We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mariental
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed here on our last night before returning to UK. I would have liked to stay longer as the place was so peaceful and relaxing. The décor in the rooms is unique and great attention to detail. The place has a waterhole which was frequented by many animals during the short stay. The pool was an added bonus. Made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 323HELE
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hele, Thank you for taking your time to evaluate our Lodge. We are happy to hear that you were delighted with your stay at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Your Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge Team

Reviewed 23 October 2016

stunning place to be, warm welcome, lovely chalets with very high comfort. You must not miss the sundowner drive to see the beauty of the landscape and the animals. You will be guided with passion about the fauna and flora of the lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claus g
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Claus, Thank you for taking your time to evaluate our Lodge. We are happy to hear that you were delighted with your stay at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Your Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge Team

Surrey
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The day after our journey from the UK, and heading south towards Fish River Canyon, we didn't want a drive which was too long. Red Dunes was a perfect location. We had time to stock up with provisions in Windhoek, get used to our Ford Ranger hire car, and still arrive in time to enjoy the afternoon at Red Dunes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suejdavies
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sue, thank you for your review. It’s a very good idea to split the drive from Windhoek to the Canyon and stay in the Kalahari overnight. This way you can adapt to driving in Namibia, enjoy a good rest in our lodge and experience the special atmosphere in the Kalahari Desert. The game population is exceptional high for this...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Lovely lodge with nicely decorated rooms and good facilities. The food here was outstanding. We saw lots of wildlife from our chalets and took some amazing photos of the animals as well as the amazing night skies. Being able to walk or bike (bikes are available for use) around the area and see the animals up close was a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyena12
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alyena, thank you very much for taking your time to review your experience in Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge. We are glad you were pleased with our excellent accommodation, the cuisine and the beautiful surrounding nature. Using our free rental bikes to explore the Kalahari Desert by yourself is a very nice experience. We would like to welcome you again,...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We enjoyed the warm welcome and the helpful staff. The lodge offered a Sundowner with a good selection of drinks and snacks, balloon tyre bikes and a lot to see nearby the waterhole. Dinner and breakfast were of good quality and maybe you can convince the host to bring you a cup of coffee for the sunrise to your cottage!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redfam01
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear redfam, thank you very much for taking your time to review your experience in Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge. We are glad you were pleased with our excellent accommodation, the cuisine, our personal service and the warm way to feel you welcomed by our staff. We hope you enjoyed your time and would like to welcome you back, soon. Kind...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The accommodation was very comfortable and well appointed. The service by the staff was very good. Unfortunately sadly let down by the quality of the evening meal. Would I recommend - only if the food was up to the standard of the accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinah64
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dinah, thank you for you review. At first we have to thank you for your praise regarding our accomodation. Second we would like to apologize for your dinner experience. We always try to meet the taste and needs of all our guests. Our claim is to achieve the highest possible standard, every day! Again we’d like to apologize if...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

The accommodation was delightful but unfortunately the evening meal did not come up to our expectations at this price. Very expensive compared to everything else we had in Namibia. The welcoming committee of 5 giraffes was lovely as we drove in and staff were very attentive. Just not sure how they justify this price differential.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlie47
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Noelc, thank you for your review. We regret, that you were not satisfied with the Dinner. Unfortunately everyones taste is different. We try to meet the taste of all our guests and are very sorry, if we couldn't cater to your satisfaction. We can not agree with your opinion regarding the price value ratio of our lodge. Buying ingredients...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016

My wife and I were blessed with the opportunity to travel throughout Namibia on an exquisite and breathtaking private safari. Stopping at the Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge on the second day of our trip we can say that one night is not enough. The lodging is rustic but yet clean and has all the basic amenities. We were in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie and Paul V
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sophie, We are happy you enjoyed your first nights in Namibia and picked our Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge to start off your journey! Thank you for all of your nice words regarding our lodge and surroundings! You are totally right, the sundowner drive is a MUST !!! Some of the rooms are closer to the lodge, yet we set...

Singapore
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Admittedly this lodge was a lucky find in our 3 week itinerary around Namibia. The main goal was to reach Fish River Canyon, but we decided to break the long drive up into two considering how we had just arrived after a long international flight. We had previous experiences with the Kalahari Desert and have found the place to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jakehyr
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear esteemed reviewer jakehyr, thank you very much for taking your time to review your experience in Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge. We enjoyed reading for your extensive review and are happy you enjoyed your time so much. It’s a very good idea to split the drive from Windhoek to the Canyon and stay in the Kalahari overnight. This way you...

Palo Alto, CA
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Lovely, traditional chalets in the heart of the Namibian Kalahari. Large, clean and private. The only criticism I would have is that our chalet was a quarter of a mile away from the lodge which meant quite a hike to and from for each meal. The property has well-marked hiking trails where one can see antelope, zebra and interesting birds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkrause3
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge, responded to this review

Dear esteemed reviewer mkrause, thank you very much for taking your time to review your experience in Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge. Because of our nature and the beauty of the area itself, we purposly placed our charlet in a distant between each another. This way we can assure everyones privacy and it adds to the experience of our lodge and...

256 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mariental hotels
59.6 km away
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
#1 of 8 in Mariental
564 reviews
82.2 km away
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
100.0 km away
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
Lapa Lange Game Lodge
#4 of 8 in Mariental
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
Zebra Kalahari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mariental
150 reviews
31.9 km away
Suricate Kalahari Tented Lodge
61.4 km away
Africa Safari Lodge
Africa Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mariental
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comforting and charming best describes the mood at the Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge. This is where Africa will captivate you in a laid-back and cheerful manner. The long-gone atmosphere of Africa safaris from centuries past seems to hover in the air. Enjoy the Kalahari desert from one of twelve individual guest houses nestled into the bankside of a natural dry lake where lots of wild animals are frequent to be spotted. The Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge is a very special place - let its magic work on you. Directions: From Windhoek, drive 190km south on B1 to Kalkrand. Continue on B1 for another 6km and turn towards the lodge until you reach the visible entrance to the lodge after 3km. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Address: Kalkrand, just North of Mariental, Mariental, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Mariental
Price Range: €304 - €340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Game drive is a must, and the fat bikes is just out of the world”
 of 5 bubbles 948clausg, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Each Chalet is different, and i enjoyed our "Ostrich No.10" a lot, see pics!”
  • very private patio
  • bed
  • open shower
  • view to the open bathroom/bedroom
  • Living room
 of 5 bubbles 2abc, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon cottage - "Ostrich" - (not a tent bedroom) - was large, beautiful and far enough away from reception and restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles Englishtravelfanatic, 31 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 is the furthest form the water hole but it is a very nice room.”
 of 5 bubbles Knarf_from_Gent, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Chalet/rondavel number 5 is closest to everything.”
 of 5 bubbles Avery-Little, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5