We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Main Street, Gortahork Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$140
TravelocityUS$140
Hotels.comUS$140
Trip.comUS$139
Orbitz.comUS$140
FindHotelUS$139
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Windsurfing
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Bicycle tours
Darts
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Walking tours
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
369Reviews10Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 188
  • 102
  • 42
  • 24
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ruthystuff wrote a review 15 May
Belfast, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I visited this hotel in May. I couldn’t praise it enough. The rooms were clean, bed comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff were first rate, they couldn’t do enough for us. It’s in a good location to visit local attractions, and very well priced. Special thanks to Shauna who made us very welcome. We have booked a return visit for our anniversary, looking forward to it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Frank M wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed from the 1st of April until the 5th, and again it was a superb stay, staff were excellent, friendly and helpful and food was great, and so competitively priced could not beat the value for money this place gives.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostán Loch Altan
Responded 11 Apr 2022
I am very grateful to you for taking the time to post such a great rating of your recent stay with us here at Óstán Loch Altan. We hope to meet with you again very soon and thank you again for your kind comments about the staff and the good value that we offer. Kindest regards Seán Mc Elwee General Manager
Read more
dlma wrote a review Apr 2022
Derry, United Kingdom64 contributions32 helpful votes
This is the first time me and my wife have visited this hotel and this is what we found and think of this establishment. The room was small but cosy with coffee and tea facilities, would have been nice to have a wee biscuit in the room too. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was nice if not a wee small size but the shower was hot and very powerful when used. The room was very clean and so was the bathroom with lovely towels and shower gels at hand. The only concern was filling the kettle for a coffee it was impossible to get the kettle under the tiny bathroom tap. The breakfast was very substantial with a great choice of cereals ie porridge,corn flakes, rice Krispies,granola, with the added variety of cut up fruits and yoghurt on hand with apple, cranberry and orange juice of plenty. This is followed by a good breakfast in which I had two bacon ,two sausage, one egg and a tomato and toast of three slices and more if needed with tea or coffee. We had dinner both nights which again was filling and very nice followed by a nice dessert and a Guinness and wine. The staff I can say really make your stay welcoming and enjoyable and we will be booking again very soon .😁
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kathy M wrote a review Mar 2022
Derry, United Kingdom32 contributions39 helpful votes
Great stay - food excellent, lovely helpful staff. Dinner in the bar was lovely , good choice of food. We had the beef - good portions and the apple crumble was very tasty. Waiter was very attentive and looked after us all evening. Very cosy atmosphere. The bedroom was a very good size for us (my husband in a wheelchair) plenty of room to manoeuvre. Breakfast was very good and served until 10.30. Plenty of choice. Would definitely recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostán Loch Altan
Responded 28 Mar 2022
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you would definitely recommend this hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your evening meals and the freshly cooked breakfast which is served until 10.30 each morning. It's great that your husband found it easy to manoeuvre the wheelchair. Thank you for praising the staff who were very helpful to you both during your stay. We look forward to meeting with you both soon again. Kindest regards Seân Mc Elwee General Manager
Read more
annie1960 wrote a review Mar 2022
Quigley's Point, Ireland3093 contributions103 helpful votes
+1
We got a great welcome when we arrived , there was four of us, my brother in law is in a wheelchair , their room was lovely very large easy for my brother in law to get around in his large chair.. our room was lovely too with everything you need very clean and well looked after. We went for dinner and it was delicious staff very attentive , we had a couple of drinks in the bar staff and other guests were very friendly. After a good nights sleep we headed down for breakfast and we were not disappointed it was delicious, we will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostán Loch Altan
Responded 28 Mar 2022
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ostan Loch Altan in Gortahork. Yes, we are very lucky to have such a wonderful staff. They are all locally sourced and they take great pride in their own local hotel. The hotel is very wheelchair accessible and we have a bedroom that is adapted to cater for guests with mobility issues. Thank you for posting such a positive review of your stay with us and we hope to meet with you soon again. Kindest regards Seán Mc Elwee General Manager
Read more
asmad69 wrote a review Mar 2022
Bangor, United Kingdom12 contributions19 helpful votes
Great hotel with friendly staff. We stayed on a Sunday night in February and the staff were fantastic. Friendly chatty and quick to help with any request. Perfect pint of Guinness and the 2 course dinner was very tasty and included in our stay. The Bar is popular with the locals, and has a great atmosphere. Breakfast was plentiful with freshly cooked sausages, bacon, eggs, black and white pudding. Good choice of other options too. The drive to the hotel through Glenveigh National park is spectacular and the coastline around this part of Donegal is well worth a visit. Highly recommend staying at the Ostan Loch Altan if you're visiting North West Donegal
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostán Loch Altan
Responded 2 Mar 2022
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ostan Loch Altan. Thank you for posting such a positive review and for your kind comments about the service offered by the staff, the quality of the food and beverages and the cooked breakfast which is served fresh to our guests as opposed to the buffet breakfast which is standard in many hotels. I am glad that you managed to savour the local scenery to include the mountains of Muckish and Errigal, the islands of Tory and Inisbofin, the beaches at Magheroarfty and Falcarragh and the magic and mystique of Dunlewey, the Poison Glen and Glenveagh Castle and National Park. We look forward to having you back with us soon and thank you again. Kindest regards Seán Mc Elwee General Manager
Read more
PartimeHolidaymaker wrote a review Jan 2022
County Fermanagh, United Kingdom426 contributions251 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here on a 'PigsBack' DBB offer, booked at short notice, as we were going to be in the area. I had actually been thinking of a different hotel but this offer was available. We checked in early, about 2 30 pm with no problems. Got our covid passes checked, which was good to see. Got our room passes, for room 204. We're glad to see our special request of a water view was listened to. The room was smallish but adequate. The ensuite, with shower was the same. Not much to do in the immediate area so we sat in the socially distanced bar and had a few nice pints. Later we had our included 2 course inclusive meal. The highlights were the breaded garlic mushrooms and the chicken wings, which we shared. Mains were a turkey and ham dinner and haddock and chips. All very nice and left feeling quite full. We had another couple of drinks, including a couple of lovely cocktails excellently made by the young bar man. Then had a great night's sleep followed by a lovely breakfast, via table service. Pros for this hotel- definitely the staff, who were all excellent and friendly. The price, if you go on the deal we got. Cons- although bits of the hotel, like the bar, toilets and breakfast room seem to have been updated lately, a lot of the rest, including the bedrooms, seems a bit dated. And there was a sort of musty or damp smell in the corridors and in the bedroom we had? And maybe the bed could do with a new mattress? And the immediate area is quite isolated. Over all we had a nice, relaxing 1 night stay, at a reasonable price. Had a nice meal and a good enough nights sleep and were treated brilliantly by all the staff. Just might not be too everybody's taste.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: RM 204 had a water view and was at the back of the hotel, away from the road.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostán Loch Altan
Responded 2 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive and positive review of your recent stay with us here at Ostan Loch Altan in Gortahork. The staff always seem to obtain top marks for the quality of the hospitality that they provide to all our guests. They are all living locally and they take great pride in their local hotel. The hotel itself recently celebrated its 150th birthday being constructed initially in 1870. We are constantly refurbishing but some sections may still look dated due to the financial restrictions imposed by Covid. We hope to have you back with us soon and thank you again. Kind regards Seán Mc Elwee General Manager
Read more
Elaine and Peter Lucas wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
From the minute you walk into this hotel, you feel welcome. The staff are so friendly and helpful they can't do enough for you, Marie on reception was welcoming and friendly as was the young man in the bar. The rooms were warm and lots of hot water for when you came back after your days exploring. Lots of great sights and things to do in the area. I most deffenitely will visit again. Go raibh mile maith agut for you hospitality. Elaine and Peter Lucas
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostán Loch Altan
Responded 11 Jan 2022
Thank you, Elaine and Peter, for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent stay with us here at Ostan Loch Altan. Marie and the rest of the team are particularly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the warmth of the welcome and the high level of hospitality that they provided. We look forward to having you back with us soon again so that you can savour further the myriad of local views and attractions. Le gach dea-mhéin Seán Mc Elwee General Manager
Read more
Frank M wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
We stayed here for 3 nights taking us in to the new year, the room, food and staff were amazing. Been coming here for many a year now and would highly recommend it. The views are second to none, so peaceful. Regards Francis
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostán Loch Altan
Responded 6 Jan 2022
Thank you, Francis, for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay with us here at Óstán Loch Altan. I am delighted that you enjoy staying with us and that you appreciate the peace and serenity and the lovely scenery in the local area. We look forward to having you back with us soon again. Kindest regards Seán Mc Elwee General Manager
Read more
Aaron Carton wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Awful staff,were not understanding at all They would not serve us for last orders they said only one person can get served for one orders which is against human rights we are all equal not one awful experience would not go back again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostán Loch Altan
Responded 27 Dec 2021
We offered your group a last drink at midnight as the bar was closing early due to Covid restrictions. But some of your group wanted to buy multiple drinks at that stage which the staff were not prepared to give you and rightly so. We also had to consider the rights of the other residents who had already gone to their rooms for a peaceful night's sleep. You are always welcome to stay with us but we must enforce the Covid regulations to ensure the safety of guests and staff alike Bhliain Úr mhór mhaith duit. Le gach dea-mhéin Seán
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Loch Altan Hotel
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalGortahork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ostán Loch Altan
Which popular attractions are close to Ostán Loch Altan?
Nearby attractions include Cluain na dTor Seaside Gardens & Nursery (2.6 km), The Shamrock (2.4 km), and Ray Church. (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ostán Loch Altan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ostán Loch Altan?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ostán Loch Altan?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ostán Loch Altan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coll's Bar, Coffee Go Leor, and Gweedore Bar.
Is Ostán Loch Altan located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Gortahork.
Does Ostán Loch Altan offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Ostán Loch Altan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Workhouse - Donegal Famine Heritage Centre (11.8 km), Old Church Dunlewey (11.4 km), and Teach Mhuiris (11.3 km).
Is Ostán Loch Altan accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.