We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grecotel Filoxenia

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (448)
Room & Suite (115)
Dining (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 25 hotels in Kalamata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Filoxenia, the perfect Family Getaway in Kalamata. With gorgeous beach and crystal clear waters right in the front, and plenty to do within stroller-pushing distance along an exotic riviera with palm trees to Kalamata town, magnificent Filoxenia is the perfect family getaway. Located on the beachfront of Kalamata, under the magnificent Taygetos Mountain. The Messinian Gulf with its crystal clear azure-blue waters and 300 meters of smooth pebble beach is ideal for luxury holidays in the Peloponnese.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Internet
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Family
Languages Spoken
Greek
619Reviews20Q+A70Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 220
  • 214
  • 129
  • 37
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
clkarras wrote a review Nov 2023
Bellevue, Washington28 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
This hotel needs to be shut down. When you walk in, there is plastic bird dropping sheets all over the grounds from the sparrows and black mold all over the walls signifying a flood. The lights in the main lobby were off and all the display shelves empty. Gives off an eerie feeling. When we got to the desk, Marissa helped us. She was wonderful! When we checked in, we made a mistake on our reservation and needed to add a day to our stay which was no problem. Upon getting our room cards, we went to our rooms and we’re shocked. It didn’t match online photos at all. We went down to the lobby to look at other rooms but they all were terrible. When we checked out the spa, it was very empty, cold, and dirty. You can tell it was flooded and never repaired. The pool was ice cold and made weird noises. This place needs to get evaluated by the health department. Cockroaches were everywhere. The tile shook on the ground when walking which was not safe. The restaurant looked awful. We had to cancel our reservation and stay somewhere else. We feared that our things would get infested with bugs and black mold. The pictures are online are not honest. This place needs to close. Would’ve given 0 stars if I could. Pretty sure they are paying for high reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MGBV8 wrote a review Oct 2023
Ely, United Kingdom13 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed for a week at the Grecotel Filoxenia in October to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The hotel is sited on the outskirts of Kalamata and is very quiet and peaceful. We were lucky enough to upgrade to a deluxe room, thanks to the help of Marissa, with a view of the immaculate gardens and the sea in the distance. the room was excellent with a four post bed, large bathroom and great view. We were on a half board basis and the food was excellent. there was always something to suit all tastes. The staff were always polite, friendly and helpful. with a special mention to Antonis, the Maitre d' , and Georgis for making our Wedding Anniversary very special. There is a large pool with steamer recliners with umbrellas and the beach, although stony, has wooden walkways and lots of loungers and straw umbrellas as well as some trees for shade. It takes between 30 and 40 minutes to walk into Kalamata, however, the No 1 bus terminates at the hotel, runs every 15 minutes and costs 1.30 euros. My only suggestion would be an information book, in the room, to highlight all the hotel has to offer. Would thoroughly recommend the Grecotel Filoxenia if you want a really relaxing holiday.. Thank you to all the staff who made our holiday memorable. David and Glynis Jones.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from zacharoula meliou, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Dear David and Glynis , Thank you for your 'kind gift' of such a delightful review! Your kind comments are such a reward to our entire team! We are most grateful and look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
adamjohnedwards wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
We have just returned from 7 nights here and it was wonderful! A beautiful hotel with stunning scenery! The hotel and grounds are very well kept and managed, and the room was very well presented and cleaned daily excellently. 4th floor room with a balcony with stunning views. Very peaceful and calm atmosphere, all of the staff were very polite all over the hotel. We had breakfast included only as we like to try local restaurants when we travel but but there was a fantastic selection all fresh and a big selection to choose from. There is a lovely big pool area with sunbeds available - towels included. The hotel is located in a nice quiet location but its only a short walk along the sea front to local shops, restaurants and a lovely harbour. The sunsets here are stunning! lots of restaurants and bars located on the beaches along the front. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and area for a great holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from zacharoula meliou, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Dear Mr. Adam, Thank you for your 'kind gift' of such a delightful review! Your kind comments are such a reward to our entire team! We are most grateful and look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards , Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrea M wrote a review Oct 2023
14 contributions
If you want a beautiful beach, incredible outdoor pool, luxurious accommodations and a bountiful breakfast buffet: stay here! Convenient bus service right outside the gate. Walk to local beachside tavernas. Explore charming Kalamata.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from zacharoula meliou, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Hello from Grecotel Filoxenia , Thank you for your 'kind gift' of such a delightful review! Your kind comments are such a reward to our entire team! We are most grateful and look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind regards Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Georgia K wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
Super friendly staff, I would rate this resort 5 star , rooms are spacious and clean lots of towels ,staff are very welcoming , love this place definitely I will be back in Kalamata next year , food are delicious
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from zacharoula meliou, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 29 Jul 2023
Dear Mrs. Georgia , Thank you for your 'kind gift' of such a delightful review! Your kind comments are such a reward to our entire team! We are most grateful and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards , Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chryssa D wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
Very polite staff, especially at the restaurant. Not value for money though. The room was old and not very clean. The staff at the reception was not very helpful. No amenities at the bathroom- not even a hand soap. We mentioned that at the reception and the response we got was that all these are upon request!!!!We are members of the Grecotel privilege club but we never got the in-room welcome offer and the complimentary drinks- we asked at the reception but they didn’t have a clue about that. No priority check in - to the contrary we had to wait for more than 40 minutes to get into the room and the hotel was not even fully booked!!!When we asked for a late check out of one hour we didn’t get a response. The receptionist said that he will call back but never did. Beware of the offers in their website- surprisingly when we had to pay we realised that there are terms that we never knew about. The 20% discount at the spa cannot be combined with the hotel credit- this was not mentioned when we booked and nobody mentioned that exception until we had to pay. Nice location, the pool area and the beach are really good , excellent service at the spa- the therapist was very professional.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from zacharoula meliou, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 24 Jul 2023
Dear Mrs Chrysa , We would like to warmly thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday and for taking the time to share your firsthand experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you mentioned about the beautiful hotel's location the wonderful beach and the excellent spa and restaurant service. As our main purpose is to exceed the expectations, it deeply saddens us to know that we did not manage to do so. Regarding your valuable comments, we wish to inform you that all have been collected, analyzed and soon a long-term plan will take place as the nature of concern does not allow to take any action for this season. Kind Regards , Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jgifas wrote a review Jul 2023
Montvale, New Jersey415 contributions115 helpful votes
+1
We were in another hotel where ac was broken and it was 100 degrees We reached out to the filoxenia and they had rooms. We are so glad we moved! We had 2 rooms - one for us and one for our grown children. We both had balconies on the fourth floor. The rooms were lovely. Bathrooms great. They had a tub so room didn’t get drenched when taking a shower. They had robes and a safe. Just lovely. The service was excellent. We had lunch at the beach and lots of drinks. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas so you could have sun or shade. The water is heavenly. Beautiful pool- we didn’t go in. And we also ate at the restaurant. We didn’t do the buffet but food was great. The breakfast buffet was amazing. Meats and cheeses, pancakes with toppings. Eggs of many varieties and sausage and bacon. Toast. Coffee. Etc. We will go back for sure. The staff was great and we were able to get late checkout for one room allowing us more flexibility.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from zacharoula meliou, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 14 Jul 2023
Dear Mr. Gifas , Thank you for your 'kind gift' of such a delightful review! Your kind comments are such a reward to our entire team! We are most grateful and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NeilandBarbara wrote a review May 2023
Bromborough, United Kingdom3334 contributions739 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Olympia. We were allocated room 333 on the third floor with a nice side sea view. Check in was swift and professional and we were in our room within 20 minutes. Room . Fine for an overnight stay and with everything we needed, but it generally felt faded. All very clean and tidy and with a nice bottle of complimentary white wine. Fridge with 2 bottles of water. Spacious with plenty of storage. The wardrobe door was a bit of a struggle to slide across. Plenty of tv channels with BBC and Sky News. No tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom - reasonably spacious and with everything you need, but again somewhat faded. Pleasant pool area and pebbly beach. The sea looked beautiful and calm for a swim. The area to right looked very tatty. Dinner - We enjoyed a fine evening buffet meal. We sat outside overlooking the pool. The buffet choice was very nice and the table service was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the salads and seafood choices. Breakfast - very nice. Plenty of choices and excellent coffee. Overall - the rooms are a bit faded for a 4 star hotel, but the facilities are pleasant, the food is nice and the staff are excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ZACHAROULA MELIOU, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 27 May 2023
Dear Guest, All the team members and hotel's management thank you for taking the time to write and share your wonderful review of your recent stay to Grecotel Filoxenia. We always strive to keep our guests pleased since our main asset is the sincere, warm hospitality trying to accommodate all guests’ requests and we are glad that - based on your valuable words - to know that we have achieved that. Your nice words, really strengthen our efforts in order to continue providing the highest level of services. Receiving positive comments like this, is a great boost to our overall functioning and morale and we truly appreciate your recognition. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We all look forward to welcoming you back. Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
A G wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
I wouldn't normally write reviews but was moved to do so by the exceptional service that I received from Chef Athanasios Moukos. Despite being a coeliac for some time when booking I didn't really think through the half-board buffet arrangement for meals. Buffets increase the risk of cross-contamination between dishes but in this case, each dish had its own serving implements which diners respected. High-risk items such as the breads and desserts were displayed on their own islands. However, there was no allergen labelling of dishes but Chef Athanasios came out from his busy kitchen every evening and took his time to talk me through, in English, each dish and explained which did or did not contain gluten and offered to adapt any dishes in the kitchen where that was possible. Gluten-free bread and muffins were provided and Chef even went to the trouble of adapting desserts specially for me on a couple of occasions. Chef Athanasios simply considered that he was doing his job but for me, it meant that I had a relaxing and stress-free stay. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Dear ag659, Warm Greetings from Grecotel Filoxenia! Thank you for writing and sharing such a kind review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent experience in our Resort. We are delighted you found our service exceptional and especially you recognized the care and professionalism of our Chef. We have communicated all your kind words to Mr. Moukos as well as to the Management. We will be happy to welcome you again in the future. Yours truly, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Womble422 wrote a review Oct 2022
London572 contributions228 helpful votes
+1
We stayed 3 night after putting our boat to bed for the winter. We paid about £135 a night. Our “side view of the sea” was amazing. Much better than we expected. We were on the 1st floor. Higher up would have been even better. The room had a very creaky bed and none of tbe furniture matched. Our bed was a 4 poster but with no curtains. Balcony nice but very close to next door’s - higher up they have screens between We like a bath so no problem with the bathroom. Pool - we only tried the outdoor one. It was cooler than the sea. We had lying out beds on tbe beach but they were the standard mesh ones, not the thick cushioned ones shown in the hotel pictures. Lounger chairs round pool had some padding. Towels provided every day as you wanted them. So I would give this a 5 if it wasn’t for the bed. Also, we noticed that the hotel was offering free 1/2 board for stays of 3 or more nights. We enquired and were given it. The cost would be €30 per person. This is breakfast and buffet dinner. The first night was a disaster. We went early (730) as the reception lady said that Greeks eat late. We got caught up with 2 coach loads of elderly Greeks so the queue was awful. There was a big salad bar but mainly with separate ingredients- eg tomato, pepper, cucumber. Lots of dips and some dolma, cheese, salami. Same each night. Hot food was a mixture, same fish (perch) each night - in a different sauce. Chicken, meat balls, pasta. One night there was octopus (very good) another squid. It was ok but bland and not that hot. Breakfast was nice. Lots of salad and fresh fruit plus hot food - again not very hot. Lunch snacks were expensive - double or triple what you pay in a local taverna eg €14 for Greek salad, €14 for a club sandwich. There was no carafe wine and teb cheapest bottle was €18 So again, it was a 3 not a 5 for food and drink. I would stay again as it is a lovely location. But I would eat out rather than pay for 1/2 board. As it was free / include. we ate in the hotel. I wouldn’t pay €30 per person per day. We ate out locally for €30 -€60 for 2 including wine - much nicer food.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from George Kalantzis, Guest Services / Front Office at Grecotel Filoxenia
Responded 11 Oct 2022
Dear Womble422, Greetings from Kalamata & Filoxenia Hotel! Please allow us to share our gratitude for such a kind and thorough review of your recent experience with us. We are glad we offered a lovely experience overall which made you wanting to stay here again. We are very sorry for the incidents you mentioned during your meals which we already examine carefully in order to be avoided from happening in the future. We wish you all the best! Yours truly, Grecotel Filoxenia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kalamata area.
PRICE RANGE
€113 - €179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
filoxenia hotel kalamata
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Filoxenia Hotel
LOCATION
GreecePeloponneseMessenia RegionKalamata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
188
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRECOTEL FILOXENIA - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Kalamata, Greece) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grecotel Filoxenia
Which popular attractions are close to Grecotel Filoxenia?
Nearby attractions include Victoria G. Karelias Collection of Greek Traditional Costumes (3.8 km), Archaeological Museum of Messenia (4.1 km), and The Church of Agioi Apostoloi (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grecotel Filoxenia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Notias, Therapeutirion tsipouradiko, and Ta Rolla.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Grecotel Filoxenia have airport transportation?
Yes, Grecotel Filoxenia offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grecotel Filoxenia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grecotel Filoxenia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Grecotel Filoxenia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ancient Messini (12.8 km).
Does Grecotel Filoxenia have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.