We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grove House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Grove House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grove House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 511: English reviews
Sliema, Malta
Reviewed 24 September 2011

To all those looking at planning a driving holiday in Scotland I would most definately recommend this little guesthouse that has a four star rating but provides a five star service. Don't miss out at visiting this small village and whilst there stay at the Grove. Both Rachel and Leslie were most welcoming and accomodating. I would recommand it to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert B
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Grove House. I am sorry that I never managed to meet you during your stay. I was away on business. I am delighted to hear that the girls looked after you well during your stay. They both take great pride in what they do....

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Dining area well furnished and decorated but compact. Bedroom furniture and soft furnishings were good but the room definitely needed decorating.The room was spoilt by some melamine fitted wardrobes and shelving and the poor doble glazing, toy could here and feel the wind. The bathroom was in desperate need of updating (crack in sink). The welcome was good each time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pag053
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. I am terriblly sorry to hear that there were a few areas that you felt the need to address. The room that you stayed in was indeed decorated and had new furnishings bought for back in January of this year. The furniture is all from...

Portree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a lovely time at the b&b. The location was very handy considering we were just six miles away from oban. The town of Connel it's self is incredibly scenic and so is the b&b. The conservatory looked beautiful especially when the light shone in. Our room was very homely and made us smile as soon as we stepped...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HayleyWilson96
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. I am terriblly sorry to hear that there were a few areas that you felt the need to address. The room that you stayed in was indeed decorated and had new furnishings bought for back in January of this year. The furniture is all from...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Just spent a great night at the home from home called the Grove. From the initial welcome including a complimentary glass of wine to the comfy rooms, it was more than a pleasant experience. Everything you could possibly need was provided, including soft fluffy bathrobes. The breakfast was a gourmet treat! Fresh fruit smoothies, huge selection of cereals, berries, yogurt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia K
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your quick stay with us at grove House. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our gourmet breakfast, and were able to appreciate all the little extras that we like to offer our guests. It was a pleasure to be able to show you round our 5 star...

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Not child friendly Tries too hard to be something they are not Dinning room is tiny and squashed in two large communal tables laid out as if it is Christmas with sparkly table cloth and napkins very noisy double glazing is useless We had a superior room it was tiny you couldn't even open the bathroom doors fully as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Climber141
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your expectations. I clearly remember you staying with us along with your child. You indeed booked one of our superior rooms for 2 adults, and we offered to put an air bed in the room for your child for £10 to include our gourmet breakfast. It...

Bath
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I had a good impression of the Grove House even before I got there, I was emailing Karen about booking the green and gold room and changes to my breakfast as I have to eat gluten-free. I was however, a bit put off by the fact that I was told there is a very extensive breakfast with many courses and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YamenBon
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at Grove House. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us , and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My daughter and i spent the first week in August at this guest house, it was amazing, it was a home from home, the room was great and bright pink which my daughter loved,breakfast was great, it set you up for a great day going around Oban. Sean, Karen, Lesley and Brian made my daughter and i so welcome. i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us during your daughters school holiday. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and to chat to you during your stay. We all thought your daughter was a delight We all miss her ! lets hope you will make it back up our way in...

Cumbria
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here as a family: two adults and two children aged 10 and 13. The accommodation we were given was ideal: two rooms on a separate landing with their own bathroom. The rooms were good sized, well equipped with lovely touches of detail (water, teas & coffees, nice soaps etc). The service and reception were faultless: lovely people who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Grove House. I am delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your brief stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our gourmet breakfast. I pleased that the Inverawe kippers went down well... It was a pleasure to meet you all,...

Scotland
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Recently had a two night stay and having done so I can fully appreciate why this bed and breakfast earns its 4 star rating.In all my years of travelling this is by far the best premisies that myself and my wife have stayed in. From the start we were met with genuine warm hospitality and a complementary bottle of chilled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacPScotland
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your 2 night stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the little extras we like to offer guests while staying with us. Lesley who looks after the house in the evenings is a delight, and she thoroughly enjoys welcoming people...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This has to be one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Friendly, welcoming and 'wow' the breakfast!! Would have liked to have stayed more than 2 nights just to have sampled more of Lesley's excellent cooking. The glass of wine on arrival is a fabulous (and welcoming) touch and the rooms are to a very high standard. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lotus98
sumarlidi67, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Grove House. I am delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your 2 day stay with us. We pride ourselves on our gourmet breakfast, so it was lovely to hear that you gave it the ' wow ' factor ! We at Grove House are all in a most...

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.2 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
414 reviews
7.6 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
384 reviews
6.9 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 12 in Oban
749 reviews
7.1 km away
Ardtorna B&B
Ardtorna B&B
#1 of 3 in Barcaldine
538 reviews
7.0 km away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grove House is an owner run 4 star bed and breakfast offering tastefully decorated bedrooms with brand new bathrooms added in 2015 and a fabulous gourmet breakfast. IT IS ALWAYS ADVISABLE TO BOOK DIRECTLY THROUGH GROVE HOUSE WEBSITE FOR BEST RATES / ROOM ALLOCATION AND NOT THROUGH ANOTHER CHANNEL MANAGER . Many bedrooms of the property boast loch views. Parking is available for all guests, and is free of charge. Wi Fi connectivity is superb throughout the entire property and is complimentary. There are 3 restaurants , 2 pubs and a cocktail bar all within walking distance of the bed and breakfast. Transportation to Oban is convenient as the bus stops directly outside the house, and the train station is a 2 minute walk away. Grove House can also offer a discounted taxi fare to town too. The extensive award winning gourmet breakfast offers a wide choice of cereals, accompaniments, fresh fruit smoothies, , speciality teas and coffees, toasted breads and a choice of 10 main courses. Guests have a modern conservatory complete with a water feature to relax in during a stay, and there is a drinks machine offering hot drinks from Cappuccino to Hot Chocolate that is complimentary and available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grove House

Address: Grove House Main Street, Connel, Oban PA37 1PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Price Range: €104 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Hotel Connel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grove House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
hove
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grove House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take advantage of the comfy lounge in the evenings for a cozy glass of wine.”
 of 5 bubbles cindyhK9911WN, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a decent pub restaurant about 10 minutes pleasant walk away.”
 of 5 bubbles BJDorani, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not accessible for wheelchair users. Rooms are somewhat warm.”
 of 5 bubbles 648mn, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Simply ask the friendly staff advice regarding your preferences. Nothing is too much trouble.”
 of 5 bubbles philipsM6348AL, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Unable to comment”
 of 5 bubbles 735helen, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay