We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The West House Country Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The West House Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The West House Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

My husband and I booked a one night stay at this lovely little country hotel as we were attending a friend's birthday party nearby. We weren't expecting much as I'd read that the interior was quite dated and tired looking. I completely disagree with these views and we were pleasantly surprised. Whilst I agree that it appears a little dated,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ecalpem0s
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Because of the letting agent's incompetence, huge traffic jams at Birmingham, and a Beyoncé concert in Cardiff, we were unable to pick up the keys for Senior Daughter's new flat in Cardiff before the office closed. We therefore got on the Net to look for a nice place to pass the night, and found the West House Country Hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob L
Eastern Region UK
Reviewed 31 May 2016

This is an hotel of character in an old historical building. It is located in pleasant and quiet surroundings with well kept gardens. Our room was good and we had comfortable nights. The hotel staff were helpful and efficient and there was a good choice for our breakfasts, which were served promptly and we enjoyed. We also used the spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FernandoPugh
Corfu, Greece
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Owners "have had enough" in their own words . This attitude is reflected in the poor quality of this previously good hotel . The locals say it is up for sale . The bedrooms need some redecorating and the double beds are small. Breakfast takes anything up to an hour to reach the table .They were unable to do evening...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nigel D
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We stayed two nights to re visit local areas we used to live we were met by a very friendly receptionist who told us places to eat as the restaurant wasn't open .The rooms were fine the bathroom had been refurbished and was nice with a heated towel rail .My cousin had mentioned the water wasn't hot on a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Found this place online but booked direct and they therefore gave us a reduction on the advertised rate which made sense as they weren't having to pay the booking commission. Situated in the old part of Llantwit which is nice but it is quite hard to find. The staff were friendly. The room was very tired and not particularly clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsSlocombe1
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Since when have polystyrene tiles been acceptable in a hotel room and/or bathroom? This building has great potential but so much money needs spending on it that I think the only chance is for the owners to win the lottery. But in the meantime they could get their staff to tidy up and weed the car park (first impressions??), scrub...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen T
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We stayed overnight to attend a wedding locally, little bit tired - yes but the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly moving us to a new room when our first one was too cold. Had to ask for the heating to be turned on in the morning again though. Comfortable bed and the breakfast was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jace59
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

I meant to respond to the review comments from management some time ago as I stayed there with John M. What he said was totally valid & true. I used to go to your hotel as a child and remembered a wonderful restaurant (that has gone) etc . The owner was only there on arrival . It was run by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elviradaphne
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Stayed here for just one night, which in hindsight was a blessing. I should've realised when trying to make the reservation over the phone that the whole experience was going to be poor, as I had to repeat myself several times before the correct day and type of room was booked. I was so convinced that the receptionist still hadn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lester2003
WHCH, Owner at The West House Country Hotel, responded to this review

I am a little bemused by the review following your comments to my staff on your departure “Enjoyed my stay, Thank you very much”. Thank you for serving us breakfast when we were 30 minutes late. Why could you not raise your concerns while you were here or at least on your departure. As you were aware the Rugby International...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llantwit Major
6.5 km away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
390 reviews
10.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
12.5 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
11.5 km away
St. Mary's Hotel
St. Mary's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pencoed
138 reviews
14.2 km away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Bridgend
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The West House Country Hotel

Address: West Street, Llantwit Major CF61 1SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Llantwit Major
Price Range: €98 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The West House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The West House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Hotel Country
The West House Country Hotel Llantwit Major, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The West House Country Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Reading, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The West House Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want wifi make sure you have a room that can receive it”
 of 5 bubbles Budjuggler, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 5, twin room, but perfectly lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles ecalpem0s, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No preference”
 of 5 bubbles 922nigeld, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles MrsSlocombe1, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles StephenT592, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5