We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Gap Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for South Gap Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 727: English reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a trip with friends and had a very mixed bag. The staff were awesome, the location is near restaurants and not terribly far from the beach (though note there is not beach access from the hotel itself), and we loved the pool area. However, the rooms that are not on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel M
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you found our staff to be awesome and that you loved our pool area. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise from the karaoke bar. Our Junior Suites and the Superior Studios on the first floor are definitely quieter rooms but I do understand...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

It felt like I was in a club. I was there for one night so maybe I got unlucky. Otherwise it was fine - welcoming staff, comfy bed. But I just didn't get any sleep, which was really really frustrating!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank londontravellover364
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry that you were disturbed by the noise from the nightclubs on your first and only night at the hotel. However I am happy that you were pleased with everything else. I do wish to mention we do have ground...

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent time there. Staff was helpful and friendly. For example, Lana in housekeeping, Avery from maintenance, Analee front desk along with Tennille and Tashawn and Carl from security were all helpful and very cooperative. There are no words to example how I was treated. The staff was wonderful and I know anyone staying at South Gap and lucky enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was excellent and our staff were helpful and friendly. We will be sure to let them know how pleased you were with the service they offered. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Hotel was what I thought was situated in an ideal location - however we had an early night on our first night there only to be kept awake from the LOUD Karoke and Live Band then party from 10pm to 4am only to realise that it is every night. My partner said it felt like the room was moving from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreablackman
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations due to the karaoke and the music which kept you awake throughout the night. I do wish to mention we do have rooms on the first floor and on the pool deck level which...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the south gap hotel a few weeks ago and I definitely would come back and stay again. All the staff were so friendly and welcoming. I had to arrived earlier than normally planned and I was worried I wasn't able to get a room for an extra night but the member of staff who helped sort it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeganBriggs-
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and your kind comments. I am very happy to hear that our staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you were pleased with your room and the amenities. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. We are very happy the noise was...

Reviewed 8 December 2016

Went here with my lady to celebrate 5 years together and it was worthwhile. It was an intimate experience. Quaint, with a great staff and a bartender with a very gifted hand. The pool is good, it has warmers, I think, I actually never experienced any cold water there. Having the Kitchenette was great so you can just prepare your...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desmond W
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on your experience at the South Gap Hotel. I am so delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and that our hotel and our staff were instrumental in making your celebration memorable. We hope to have you back in the near future and take part in more of your...

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Lovely value for money hotel in the heart of St Lawrence Gap. As you would expect there was noise from the many music venues into the night but a small price to pay for some where located so conveniently. Unfortunately during our stay there were a number of British aircrew who were enjoying their down time within the hotel, including...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frankie M
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found our location convenient despite the noise from the clubs. We are happy you were pleased with the hotel and the amenities offered. I do wish to mention we will be closing for full renovations from April 01st 2017...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The Dover beach hotel was in s great location near the beach. The hotel is going through a bit of a referb as it is looking tiered. The room we had was very nice with a lounge and a small kitchen and a bedroom the bathroom had a shower which the water trickled out had to mention it a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
shropshire
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here in November 2016. The hotel is right slap bang in the middle of St Lawrence Gap on the main strip but don't let that put you off as its actually quite quiet. There is a karaoke bar opposite the hotel which is open until the early hours, we did not hear anything because we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank silver_fox_hodson
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I can confirm our Junior suites which are located on the ground floor/pool deck level are known to be quiet rooms and do limit the noise form the clubs at night. We also have Superior Studios which are located on the first floor/reception level...

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we had seen pictures of the sea view on the website and it looked really nice.besides the sea view and the staff it had nothing else going for it! We only booked one night as our return flight from the Caribbean was leaving from barbados and to be honest one night was more than enough!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bushra A
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience of the noise and the issue with your bathroom, we are sorry you endured this during your one night stay...

854 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (556)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (82)
Viewed
View from Room (68)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (186)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (255)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Junior Suite (39)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (35)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite Upper Floor (37)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Superior Studio (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 km away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
587 reviews
0.9 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,906 reviews
0.2 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
564 reviews
3.2 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.3 km away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: €107 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, West Indies and Priceline so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Gap Hotel staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Georgetown, Guyana
2 months ago
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from South Gap Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st Floor suites - Oceanside”
 of 5 bubbles MrKitsilano, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in a superior room on the second floor but would recommend the one bedroom units on the pool and restaurant level”
 of 5 bubbles _l_j_lum, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“book a room away from the front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles bfeaks, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“1 bedroom suite on the top floor has a great view”
 of 5 bubbles kimberlyp91, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“choose rooms on the first or ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles FriendlyMani2ba, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5