We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Bay Barbados

Save
Share
Garrison Historic Area, Hastings 15156 Barbados
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$665
US$428
View deal
SAVE US$237
WIOL.com
FindHotel
US$616
View deal
PricelineUS$428
Booking.comUS$428
getaroom.comUS$665
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (2278)
360
Panoramas (24)
Pool & Beach (649)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 26/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sugar Bay Barbados
Updated 26/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Hastings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Sugar Bay Barbados is a newly renovated, 138 key, All-Inclusive Resort located on the majestic south coast of Barbados. Sited in the UNESCO World Heritage Garrison Historic Area, this property straddles a magnificent stretch of crystal clear turquoise waters. The lagoon itself is a fantastic swimming area with gentle waves lapping at white and pink sandy shores, sheltered by rows of coconut trees swaying in the trade-winds. Sugar Bay is not only two minutes outside of Bridgetown it is also right on the liveliest coast on island offering easy access to many different activities, places to see and dining opportunities. The Boho-Chic style property offers 5 restaurants* (Sizzle Steakhouse & UMI Japanese included), 5 bars (Including a Pub) with Premium Alcohol Drinks Free. Further, excellent kids facilities, lush tropical gardens, spa, Crossfit stylized gym, hair-salon, arcade and so much more is just waiting for you to visit and explore this island in the sun! *Our newest addition Blush Cafe, the "most instagramable cafe in Barbados" opened in January of 2021! Be sure to checkout their offering which is a limited part of the Resort package!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Game room
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
1540Reviews758Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,031
  • 365
  • 99
  • 24
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anna-Lee A wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Amazing service! We have never experienced such a great level of service anywhere in the world! Every single staff member (without exception) were professional, courteous, welcoming, and willing to go above and beyond to ensure your needs are met. The facility was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated with a beautiful beach, pools and lovely communal areas to relax. The dining experience was amazing with top class chefs and a huge assortment available for all meals. The food from the À la carte menus at the specialty restaurants is also amazing. Truly a brilliant experience and a wonderfully memorable stay. Take a bow Sugar Bay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sylvie4406 wrote a review Jan 2021
New York City, New York12 contributions6 helpful votes
Although we stayed here for mandatory quarantine reasons and were restricted to our rooms for 7 days (!) while awaited our covid test results, the Sugar Bay staff were extremely hospitable, accommodating, and made the experience extremely manageable. We stayed in an Ocean View room which was beautiful (and much needed as we couldn't step outside ourselves), and we greatly enjoyed the balcony space. Great variety of food and good quality for an all-inclusive. They've also been helpful with scheduling covid tests, taxi bookings, etc. Once we were released, we were able to see the beautifully open-air hotel for what it was- lots of space, variety of seating and eating areas, and of course, the beach. We loved how integrated it felt with the beach and good amount of space compared to some other hotels. We hope to be back one day under normal circumstances, but were very glad to be staying here as it made the quarantine period much more pleasant that it could have been otherwise! Thank you to the staff for making us feel comfortable, welcomed, and safe.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jh321 wrote a review Jan 2021
Bridgetown, Barbados4 contributions6 helpful votes
I can’t say enough good things about this hotel, especially in these very difficult times! We stayed for a short break, and I only wish we could have stayed longer! We will be back! Rooms were small but very comfortable, with lovely ‘White Company’ products. Had all amenities needed, fabulous shower, great water pressure, kettle, fridge (with bottled water), etc. The hotel was very quiet, and as a result of this and Covid, there was just one restaurant and bar available, and wasn’t the buffet just ‘a la carte’. Whilst the menu was smallish, it was varied (included some sushi/sashimi as the Umi restaurant closed, and a delicious ‘like butter’ steak), but all tasted great. Loved the Pad Thai. It felt like a lot of effort was put into providing great quality over simply going for lots of choice. We really enjoyed all our meals (and I’m fussy!), and they serve a great rum punch! But overwhelmingly what we enjoyed the most was the wonderful staff. Without fail we did not come across one person that didn’t greet us with a smile, and do all they could to make our stay memorable. I’ve been visiting the island all my life, and love the people here, but the staff at Sugar Bay really are wonderful. They are working under such difficult conditions, and we really appreciated all their friendly efforts! This truly was a special few days thanks to them. Finally a big mention for the Sunday night entertainment by ‘Virgo’. They were great and even with the curfew at 5pm start time, made it a great evening. We can’t wait to return! Thank you Sugar Bay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Wayne Hodgson wrote a review Jan 2021
Saint James Parish, Barbados25 contributions11 helpful votes
Booked in here between apartments for a short 5/6 days all inclusive stay. Very nice rooms, food was great. Location right on the beach and great spa and facilities. Only thing stopping 5 stars was the issue at check out. Hotel was less than half full, asked the day before if we could have a late check out and staff said it wouldn’t be a problem as our room was booked out but we had to come down in the morning to ask. No problem. Came down in the morning and they categorically told us no, we had to be out by 11am as someone was going in to that room. We challenged this and said the hotel was half empty and they stated that they were using all the rooms but had booked ours out. Bonkers, anyway, didn’t ruin our stay, just left a little bad taste in our mouths when we left. If all inclusive resorts are your thing then this really is a great place to stay. It suited us for our short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
GaynorRay wrote a review Jan 2021
England62 contributions54 helpful votes
After a long flight, we arrived at the hotel on the 2nd Jan at around 6pm, we were told to go straight to our room to fill out some forms and that we must wait for the bellboy to come and collect our forms. We waited for an hour and no one came, we called reception to tell them we were hungry but we were told that the kitchen closes at 7 pm and there was no food (no apology), they advised us we had water in our fridge to drink and they would send us a croissant up to our room. The second-night things did get better for a short time as we were then able to use the quarantine facility of the small pool but this stopped after 1 day and for the rest of the time we were not allowed to leave our room due to an announcement from the ministry of health. Our first room was dirty and loud and our bedding smelt damp and fusty so after complaining they kindly upgraded us to a sea view room which was really nice and clean and I would recommend choosing a beachfront room if quarantining as you might be there a while. We were lucky and our private tests at the hotel came back after 50 hours but a lot of other people's did not. We had emailed in advance to ask about the private covid test special offer that they were advertising as half price if staying 7 nights or more and we were told we needed to book this at the reception when we arrived at the hotel which of course when we arrived they said we were not eligible and gave some excuse saying that we got the room at a reduced rate, I advised them that we used Tripadvisor comparison tool and booked the best rate and they said that made us not eligible. Everything at this hotel closes at 7 pm. You cannot get drinks or food after 7 pm, they advised this was due to the island curfew of 9 pm. The pool bar is closed, the two speciality restaurants are closed so there is only a very small limited buffet. In quarantine, food was delivered to our room but this was usually cold by the time it arrived. Once we got out of quarantine we did think the food and cocktails were of good quality for an all-inclusive. The beach here is very nice and we liked the look of the resort, we could imagine that it might be a nice resort to visit in different times. The restaurant and bar staff were very nice and friendly as was one of the women on reception who worked the evening shift. On the last day, our flight was not until 7 pm so we asked the resort if they would allow us to keep the room until 5 pm so that we could enjoy our last day on the beach, especially as we did not get dinner on the first evening and we had paid for all inclusive but was only given a croissant and water on the first night. We were told 'no' very firmly, that we would have to pay extra and they would only let us have the room until 3 pm. The hotel was empty so it would have been nice if they would have done this as a gesture given that we had a reduced service the entire holiday so we had to cut our final day short to go back and get showered at 2 pm, we sat by the pool looking up to our room and no one came to clean it so the hotel could have done a nice thing for us but they chose not to and this is what I believe lets them down. I had believed it was a family-run boutique hotel but this is not the case and some of the reception staff do not seem pleased to be working there and would certainly benefit from some customer service training. In all, we did manage to have a nice time even though some of the reception staff were rude and spiteful, the hotel looks very pretty and if it wasn't for the way that we were treated by some of the reception staff then I would have returned again but I think I will choose a friendlier hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: It was loud in the pool view room but quiet in the beachfront room
See more room tips
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabrina Mendes, Owner at Sugar Bay Barbados
Responded 15 Jan 2021
Hello Chloe2820, thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. With some investigation we found that you didn't book the COVID test special, so unfortunately the 50% off the test could not be offered. We have taken note of the feedback you have shared. We hope you will continue to visit Barbados and hope you will stay with us again sometime in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$345 - US$767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
amaryllis beach hotel hastings, amaryllis beach hastings, amaryllis beach resort barbados, amaryllis barbados
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Amaryllis Beach Resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosChrist Church ParishHastings
NUMBER OF ROOMS
138
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sugar Bay Barbados
Which popular attractions are close to Sugar Bay Barbados?
Nearby attractions include Barbados Garrison (0.4 km), Chamberlain Bridge (0.4 km), and Mallalieu Motor Collection & Car Museum (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sugar Bay Barbados?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Sugar Bay Barbados?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sugar Bay Barbados?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sugar Bay Barbados?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sugar Bay Barbados?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buzo Osteria Italiana, Mama Mia Italian Deli & Pizzeria, and Sizzle Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sugar Bay Barbados?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Sugar Bay Barbados have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sugar Bay Barbados offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sugar Bay Barbados?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sugar Bay Barbados offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sugar Bay Barbados?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.