We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Merry Pebbles Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Merry Pebbles Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merry Pebbles Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Lot's of great waterfalls to view in the Sabie surroundings, horseriding at Grant (Yorkdale stables) is lovely and the Blyde River Canyon is stunning. The house where we staid was clean and spacious, we didn't miss a thing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yessekles
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Dear Yssekles, So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you soon. Regards Walter

eMalahleni, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Our stay at Merry Pebbles was really relaxing, we will definitely return. The biggest attraction for us was the mountain bike trails in the area. Our only complaint is that the hot water was not really hot, I suspect they run a solar heating system, which will be sufficient in summer, but not really in winter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gehardd2016
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi Gerhard, So glad you enjoyed your stay at Merry Pebbles, we are busy upgrading our hot water system. It was supposed to have been complete in April but due to a few setbacks we are running behind schedule, all should be online next week. Regards Walter

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Merry Pebbels is a terrific place to camp for a few days. Great amenities and very good security. No day visitors is allowed which makes it very nice and quite. On site shop with liquor store. One complaint that I have. In the bottom men's bathroom, the motion sensor that controls the lights, does not pick up movement in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Koen K
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi Koen, Thank you for the review and constructive advise, we will look into the issue. Regards Walter

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Stayed in the lodge with family and friends. The location is awesome, close to attractions and activities. Enjoyed the lodge facilities such as heated pool, volleyball etc. Reception and restaurant staff were very friendly. However, the rooms were quite cold due to winter, no sufficient heating provided which affected the sleep quality. Cleanliness and room service can be improved. Nevertheless,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 295em
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. Regards Walter

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed in one of the large 3-bedroom houses in the campground. As far as accommodation goes, the house was adequate, basic, and average. It was quite cold, and even though we had the fire going, it didn’t really warm the house up much. The place was roomy and bright with a full kitchen for self catering. The best thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi Dan, Thank you for your positive suggestions, we appreciate your input. regards Walter

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed at Merry Pebbles 8th and 9th July in the Plettenburg unit. The resort has a beautiful setting and the amenities seem adequate ( we weren't able to use all them due to it being winter and our sight seeing expeditions ). My advice though is to not use the Plettenburg or trailer type units if you have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d3con
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi d3con, Thanks for the input. Regards Walter

Welkom, South Africa
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Since 1990 I went there with my parents and 2010 and this year me and my husband with kids went there. Always a super visit and nice people. Merry Pebbles just makes us happy and relaxed. Feels like home from home !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elodiej415
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Elodie, this review makes us feel so special! Regards Walter

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant resort. Be sure to check the accommodation type before booking, we initially had a Plettenburg unit which is quite small for a family of 4. The manager at the reception had no problems upgrading us to a larger unit on the afternoon of check-in, the unit is called a Tulbach. The resort is very well maintained, and although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IgVe
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi IgVe, So glad we could accommodate and meet your expectations and your needs during your stay with us. Regards Walter

Randburg
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Would definitely recommend Merry Pebbles for a family holiday. We stayed in a Plettenburg which was neat and tidy. There were plenty of warm blankets for everyone. There was so much to do inside the resort. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 209petaf
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peta, Thank you for your positive comments, so glad your family enjoyed the well deserved break. Regards Walter

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2016

An excellent place to spend time with friends and family in a clean, harmonious environment. Great for relaxation and a manageable distance from all the sights. Staff are friendly. The bottle store is a great addition.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank expat742
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Dear Expat, Thank you for your positive review! Great to know that our work is paying off. Regards Walter

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
0.8 km away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
3.8 km away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#6 of 15 in Sabie
52 reviews
13.9 km away
Misty Mountain
Misty Mountain
#3 of 15 in Sabie
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
1.6 km away
Sabie Self Catering Apartments
36.8 km away
Kruger Adventure Lodge
Kruger Adventure Lodge
#22 of 43 in Hazyview
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family Resort offering self-catering, as well as B&B and caravan or camping sites on the banks of the Sabie River. 1km from the village Sabie. Heated and cold water pools, with water slides, trampolines, tennis and hiking as well as mountain bike trails. Restaurant and general store on site. No motorcycles or quad bikes are permitted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merry Pebbles Resort

Address: Merry Pebbles Resort | Old Lydenburg road, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Price Range: €18 - €74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merry Pebbles Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Merry Pebbles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merry Pebbles Hotel Sabie
Merry Pebbles Resort Sabie, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merry Pebbles Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Merry Pebbles Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are multiple options to choose from.”
 of 5 bubbles zohaibk167, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are fine”
 of 5 bubbles yusufs515, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“stand 42 is best.”
 of 5 bubbles 48charlies, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
“No. 20 is my favourite withna lovely view of the river and gardens”
 of 5 bubbles umfana, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Great camping ground to visit Kruger, National Park”
 of 5 bubbles Heepa, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay