We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Hastings BB15156 Barbados
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$340
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/22
Expedia.com
US$340
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/22
Trip.com
US$283
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/22
TravelocityUS$340
Destinia.comUS$423
Orbitz.comUS$340
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1391)
Dining (211)
Pool & Beach (47)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 24/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 24/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Hastings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The SoCo Hotel, located in the heart of Barbados’ south coast, offers an adult all-inclusive holiday in a boutique environment. Ideal for the discerning traveller looking for a modern, high quality hotel facility, The SoCo Hotel provides an uncluttered, chic holiday. Great food and drinks, friendly service, and one of the best views in Barbados are all part of The SoCo Hotel experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Adults only
Concierge
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
1181Reviews212Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 813
  • 223
  • 81
  • 27
  • 38
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
annie_corrieo wrote a review Yesterday
Northop, United Kingdom9 contributions11 helpful votes
SoCo Barbados is undoubtedly the hotel of choice for any discerning traveller who enjoys an intimate holiday experience on this beautiful island…it is a small hotel with a very big heart! The beachfront location has perfect views from every room… a joy to wake up to each morning. The kitchen staff produce delicious a la carte meals every day… and the bar staff, headed up by the fabulous Michelle ( don’t miss her Rum Tasting) have a great list of Caribbean cocktails round the pool. Without a doubt though, the entire staff deserve the highest praise. These are the people who make or break a holiday… and we raise our glasses and toast you all… CHEERS SoCo 🥂 you gave us another wonderful holiday! Annie and Alan Oldfield Wales UK
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sophia J wrote a review 23 Sep
1 contribution
I live in Barbados and wanted something different for my other half birthday I choose SOCO and it was the best money spend the room was great the food was excellent and the staff friendly as my other half didn't eat a lot of things the chef's made sure what ever he ate was fantastic and the bar manager michelle was fantastic and as for the staff sheba ,kim,cyle,thank u all for a fantastic staycation
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kevin wrote a review 4 Sep
Swansea, United Kingdom1 contribution5 helpful votes
+1
A warm welcome upon arrival , a swift check in then taken to our room . We stayed in room 202 even though we requested 6 months earlier a room on the 3rd or 4th floors .The rooms are clean and as shown in the photographs however I would agree that some upgrades are due particularly in the bathroom/shower area . The room does have a fridge which disappointingly doesn’t get stocked ! Additionally the toiletries are very basic and not replaced . The hotel is ideally located at the end of the boardwalk with beautiful views and sunsets .There is only one restaurant , however the food is of a very high standard . The breakfast remained the same throughout our stay but adequate choice .The lunch and evening menus rotated after every 2 days with plenty of choice. Personally we would to thank the staff because these are a real asset to this hotel , a big shout out to the bar staff Michelle ,Shane & Anderson . At the restaurant we had wonderful service from everyone but to name a few it’s Sheba, Michelle and Rita apologies if we have missed everybody . Please be aware the hotel shuts down early 10.30pm with an early rise . Thank you for a wonderful time Kev & Julia
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Vandra Alleyne, Owner at The Soco Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kev and Julia, Thank you for choosing the Soco Hotel, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is our biggest asset and appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge them we will ensure we do the same. In regard to upgrades and maintaining the hotel this is a year-round project we are constantly working on. I have forwarded your comments to the team. Thank you for your feedback and choosing us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew S wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Me and my wife came here in March for a combination of cricket and a friends birthday. Hotel was lovely, beach was beautiful, food was really good and of course the bar was good but most of all the hotel staff made it unforgettable. Special mention to Michelle's rum tasting session and Shane's bar tending skills and tune selection. We'd definately come again, the staff elevated a lovely location and hotel into a great place to stay and would recommend to anyone looking for a personal touch to their stay in Barbados.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vandra Alleyne, Owner at The Soco Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Andrew Thank you for choosing The Soco Hotel. It has been our pleasure to host you during the cricket season and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the acknowledgment of our staff members. I will be sure to express your gratitude to them. Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are ready to book, we will be happy to welcome you back to the The Soco Hotel and Barbados.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angel T wrote a review Aug 2022
49 contributions25 helpful votes
We arrived at 3 pm on a Sunday & was greeted by tamika. She's was so kind & friendly. We were provided drinks and we asked about food, as we were hungry after an 8 hr flight. We were told the kitchen was closed, which was weird b/c at other all inclusive there's food 24/7. They accommodated us and made burgers and fries that were delicious! We went to our rooms, 1 was hot as the a/c couldn't keep up and the other has missing outlets covers, non-working bathroom lights and a dirty shower. The rooms could definitely use an update but the beds were comfortable and oh what a view from the balconies! A few days it did rain and water collected at the door and puddled. The food is good but super limited. Tou get 5 options per meal and breakfast is the same everyday. They ran out of apples and removed the apple pancakes so it went down to 4 items everyday. Lunch is great but limited too. There's no a/c or enclosed dining area so at night the bugs are bothersome and it's very humid. The ladies there don't seem very friendly. The ones who brought this place up was Michelle and Shane from the bar. They're super friendly and seem to enjoy work! Michelle walks around the pool to check on you and always smiles! The blue chairs at the pool made us itchy and we felt bug bites. One of the guests said he thought bugs were coming from the trees and bushes but everyone had bites on their legs. The beach is pretty but very small ans rocky. A few chairs are placed on the beach but super old and dirty. Best bet is to walk to browns Beach. The all inclusive does include drinks but you ontl get breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Swimming by the pool and going to the beach makes you hungry... they could have had fruit and waters available. Do not consider this an all inclusive resort...limited options, limited eating times, limited quantities...too expensive for what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vandra Alleyne, Guest Services / Front Office at The Soco Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Angel T Thank you for your review, we regret that we were not able to meet your standards, however, please allow me the opportunity to clarify some of your comments. We provide all inclusive, our meals are breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. All beverages are included, some premium brands and specialty foods do come at an additional cost, however this is advertised on the menu for ease of reference, Once again, we appreciate all comments provided as we use them to improve on our services. Please note your review has been forwarded to our team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M H wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions5 helpful votes
My holiday at the Soco was fabulous,i had made friends with the other guest due to a lovely Rumtasting that we had one morning by Michelle in the Bar this was so much fun we learned about the Rum,history of barbados etc.... it was just brilliant, BTW and yes Michelle I bought the Mount Gay XO as you suggested. Food The Chefs were great they always new what I wanted and how to prepare it for me. Special mention goes out to Michelle at the Bar for that fabulous morning, and the lovely girls in the restaurant. Anytime you decide to go to the Soco ask for Michelle Rumatsting ,we decided at the Rum tasting that's she's like a pocket rocket so that's what we called her. We are back in barbados but this time at another hotel as we are on business ,but Soco hotel will be our no1 for leisure and friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sital h wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Just finished a ten day stay here at Soco Hotel, Barbados and cannot recommend this hotel enough. The staff are so wonderful and really made our holiday. The bar staff even did a rum tasting session so guests would experience true Barbados. The food is 5* with the chef who did everything perfectly and exactly how we requested. The cleaning staff are fantastic. The care, attention and kindness of the staff made our holiday even more special. -Sital
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
SunTravel wrote a review Jul 2022
Florida2 contributions7 helpful votes
We checked into the Soco Hotel on 30 Mar 2022. Our experience was nothing short of awful. - We tested negative for Covid, but were still placed under quarantine and were instructed not to leave the room. - We were informed we would receive complimentary room service. However, we were not given a menu and the telephone in our room was not functional. We reported this to management several times, but it was not fixed. - Because our telephone did not work, we had to leave the room to go to the front desk to both remind them the phone did not work, and to request food service. We were then chastised for leaving the room. - I was 10 weeks pregnant at the time, and on the first morning - having not received a menu and no one sitting at the front desk, We went to the restaurant to get breakfast. A manager later came to the room to remind us that we were not allowed to leave the room for any reason. I again requested a working telephone and access to food and drink. - The hotel was very dirty, not maintained, and sits right next to a very noisy road. We took a video (unable to load the video to this site). Persistent honking that did not cease day or night; there was no “rest” or sleeping for us. - Even though this hotel mandated masks for guests (understandable), many of the staff did not wear a mask or wore it under their chin. We took several pictures of staff not following their own mandates. - We paid over $1750 to stay here for three nights. We certainly had an expectation that it would be clean and a positive experience for us overall. On the second day of our 3 night stay, we made the decision to depart. The lack of access to food, clean drinking water, no telephone, and downright mean nature of the staff left us no other choice. My husband flagged down a staff member who was able to call a Manager not on property. When advised of the conditions causing us to check out early, she apologized and offered a refund for the remaining two nights of our stay. They never processed the refund. We followed up directly with the hotel and with Hotels.com (how we booked the reservation) and The Soco Hotel refused to respond either to phone call or to email. We’ve opened a case under my AMEX Platinum card also. To date, we have yet to receive compensation for the early departure or any response to our awful experience. To make matters worse we were on our honeymoon, yet were treated like we were inmates in a prison. (And I do not make that comment to be dramatic - I was in tears.) AVOID this hotel. I will update this review if they decide to respond to us, the booking agency, or Amex to make this right.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Travis B wrote a review Jul 2022
14 contributions10 helpful votes
We just came from a week at Sandals so we were coming off a great vacation. The website does not share what you should expect from this resort. All inclusive does not mean all inclusive with a few items. I will start with the positives. The staff are awesome. Very friendly. From the moment you walk in everyone is cheerful and smiling. We were not happy with our original room as it was right behind the check in desk. You could hear phone conversations and the cars on the street. They did move us to a higher floor. The food was good but very limited for each meal. 3-4 options for apps 3-4 choices for entree. The liquor selection was bottom shelf and I mean really bottom shelf. No wine or champagne at the bar. Only select wines with dinner. They didn’t even have cranberry juice. That is not the fault of staff at all. They did the best they could. The beach was covered in seaweed, again not their fault. It is still on the Atlantic side so it is rough. We went to the boat yard each day to enjoy a gorgeous beach. They didn’t even put bottled water in the room. You had to ask and they gave you two bottles. There were a few other couples that were happy with the hotel. We would not stay here again, again, not the fault of staff at all. They and the food were the two good spots about this hotel. Special shout out to Michelle, Shane, and the taller Michelle (that’s what she goes by!)!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Paul W wrote a review Jul 2022
Lasswade, United Kingdom1 contribution
The hotel needs a lot of TLC, the rooms seriously need it, most of the staff are really pleasant especially the bar man Shane and Michelle in the restaurant, don't trust any of the men on the beach selling things definitely not to be trusted, I advise on car hire as you get to see all of the island at your own pace
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$286 - US$540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosChrist Church ParishHastings
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Soco Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Soco Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Chamberlain Bridge (0.3 km), Mallalieu Motor Collection & Car Museum (0.2 km), and Hastings Farmers Market (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Soco Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Soco Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Soco Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Soco Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Soco Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salt Cafe, The ArtSplash Café, and Buzo Osteria Italiana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Soco Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Soco Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Soco Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to The Soco Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting George Washington House (1.1 km), Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (0.8 km), and Barbados Garrison (1.0 km).
Does The Soco Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.