setting etc are invaluable for other travelers. We hope that you will comeback to experience more in future travels.

Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Although the camp site itself was a bit rough around the edges (especially compared to the Yala operation), we had a fantastic stay - the staff were very friendly and helpful, our naturalist was fantastic - engaged, knowledgable and very interesting to talk to, the food was abundant and very good. We enjoyed both of our safari's into the park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laughing_Cabbage
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

We are glad to see your review and to know that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking time to describe your experience including staff, service, food and the game drive. Do comeback to enjoy more !

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stayed for one night in a Classic Plus tent. The tent was clean and comfortable but not exactly luxury. Our naturalist was very knowledgeable and a friendly fellow. Staff were great. The food served was very good and in particular, the Sri Lankan curry lunch. We appreciate the efforts in conservation of companies like Mahoora. If you are doing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank santiag03
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

We are happy to see the details of your review and to know that you had a great stay. In fact the little tips that you have shared are wonderful for other travelers. We are truly appreciative for taking time to write and share the details.

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I spent two nights here during a month long visit to Sri Lanka. My guide, Sangar, was excellent. He was knowledgable, passionate about the animals, spoke English well, and had uncanny critter finding abilities. The safaris in Uda Walawe were everything I could have hoped. The other staff were very attentive and the food was decent. My main complaint is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandracatlady
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on our staff and service. They are glad to see their efforts being appreciated and equally that you had a great stay with us . As you may have experienced we are bordering the national park by a few feet, Our camp is situated in the eastern border. however travelling to the entrance does take...

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this camp with our group of 6 and found the whole experience fantastic the food was awsome and our guide Keith was very knowledgeable and all the staff were very friendly. Just dont leave your food in your tent as we had a little visitor who decided to eat through our bag to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write. We are glad to see your comments and that you found the experience fantastic. We hope that you will be back to enjoy more of what we can offer!

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

It was great to get to know local guides, experience wonderful food and see the national parks. The team here are very helpful and very knowledgeable. We were there for two nights and loved that they tailored the safaris to suit us - for safari 3 and 4 they were recommending other routes and parks to visit so as not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kobie T
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to pen down your experience. We are glad that you ahd a great stay with us and hope to see you back again to enjoy more!

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Everything ran smoothly. The food was delicious and the safaris were expertly guided. It was a professional operation and we sell it to many of our clients. It would help if there was somewhere where guests could go to relax away from their tents, a comfortable large covered area with cushions and seats.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank W9174FNalang
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you had an excellent stay with us. Your feedback on a place for relaxation is well noted. We look forward to seeing you again!

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Udawalawe Safari Camp with Mahoora. The camp was clean, neat and tidy. Our kids (4 & 6yo) enjoyed it too. The food was delicious and not to forget the free flow of alcohol and other beverages during our stay here. It would be great if the size of the shower area and WC is abit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher_eujin
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience ! We are truly glad that you and your family had a great time. You comments on the size of the shower is valued , we will certainly consider such inputs for future developments... We hope to see you back with us in your future travels!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Fantastic experience. Highly recommended! We spent one night at the camp and did an evening and morning safari. The accommodation, guide, food and service was impeccable, and I felt very safe during my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KrystleC86
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

We are delighted to see your review and to know that all parts of your experience was great. We are equally glad that you felt at home with us as creating an atmosphere of safety in the midst of nature and wilderness is is paramount to us. Thank you and we would be really happy to have you with us...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We stayed here in April and loved it!! We had the camp site to ourselves which made it even more special! Our tent was a classic plus and the entrance was huge with a 3 piece suite and little table and fan. Then inside decent size single beds and a more than adequate bathroom (considering you are in a tent!)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaChu01
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe, responded to this review

We , including the staff at the camp are delighted to see your review and to know that you had such a memorable stay with us. Thank you for taking time to write in detail your experience and all the compliments given including the food and the chef and staff / service. We are glad that you chose to stay...

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (73)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
0.0 km away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
126 reviews
14.1 km away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#9 of 27 in Uda Walawe National Park
69 reviews
10.0 km away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
78 reviews
7.0 km away
Kalu's Hideaway
Kalu's Hideaway
#3 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
494 reviews
10.0 km away
Athgira River Camping
Athgira River Camping
#2 of 29 in Udawalawa
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe is situated within close proximity to the national park enabling you to truly experience the sights, sounds and scents of the Sri Lankan wilderness. The provided mobile tents are comfortable and equipped with private bathroom, carpet, hot water, mosquito netting and private patios. Guests are offered ambient dining experience under the jungle canopy and 4WD safari jeeps are provided for Safaris. Mahoora follows the ‘pack-in-pack out’ camping principle, in which the camps are set up prior to guests arrival and dismantled after departure, so to minimize the environmental impact.Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe is an ideal base for environmentally-conscious travelers to explore the natural world. This national park is world famous for its large herds of Asian Elephants and wide range of birds.Rates are inclusive of entrance fees to the park and all other related charges for two days, cost of a jeep, beverages, lunches and dinners and fees for the expert naturalist guide. Elite & Premium package Guests can also enjoy free drinks at the Jungle Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe

Address: Udawalawe national park, Uda Walawe National Park 70190, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: €548 - €1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Plenty of mossie spray and wipes for when it is hot.”
 of 5 bubbles stirtons, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Request Mahoora to provide transport to and from the site”
 of 5 bubbles DC_DXB, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for soft bedding”
 of 5 bubbles Scottkjs, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All tents are great”
 of 5 bubbles bruna103, 8 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I stayed at room 2 which was great. I think all the tents at this campsite are equally good because it is all out in the open next to a small lake. beautiful place!”
 of 5 bubbles Sakif_Chowdhury, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay