We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
 Click to rate
Ellon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

had not visited hotel for many years. although is a bit tired and in need of a bit of modernizing. the rooms are spacious and clean. staff are very helpful and courteous. breakfast was very good and a good choices on offer. overall reasonable value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilreid1957
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your kind review. Kind Regards

Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent an enjoyable few days at the Cartland Bridge Hotel celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary as we held our original reception at this hotel. We were not disappointed and found Jackie and her team most helpful and they went out of their way to make sure our stay was a success such as giving us an attractive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jelleway
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit, I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. and of course JAckie. I am very sorry you found the room cold unfortunately we were having a small problem with the boiler that day. I am delighted to say that...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff really put the effort in to make you feel welcome and the surroundings are very beautiful. The rooms are a bit dated and if you are unlucky, you could also have a room without a window which is a bit like staying in a prison cell. The food is very good, I have enjoyed very meal at a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James D
Management response:

Thank you for posting your recent review. I offer my apologies, We do have one single room with a sky light window and shower. During your stay the hotel was full and I apologise we were not able to move your room. Unfortunately the T.V. signal had dropped in the whole are due to a fault. It's lovely to hear...

glasgow
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had lunch on Sunday but I am sorry to say the food was not up to usual standards. Additionally, there was a severe lack of heat in the restaurant. The menu has been changed, although the previous one was adequate.The mushy peas were garden peas, the chips were like Mcdonalds, and the fish was tasteless. My wife had nachos...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank william m
Management response:

Thank you for posting your recent review. I offer my apologies you did not have a pleasant experience. I hope you will visit again in order for us to restore your confidence in the Cartland Bridge Hotel. Kind regards

Batley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights whilst up on business. The staff, food and feel of the hotel were excellent. The food was good on an evening and on a night. I liked at breakfast that it was mostly self service but that toast and tea/coffee were served at the table which for me is a major gripe with a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nedthewonderhorse
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit, I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. I am delighted to say that the boiler is now fixed and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here yesterday. Food was lovely and staff were very friendly. The leek and potatoe soup was fab as was my cheese and bacon burger. My kids had a rack of ribs and they were excellent. Only negative point . The dining room was absolutely freezing. We were going to have a dessert but it was too cold. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pauli-scotland
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit, I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. I am very sorry you found the room cold unfortunately we were having a small problem with the boiler that day. I am delighted to say that is now fixed and...

Reviewed 1 January 2017

We had a great new year party night. The only problem was the lack of staff to serve food and drink.. The rooms where spotless but the breakfast was again effected by the staff. The only member of staff was run off his feet trying to serve. This was our sixth visit for new year hopefully it won't be our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brian S
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. I am glad you enjoyed New Year at Cartland Bridge. It was lovely to hear you found the rooms spotless. I will pass on your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back next year. Kind Regards

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Hadn't visited the Cartland for over 10yrs and decided to have our works Xmas party night here and wasn't disappointed. Booked rooms for the guys who wanted to stay over I was in room 109 and it was lovely very big and warm, ensuite could be doing getting replaced very out dated but other than that the room was perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott W
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your work night out. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. We hope you return soon. Kind Regards

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here sat night while visiting relatives . The rooms were clean and good size , not many places you actually can sit in chairs in the room as it's big enough. We had dinner in the bar area and despite there being a Christmas Party on only had to wait half an hour for our food . The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smokey270
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, please return soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Bedroom very pleasant, en suite bathroom could do with a little updating but overall the double room was very clean. Breakfast superior to evening meal, but good value. Receptionists both friendly and informative, thanks for a pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JOAN g
Management response:

Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, please return soon. Kind Regards

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
1.5 km away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
8.9 km away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
570 reviews
14.2 km away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
544 reviews
16.8 km away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
291 reviews
21.2 km away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stone's throw away from the Royal Burgh of Lanark, located in the Clyde Valley stands Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel. Completed in the late 1800's the hotel is the finest example of Sir John James Burnett's Baronial style of Scottish architecture and is a Grade A listed building. An hour's drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh, set in 19 acres of woodland, this 3 star hotel is virtually unchanged from its days as a splendid family mansion. Now the hotel serves as an excellent venue for business meetings, conferences, weddings and social events, each catered within a varied range of suites. Facilities accommodate gatherings for two or 250 guests, with ample free parking. Nearby attractions:-Falls of Clyde, Royal Burgh of Lanark, Roslyn Chapel (noted in the 'Da Vinci Code'), Lanark Loch, Clyde Valley Tourist Route, Tinto Hill, The Glenmuir Outlet. BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge - Large enough to cope - Small enough to care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel

Address: Glasgow Road, Lanark ML11 9UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Price Range: €90 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanark
Cartland Bridge Country Hotel
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel Lanark, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
london
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at rear of hotel are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles gilreid1957, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is no lift so suggest guests with mobility problems ask for a room not too high up!”
 of 5 bubbles jelleway, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms would be up to a good standard”
 of 5 bubbles Y7776YPwilliamh, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all much the same the hotel is away from the road a short distance so no noise”
 of 5 bubbles lindafK9852FM, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our corner room allowed a beautiful breeze to blow through.”
 of 5 bubbles dlschurman, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5