We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe

Save
Share
South Loch Awe Side, Portsonachan PA33 1BJ Scotland
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1283)
Room & Suite (140)
Videos (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel, with restaurant and bar.
Read more
Room & Suite (140)140
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Boating
Canoeing
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Romanian
2280Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 568
  • 729
  • 420
  • 246
  • 317
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
NatalieBtravelin wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
My husband and I are both active duty military and purchased tickets at a travel fair. The trip didn't end up happening due to work schedules and try to reschedule and eventually tried to cancel. I provided a request via email and formal written request. The hotel staff would ask questions as though they were working it, but eventually we stopped receiving responses and altogether ignored. These seems to be the common theme with other reviews I've read. They are stealing people's money and should be put out of business.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith Parker, Owner at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Natalie I am sorry you felt our offer is a scam. I would like to point out that you purchased a discounted hotel stay in 2019 (March) a whole year before lockdown, we have also extended your voucher up to the end of 2022 allowing you over 3 years to use your purchase. You were aware of the T + C when you purchased the voucher and I feel we have been more than flexible, and we have definitely not ignored you Kind Regards Liz Parker
Read more
karen g wrote a review Mar 2020
Hartlepool, United Kingdom4 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We have just had 4 nights in a very spacious, comfortable and warm 1 bedroom lodge with a view over the loch and to the snowy mountains. The area is stunning. The hotel conservatory serves an excellent standard of food, and very good coffee. The staff are so helpful and welcoming. Loads to do in the area if being overwhelmed by the Magnificence of the scenery isn’t enough. Can’t wait to go and stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from portsonachanhotel, General Manager at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe
Responded 23 May 2020
Dear Mrs Gilbert, Thank you for posting your lovely review, look forward to welcoming you back after lockdown, in the meantime stay safe and look after your self Kind Regards Liz
Read more
rachel p wrote a review Jan 2021
Staffordshire, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
Very unhelpful and will only extend our trip instead of providing us a refund. They are not providing a Service but still hold onto our money when we cannot go and have the right to a full refund. Very disappointing service
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe
Responded 15 Jan 2021
Good Morning, Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor, I would like to clarify the situation regarding refunds, you have purchased a discounted hotel accommodation voucher which is still valid for use up to the end of December 2021 - If you purchased hotel accommodation direct with the hotel and not on a promotional voucher then you have a choice either postpone your trip or receive a refund. Please contact the hotel to discuss your situation further Kind Regards Liz
Read more
Melanie M wrote a review Dec 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2 contributions
Our two bed lodge was a little out dated & could do with a spruce up & unfortunately our dishwasher flooded the kitchen but all in all it was a great stay!! The beds were comfy, staff so friendly, scenery was beautiful, sauna lovely & so relaxing!! Would highly recommend a visit!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
fiona kinghorn wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed at Portsonachan for 3 nights at the end of Sept having purchased the holiday at a Food Fair the previous year. We upgraded in order to have a room with a view over the beautiful Loch Awe. During our 2 week holiday in Scotland (where we originate from) we stayed in 6 different hotels. Portsonachan was the the best but also the worst. It was the best for location - stunning views, magnificent mountains, lovely walks, plus the sighting of a red squirrel - good food, good coffee, excellent homemade shortbread and friendly staff. Unfortunately, due to the following experiences, it was the worst hotel out of the 6 we stayed in - crumpled/creased bedding (wouldn't offer our own guests a bed looking so dishevelled (in fact we doubted if it had actually been changed, however after a discussion with the receptionist this was rectified while we were at dinner); served a bottle of warm white wine and dirty wine glass on our first night; final morning at breakfast encountered congealed yoghurt container lid, sticky apricots container, empty mussel shell evident on floor obviously from previous evening. The last three begs the questions - is thorough cleaning carried out at all? Is there a staff issue? Surely in these current times it is even more important than ever that deep cleaning is done. May we also suggest that less casual (stained in places) attire, but of a higher standard, is worn by the waitresses in line with such a calibre of hotel? Despite their friendliness they would have benefitted hugely by wearing such a 'uniform'. Simple things like that assist in maintaining a hotel's high standard and encourages visitors to return. Perhaps it wouldn't go amiss to train the waiting staff in types of wine as on our first night the waiter thought our request for a bottle of New Zealand Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc was for a bottle of Merlot!! Also white wine does in fact need to be well chilled. In defence of the bar person he ensured that we enjoyed an exceedingly chilled Sauvignon Blanc with our second dinner. However, having said all of the above, we would consider returning in the future in the hope that a bit of TLC has been carried out to include clearing the gutterings of grass, fern etc. The shortcomings of the hotel was outweighed by the wonderful location and equally wonderful weather!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe
Responded 4 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Portsonachan, I have spoken to our restaurant manager, and can assure you that re-training has now taken place, I can only apologise, as the service you received, is not our normal standard that we provide. Our, yearly maintenance programme has been delayed, due to circumstances, we hope to be back on track by the end of November, so apologies for the gutters. I am very pleased you enjoyed our stunning location and wildlife, and look forward to welcoming you back . Kind Regards Liz
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
portsonachan hotel and lodges on loch awe, portsonachan hotel dalmally, portsonachan resort dalmally
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandArgyll and ButePortsonachan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe
What are some of the property amenities at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kilchrenan Inn, Ardbrecknish House Restaurant & Bar, and Portsonachan Hotel Restaurant.
Is Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Portsonachan.
Are pets allowed at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Conan's Kirk (9.0 km), Inveraray Jail (13.2 km), and Inveraray Bell Tower (13.1 km).
Does Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.