We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Queens Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Queens Head
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Queens Head
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

Booked via living social. Communication was excellent via email. Staff friendly and helpful. Bedroom was well decorated and the bed was really comfy. Bath could've been a bit deeper but I can appreciate it must cost a great deal to fill everyone's bath. Fab views of the hills. Stayed for dinner. Service was a little slow but it was valentines...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1976Toon
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, So pleased you enjoyed your stay, we ate on Valentines as well, I agree the food was great lol seriously though, we do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, hope you will stay with us again soon. Teresa

north east england
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Stayed with friends on living social vouchers for my husbands birthday.Very pleasant helpful lady at reception who showed us to our rooms. Lovely comfy bed and plenty of fluffy towels in room which was at the top of lots of stairs..was ok for us but if you have problems you need to ask for a lower floor..Evening meal was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skihols46
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving us a review, we really do appreciate you taking the time. The person who served your breakfast is no longer with us, not smiling was not his only fault.... thanks again. Teresa

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed last Friday night on a Living Social deal. Lovely room, great parking, cosy bar area, bed so comfortable. Friendly staff and locals. Would definitely stay again anytime. Great child-free night in a lovely little village.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for leaving us your review, much appreciated. We will keep you informed of any offers we do ourselves. Teresa

Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend on sat the 24th jan. We booked as part of a living social deal and weren't sure of what to expect but we were both very happy with the hotel. Was easy to find right on the Main Street, upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who showed us straight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Stayed with my husband on Friday 23/1/15, one night stay on Living social deal. We found the staff all very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Warm, clean room with comfortable beds. Good food and great conversation in bar with bar staff and other couples staying there. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Pauline, Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we will keep you informed of any deals we do ourselves and hope you will stay with us again. Teresa

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Family weekend away purchased a Groupon voucher, great value as Saturdays were included, would have given it 5 but the mattress in the room was so hard I hardly slept, did complain the next morning and was told they were new beds but she would check it out. apart from that no complaints Staff great, food excellent, would definitely come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yesses
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the lovely review, sorry you found the mattress too hard, they were really expensive with 2000 pocket springs but are quite firm. I do hope you come and stay again, we have mattress toppers, so just ask.. Thanks again Teresa

Reviewed 10 January 2015

Stayed one night only on New Years eve with my husband. Lovely room, had three course meal, delicious and service perfect! Made to feel welcome, all staff very friendly, (especially Gina in bar!). Thankyou all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimima
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and your first so double thanks, Gina is a gem, and I will be sure to pass on your comments, do come and stay again. Teresa

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2014

We recently stayed at the queens Head and had a very enjoyable time. The room we had had been recently redecorated to a high standard and a large on suite bathroom. Both were very clean. we went for a drink after checking in and the staff were friendly and helpful and the bar had a very nice atmosphere. We dined...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2014

If you believe the old adage "actions speak louder than words" then all I need say is that we've just returned from our 3rd visit to the Queen's Head, this year. We just love it. Lovely comfortable rooms, way above average pub grub and the friendliest staff you can hope to encounter. We were fortunate enough to catch a musical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NTRCBC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review, its really appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Teresa

Reviewed 8 December 2014

Me and my partner recently spent a night here. The room we were put in was bare, cold and uninspiring. Unfortunately the bottom before sheet wad stained and our bed was made by putting 2 singles together making a rather uncomfortable gap between us. The room was clean but that's all it had going for it we were away from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank natal85
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you were not happy with your room. As I don't know who you are I can only say that we tried to accommodate everyone who wanted a double room on a weekend and informed everyone that the room you stayed in was a twin but could be made up as a king size with a mattress...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
10.8 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 km away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
647 reviews
0.2 km away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
93 reviews
0.4 km away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
0.2 km away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Price Range: €67 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Queens Head staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Queens Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“easy access to Northumberland Nation Park and other landmarks”
 of 5 bubbles val052_11, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask the hotel in advance if a special requirment is needed”
 of 5 bubbles JHGP, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is no lift and the stairs are quite steep so probably not suitable for real mobility problems. There is no double glazing.”
 of 5 bubbles peterk547, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the attics were the newly refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles JulieM65, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed room 16”
 of 5 bubbles janicewR3211SG, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5