We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

COMO Castello Del Nero

Save
Share
Strada Spicciano 7, 50028, Barberino Tavarnellle Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
US$909
US$877
View deal
Expedia.comUS$909
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (541)
Room & Suite (147)
Dining (84)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
COMO Castello Del Nero, Tuscany, is a 740-acre, historic Italian estate a 30-minute drive from Florence and Siena — and the first property in continental Europe from COMO Hotels and Resorts. At the property’s heart stands a twelfth-century Castello featuring 50 rooms and suites with light and modern interiors by Milanese designer, Paola Navone. The Michelin-starred La Torre restaurant showcases gourmet Italian cuisine, using the finest Tuscan produce. There are two informal restaurants — La Taverna and the Pavilion — as well as a comprehensive wine cellar, an outdoor swimming pool open during summer months and tennis courts. COMO Shambhala Retreat offers complimentary yoga for residents, therapeutic massages and expert guidance in holistic wellness.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quiet
762Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 603
  • 90
  • 36
  • 18
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
cchriscap wrote a review 21 Jul
Jackson, New Jersey255 contributions112 helpful votes
I was a repeat guest in the past 12 years, some times booking 6-8 rooms for friends and family. The hotel was sold to COMO Group and all new management. Decided so stupidly to book 3 rooms for 5 nights. Got there on a July 2 at 12 pm. Left at 4 pm. Went to my 25 year home away from home the St Regis in the city. Management was rude and confronted me saying they were getting a lot of complaints about my loud behavior! How is that possible as there were only 12 people at the pool and i was talking to the family of 5 with 3 small adorable children I was playing with and i even told the father to go to La Loggia in San Donato for the best food! They did go that night as the owner told me the next night and were shocked by the management and what they said to me. So NEVER WILL I EVER RETURN!! So many better nicer places to stay in Tuscany!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Some place else!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Artolli, Direttore generale at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mr Caputo I must say that your review does surprise me considering the situation you created during the few hours you spent on property. You had booked 2 rooms, one for yourself and one for the lady in your company for 5 nights. Guests around the pool started to complain after you had played with the kids throwing ice cubes at them, for your rude attitude and offensive words towards a party of 6 ladies. When I was called to the pool by one of the ladies, you were heavily drunk and the lady in your company did apologize a number of times for your rude behaviour. I simply and kindly ask you to behave and the lady suggested to help you back to your room. An hour later I was told you left the hotel and that the lady settled the bill for the whole stay. The day after the lady wrote to the hotel asking for a refund as in her/your views I should have gone to the pool earlier to try to avoid your misbehaviour and stop you from drinking so heavily. A couple of day later I decided to refund you for your stay except for the first night and an email confirming the refund was sent to you and the lady. I must say that a professional and understanding attitude in your regards did not pay off. Best regards Giuseppe Artolli General Manager
Read more
Ally C wrote a review 19 Jul
1 contribution
COMO hotels are truly one-of-a-kind. Castello Del Nero is a beautiful hotel nestled in the Tuscan countryside. Everything feels catered to customer enjoyment - including all of the staff who are very attentive and kind. We loved taking walks around the property, lounging by the pool and being able to walk to the nearest town for dinner. All of the staff were exceptional and we had a lovely dinner at the restaurant. We can't wait to get back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Artolli, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guests thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted you appreciated the beauty of the Tuscan country side and the confort of the property. We feel very proud to receive so many compliments and I shall convey your comments and appreciation to the whole team for the passion in what they do everyday. Making Guests happy is our main and first reward. We look forward to having you back in a near future. Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli General Manager
Read more
Byron R wrote a review 13 Jul
San Francisco, California128 contributions69 helpful votes
What a nice place! We’ve spent a lot of time in Tuscany and enjoy being out in the country. This property is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable. The service is excellent. The restaurants are great options with nice views. The location is very good, being close to major roads and fairly centrally located for exploring either Florence or Siena or any of the western towns. The other property we like in this area is Villa La Calvane. I think they’re similar and that it’s nice to have both to switch between. I think both are better all-around than Borgo Santo Pietro. We also love the Four Seasons in Florence, but that’s a different sort of stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
strain1975 wrote a review Nov 2019
Worcester, Massachusetts18 contributions4 helpful votes
We have been to this hotel twice. This was the first since new management. The setting is spectacular in the midst of wine vineyards. Hiking is a must and the hotel does provide a small amount of paths for even the most novice walker. For advanced walkers there are more paths close by but you have to cross a busy road but well worth it. The room is large and very modern with an nespresso machine. The shower and tub are beautiful. Spa is amazing. And treatments are very well done and one should go early to enjoy the many facilities. Restaurant is a Michelin Star and it was one of the best restaurants in Italy. Breakfast is also very good. Staff is very nice and accommodating to your every néed without being pretentious at all. My only two complaints are that they hotel should make it clear that it is completely tip free. I ordered room service and I could tell that server wanted a tip although there was a gratuity included on the bill. Lastly, aLthough the renovations were very nice and more modern, the hotel lost a little of its Tuscan charm. But we definitely plan on returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 18 Nov 2019
Dear Guests thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We are delighted to know you had a most enjoyable time with Como Castello del Nero and we are grateful on your comments on the property and the quality of service. I am sorry for the bad impression you had from the room service waiter and his expectation for a tip. I would like to confirm that, to my knowledge, there are no hotels in continental Europe where tipping is compulsory. I do confirm that service charge is always included, at least in Italy, and tipping is always to the discretion of the Guest, but absolutely no obligation what so ever!! We look forward to seeing you again next season and wish you a beautiful winter season. Warmest regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
alshin wrote a review Nov 2019
Atlanta, Georgia217 contributions165 helpful votes
This was the first hotel of my 16 day/ 7 hotels Italian journey, and was my favorite of all. It is located in beautiful Tuscan hills, but very accessible from the highway. It is best of both world: a beautiful Tuscan villa, redone top to bottom, with modern amenities. For me, it was just perfect choice. Communication before the arrival with the hotel was very prompt and efficient. I emailed requesting couple of restaurant reservations and they took care of it easily. I woke up to a postcard-perfect view of Tuscan country side. I loved the breakfast spread, however, they might have to increase the number of tables in the breakfast room, in case the hotel is fully booked. The food and service at the casual restaurant was impeccable. I highly recommend this hotel for someone who would like a Tuscan villa experience in modern setting.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CDNManagement, General Manager at COMO Castello Del Nero
Responded 17 Nov 2019
Dear Guests thank you so much for your kind revue and your nice comments. We are very proud to come "first" on your list of Italian hotels you visited during your Italian vacation. At the same time, we are very proud of our new look and feel since the Como Hotel and Resorts group has taken over Castello del Nero. Nature does all the rest and we are always very grateful for the beauty that we have all around us. We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Italy. Best regards Giuseppe Artolli
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$552 - US$836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castello del nero boutique hotel and spa, castello del nero boutique hotel tavarnelle val di pesa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceBarberino TavarnellleTavarnelle Val di Pesa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about COMO Castello Del Nero
Which popular attractions are close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Nearby attractions include Opera in The Kitchen (6.9 km), Badia a Passignano (5.4 km), and Pasta Fresca (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria di Casa Chianti, La Capannina Sul Lago, and Caffè Degli Amici.
Are there opportunities to exercise at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero have an airport shuttle?
Yes, COMO Castello Del Nero offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at COMO Castello Del Nero?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does COMO Castello Del Nero offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to COMO Castello Del Nero?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Barberino Val d'Elsa (1.6 km) and Monastero della Santissima Annunziata (7.7 km).