We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sol Cayo Guillermo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Sol Cayo Guillermo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,827 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,698: English reviews
Start your review of Sol Cayo Guillermo
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

A lot of people are a little down when they first arrive here because their idea of the place, the image in their heads, bears little or no resemblance to the reality. Truth is, the hotel is more than a little tired. In need of more than a little TLC. But, after a couple of days relaxing in the warm...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cubatam2015
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Ugly - room was a disaster. Maid service only occurred 3 days out of 7. Towels were not replaced and those put on ground were just hung up again. Sheets and bedspreads were filthy and not replaced. Beds were hard as rocks and pillow cases dirty as well. We ran out of toilet paper and had to ask multiple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ed n
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from sol Cayo guillermo two days ago. I've been to Cuba several times before, and this is the worst hotel by far. It's such a shame because it has the potential to be wonderful. Cute bungalow rooms. The beach and grounds are reasonably maintained with Some wear and tear, but our room was terrible. We first discovered our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lap222133
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Dear lap222133, I am truly sorry for falling short of your expectations. My deepest apologies for not providing you a positive holiday experience as many clients have received in these days. All our rooms are safe, some of them have a chain to close the patio door but it is secure, the only thing you need is close it well...

Whitburn, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I travelled with my husband and 3 year old daughter. Overall we had a brilliant time with a few 'niggles'. Check in was quick and when we arrived at our room and opened the doors we were met by a gorgeous ocean view. The room was one that had not yet been renovated yet but sufficient and a good size...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becca K
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Dear Becca K, I want start my reply to your comments with something I read and it is very important to clarify and it is about being closing in December. We are not going to close in December. That is the information we have at this moment. we maybe will close for renovations in 2018 but we don't have that...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hi , we are glad we had sun and a beautiful beach , our room was excellent with the view. Ok so here is the bad stuff, The cleaners came to our room 1 time in a week to make bed and clean! when I say clean I mean sweep and make the bed . they did not clean toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nancy22cowgirl
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Dear nancy22cowgirl, we really appreciate you have taken part of your time to post your review on tripadvisor, we enjoy having feedback from our clients. All the time I say to my managers we can't be afraid to receive a complain because they are showing us when is our weakness and you are giving us the opportunity to fix the...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been to Cuba 4 times now and this resort is by far one of the best. The food was great, the people are amazing and the beaches are spectacular!!!! Make sure you do the Horseback riding (only $10 pesos for an hour)..... If you are looking for a quiet resort for your family vacation, this is the place...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank samlovescuba2017
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Dear samlovescuba2017, We are very happy to read that you had a very enjoyable vacation with our team. Thank you very much for your generous comments on your recent stay with us. Thank you very much for posting them on this site and for giving us your opinions about Sol Cayo Guillermo. We truly hope to see you again in...

Frimley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Personally for me, I really didn't enjoy the hotel whatsoever. I found it grubby and over crowded. The room felt dirty, and I never felt comfortable in there. What miffed me the most was the sports & activities. It didn't matter what we went to do, it was always closed. What I will say though is it's on an incredible...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eveywonder86
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Dear Jason E, Thank you for taking a time to review your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry for falling short of your expectations, please, accept my apologies for failing on providing you with a positive holiday experience. Thank you for your compliments to the beach. We encourage you to come back. It would be a huge pleasure...

saskatoon saskatchewan canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

1) The water is too blue 2) The sand is too white 3) The beach is too long 4) The sun is too warm 5) The drinks are too cold 6) The staff are too helpful, friendly and beautiful Obviously, we did not find too much to complain about :) This is the beach I have been looking for my...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank tropigirl9
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Dear tropigirl9, WOW! I loved this comment and the tittle. Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are very glad to know we have been able to provide you with another fantastic holiday experience. We will certainly share your remarks with the staff, especially with the ones you have been kind enough to mention by name. Your comments...

Cornwall, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just came back from Sol Cayo Guillermo (March 12-19, 2017). This was our second visit to this resort; we previously visited this resort in March 2016. We booked an Ocean view room this year, and were very happy with the room and the location, we had 2 beds + an extra cot was in our room. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RushFan
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Dear RushFan, First of all Thank you very much for have choosing us to enjoy your holidays for second time. We have enjoyed reading your comments. Thank you very much for reviewing your positive experiences on this site. It was a pleasure for us to have provided you the magic of Melia Hotels International by Sol Cayo Guillermo. We are...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time at Sol Cayo Guillermo and we loved it. The resort is right on the ocean and the atmosphere is wonderful. All the staff are great and the resort seems to cater to young families, so there were lots of kids around that really added to the charm. The beach was so beautiful! The pace at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul M
Nelido Arsenio C, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Dear Paul M, First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it, as you said our staff is great! We think they are our asset, beach too, they make the difference and they make worth you have spent your holiday in Sol Cayo Guillermo.Thank you very...

5,839 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5792)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (831)
Viewed
Room/Suite (505)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (78)
Viewed
Dining (348)
Viewed
Bathroom (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1649)
Viewed
View from Room (229)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
7:57
Videos (13)
Viewed
Other (2057)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
21.2 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,032 reviews
21.5 km away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.7 km away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#4 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,020 reviews
1.3 km away
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
#5 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
454 reviews
31.6 km away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four Stars All Inclusive Resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo,Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons.268 rooms: 135 standard, 96 Standard Ocean View, 37 Superior Standard 3 Dining Restaurants (Buffet),4 bars.An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Address: Jardines Del Rey | Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: €129 - €288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sol Cayo Guillermo staff and other travellers.
297 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (297)

Questions? Get answers from Sol Cayo Guillermo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the 1300 block if you don't want a room with giant cockroaches”
  • Cockroach
 of 5 bubbles lap222133, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“1200 section was very nice view of ocean, second floor ,Do NOT go to the 100 section it was dirty and stinky”
 of 5 bubbles nancy22cowgirl, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are renovated and very nice. The 900 building is close to everything!”
 of 5 bubbles samlovescuba2017, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay out of the 200s”
 of 5 bubbles tropigirl9, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Oceanview rooms are wonderful, but you need to request one in advance and there is an additional charge of 5 CUC per person per day.”
 of 5 bubbles paulmJ5673MA, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5