We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)

Save
Share
31 Esplanade On The Seafront, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1BQ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$88
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Royal Clarence Hotel is a family hotel located on the seafront in Burnham-on-Sea. Children are welcome. Families can enjoy uninterrupted views across Bridgwater Bay to Wales and the North Devon coast. Our 17 en-suite bedrooms accommodate guests in a mix of single, twin, double, triple and family rooms. We have budget, standard and sea view rooms to suit most pockets. We also have 2 brand new holiday apartments accommodating up to 2 guests in each.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Hiking
Kids stay free
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Paid public parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Aerobics offsite
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
288Reviews7Q+A59Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 84
  • 43
  • 24
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lynne T wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions
Travelled extensively, worst place I've ever had to pay for!!! Accommodation dirty! Indoor 'swimming pool' next to our bed. (Plumbing issue??) Cannot emphasise strongly enough how bad it was! Facilities were sticky to touch. Rustic as an adjective way misued! Avoid!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick and Ellie Richardson, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)
Responded 27 Sep 2022
Hi Lynnet, You have left a review of another hotel. I do not have any indoor "swimming pool" leaks, whichever hotel did I am sure they would appreciate you letting them know. I do not use the word Rustic in any of my hotel descriptions anywhere so this confirms you have left a review of the wrong hotel. And I have not had anyone called Lynnet stay here either! Please can you remove this review which is for another hotel, cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
melanier809 wrote a review Sep 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
Love this hotel. Always receive a warm friendly welcome. rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. Each time we visit there are more improvements to the hotel. It looks so modern whilst retaining the quaint 0ld-fashoined air of a late 18th century building. Great value for money too.Can't wait to visit again. Always come home feeling relaxed and refreshed. We have a real heart for Burnham too. Keep up the good work Nick and Ellie
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Pawlina wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom10 contributions
Character hotel that didn't disappoint. Low ceilings and quirky corners around so worth checking before booking if you are above average height. Anybody 6ft or so would have trouble standing upright in room 19 and its bathroom. But this what one should expect from such an old building. High standard of cleanliness in room and bathroom, and public areas. Friendly and helpful receptionist. Good location, on street parking nearby at relatively low cost.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Worth asking about room and bathroom heights as the ceiling in my room at least was quite low....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick and Ellie Richardson, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)
Responded 2 Sep 2022
Hi, thanks for the good score! We have 1 room above the historic coaching arch and that room has a 6ft 2" ceiling, the rest of the rooms have normal and/or high ceilings! Glad you saw the whole hotel was nice and clean! Cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma I wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
For the second time of staying here have had a fantastic week. The hotel is clean, comfortable and in the perfect location. For the price that we paid you cannot beat it. Already looking at booking to come again later in the year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sgtfridge wrote a review Aug 2022
Redditch, United Kingdom2 contributions
Lovely little hotel located on the seafront. Man on reception was lovely and the place was well signed. Perfect place if you just want somewhere quiet and safe to stay. Room was nice and clean and it had a fan which was needed with the weather. Nice big tv easy to use. Would defo go again when we are up that way again. Just a very cosy and simplistic place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jo W wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Terrible hotel it was like a building site Terrible customer service Window had been siliconed up So not useable the other window only opened slightly due to scaffolding outside Table and chairs in room were dangerous my partner actually fell off
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick and Ellie Richardson, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)
Responded 9 Aug 2022
We tried to talk to you sensibly. The last bit of works are due this week, leaving us with a new roof, new exterior render, will all look lovely! There is nothing wrong with the table, yes one chair broke and I removed it. But remember you told me your partner nearly fell off, and that has now become "actually fell off".
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LargelyMonk wrote a review Jul 2022
Banstead, United Kingdom1957 contributions752 helpful votes
I had booked a single room at the back which is described as a budget room which is fair enough and it was pointed out to me that I couldn’t expect the same level of furnishing as other rooms which feature on the website which again is fair enough. There are very few spaces to park and I was lucky to get one but there is parking elsewhere in town. There’s no breakfast but there are several cafes a very short walk away (try the Bos Cafe) so again not an issue. I was given a great long list of instructions and a very helpful map but I would have liked to know there were renovations going on. I’ve discussed the lack of A/C in the room which means having to have the windows open when its hot but that means you have to be happy with the gulls calling from first light. It would be any expensive upgrade. What was less acceptable was the peeling wallpaper and very cheap shower tray which bends alarmingly when you stand on it. i understand that they are likely to renovate my room so I’d definitely give them another look as its good value.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick and Ellie Richardson, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)
Responded 25 Jul 2022
You booked our cheapest room which is clearly described as budget and is in line for redecoration. In just 2 years we have replaced the roof, render, boilers, dozens of windows, many rooms, many bathrooms, a dozen TVs, carpets, beds, upgraded the linen, fixed the fire alarms etc And that room you stayed in is the most tired to be fair…. that’s why we call it a value/budget/economy. But yes we will keep fixing the whole hotel to make it all the better for guests! Cheers Nick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna P wrote a review Jul 2022
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for two nights in the spring. The hotel was undergoing external refurbishments and as soon as we arrived, Nick apologised for the inconvenience and reduction in parking spaces. He talked us through the best places to park and explained how to pay for parking and keep it topped up remotely through an app. Gave us great information on where to watch the football in the evening with our pre teen child. The room was spotless and had a lovely modern bathroom. Tea and coffee was plentiful and the mugs were replaced with clean daily. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. It felt like the mattress was brand new and the pillows were to die for! I always dread sleeping on hotel pillows but these were absolutely phenomenal. Best night sleep I have ever had in a hotel. There is no restaurant or bar at the hotel but there is a good selection of snacks and drinks in vending machines in reception. There is also a very handy supplies area where there are cutlery, crockery, glasses and even spare loo rolls for your convenience. To get to our room we had to walk through a fabulous veranda with tables and chairs. There was a sea view from the veranda and our room. We will definitely be returning in the future. Thanks for a fabulous break!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed in the family room that had one double and one single bed. Great sized room for a family.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jeremy S wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff are lovely, friendly and very helpful. The location is brilliant - our room had a fabulous sea view. The pricing is reasonable for what you get. The room was a little disappointing - a bit 'rough around the edges', like the shower 'door' fixed to the side of the bath in a shoddy and unsightly way. Wallpaper not fixed to the ceiling quite right in the room in a small area. The stairwell was a bit reminiscent of my student digs back in the 90s. I was surprised that there wasn't a proper shower - the taps had a 'converter' fixed. The one plus point of that is that I was able to have a continuous cold shower - yay! I love cold showers. Don't get me wrong, you can have a hot shower, but I just only turned on the cold tap. Burnham-on-Sea has an air of sadness and neglect about it - some dirty buildings, closed, roughly boarded-up shops and a few dodgy-looking characters walking the streets and promenade; and the hotel was partly above that, quality-wise, and in small reflected the vibe of the town as well. Had my partner left this review, I think she would have been a little more critical, but I'm not as fussy as she is. She said she wouldn't stay here again, but I would. It's not a premier Inn, no where near that level, but if you're not expecting perfection and don't mind a little bit of rough and ready, save a few quid, then this is perfectly suitable for a night or a few. We only booked for one night and it was fine for me for the money paid. The linen and towels were all clean, the room was clean and hygienic, and that's obviously crucially important. I want to repeat, the owners are a really nice couple, and that counts for a lot in my book. They'd bend over backwards to help, and that's not always the case in hotels, so that's brilliant. Also, rooms are being refurbished as I write this, so the quality inside may well improve as a result, so please bear that in mind if considering staying here. Car parking is very limited - 6 spaces, and only 5 when we were there because the 6th was taken up by a skip! On the note of parking, the parking machines were all faulty, near where we parked, outside the hotel on the other side of the street. (I tried 3) so download the 'Pay by Phone' app from the apple or play store when you arrive and you'll be fine. Prices are very reasonable - £2.10 for 3 hours, which amazed me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go for one with a sea view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick and Ellie Richardson, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Hi Jeremy, Thanks for the review, glad you saw we were lovely, friendly and very helpful. We haven't refurbished that room yet, but we have done 14 of the other rooms in the last 2 years, plus dozens of windows, TVs, boilers, fire alarm system, extra radiators, the roof, external render, doors, carpets etc I walked through the town yesterday and did not see any roughly boarded up shops, and note that the 1 just down the street from the hotel will soon re-open as a mini supermarket as per the planning application. There really are no dodgy looking characters walking the streets! Premier Inns are new builds in car parks, ours is a characterful 1796 building directly on the beachfront, which we are renovating to a high standard. Glad you had clean linen and towels and a clean and hygienic room. Yes, beachfront hotels in seaside towns in a Summer heatwave get busy for parking, but there is plenty within 30 seconds to 5 minutes walk, and note that when you arrived, I was outside and showed you a parking spot 20 metres away, which was free for you overnight! The skip is not a permanent feature. I will forward your parking meter concerns to the Council, who are better placed than me to receive your review on them. Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kai B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Disappointed with this hotel they give u all the sweet talk but it’s rubbish massive skip outside the main entrance had to lift pram around it with a new born baby in it got told we would have parking
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick and Ellie Richardson, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Hi W3921PBkaib and your partner jodien827, Thanks for both your reviews. I appreciate you have not been driving long, but the rest of the guests twice and three times your age managed to park without fuss. Of course a beachfront hotel in a seaside town in Summer gets busy for parking, but we provide info and a map of the town to help everyone find parking, restaurants and entertainment venues. When you arrived, I suggested to you to leave the pushchair downstairs, but you didn’t respond, which the staff next to me thought was rude of you. You emailed me after you left to say you had to “lift the pushchair and baby over the skip”, but when I checked the CCTV and replied that “you pushed the pushchair past the skip”, you didn’t reply further. I am afraid you lose all credibility when you blatantly lie to a hotel. You also emailed to complain that the room was up two flights of stairs, when I had already messaged you two weeks before your stay that your room was on the first floor. It is important to keep track of the facts if you ever want to unfairly complain to another business in future. I am very proud of all the hard work that all the staff here at the hotel perform, and that includes the renovations; we have a beautiful historic seafront hotel with a brand new roof and façade, dozens of new windows and lots of redecorated rooms. We will continue the positive attitude and culture that is working so well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$78 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetBurnham-On-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ROYAL CLARENCE HOTEL (ON THE SEAFRONT) - UPDATED 2022 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)?
Nearby attractions include The Ritz Cinema (0.08 km), Burnham-On-Sea Pier (0.2 km), and St Andrew's Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, off-site canoeing, and express check-in and check-out.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saagar Indian Takeaway, The Railway, and La Vela.
Is The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront) located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Burnham-On-Sea.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront)?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Coleridge Cottage (14.6 km), King John's Hunting Lodge (13.7 km), and Birnbeck Pier (13.1 km).
Does The Royal Clarence Hotel (on the seafront) have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.