We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fota Island Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fota Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,943 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,918: English reviews
Start your review of Fota Island Resort
 Click to rate
Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely hotel with beautiful grounds. Had Sunday lunch with my husband. Not a very extensive menu. Found portions quite small and very limited selection of vegetables with the main course. Dessert was nice but very small given the price tag. Very attentive staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colette559
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments with regard to Fota Island Resort and our wonderful team. I was greatly disappointed to read your comments with regard to your dining experience, I can assure you that we pride ourselves on delivering cuisine of the highest quality at Fota Island Resort, something which we often receive positive feedback on. I sincerely...

Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here on the 11th Feb. I was so looking forward to our night away, doesn't happen often with two children but It was so disappointing, we booked it for quiet relaxing night and it was FREEZING, lobby, the bar and the restaurant. Seat hopping to try find a spot away from the cold. The only comfort we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molor77
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am sorry to hear that you felt your stay with us here in Fota Island Resort was less than satisfactory. I was incredibly disheartened to read your review and I would like to discuss your experiences with you personally. My email address is: BComerford@FotaIsland.ie I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards,...

Salt lake city
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is not what I expected to find in Cork. It was a great hotel with very nice rooms for a very low price. Some of the rooms are going through a renovation, so you had to use the lift from the spa - minor inconvenience. The restaurant at the hotel is nice as well. The price is what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaronwoo
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We appreciated your kind comments. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Brendan Comerford General Manager Hotel & Lodges

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful hotel excellent facilities. Great bar menu no need to go to restaurant. Lots of locals eating there in a Friday evening . Really professional staff. Spa is really good had a lovely hot stone massage . Would highly recommend to couples , families . Will definitely return .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73TDan
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review – I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Fota Island Resort and that you had the chance to avail of our fantastic facilities and excellent customer service. We hope to have you back to stay with us soon. Kind regards, Brendan Comerford General Manager Hotel & Lodges

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at Fota previously and had such a fantastic time we always said we had to come back! Well what a disappointment our second stay was! The hotel has gone downhill majorly! Firstly the staff were certainly not as welcoming or friendly - they made very little effort. Secondly in the spa we both felt extremely uncomfortable as two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maryi
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay at Fota Island Resort. We have noted your comments in regard to the amenities and the food and this will be brought to the attention of our departmental managers. We pride ourselves on the level of service and excellence that we provide to our visitors so I am disappointed that you did...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having recently hosted a family occasion at Fota in the Amber Lounge, I cannot praise the superb staff and hospitality enough. Rachid Zaouia take a bow. Your creations are truly magnificent ! We will return !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan186600
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of Fota Island Resort. I was delighted to hear that you felt so warmly welcomed by staff and that our cuisine made a lasting impression. I will be passing along your feedback to our Chefs and I’m sure they will be just as delighted as I am to know that you so thoroughly enjoyed...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely large room, however no real view. Huge bathroom with fab shower and bath. Big comfy bed. Great breakfast. Very noisy at night due to a wedding reception in the main hotel, music kept us awake very late. Air con in room didn't work. Attended a wedding at the clubhouse - food wasn't good, service was slow, severely overcooked beef...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissMonkeyReview
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

I thank you for taking the time to tell me about your experience at Fota Island Resort. I am sorry that it was not a pleasant one. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Senior Management team and staff to avoid these shortcomings in the future. We do sincerely apologise that you were disappointed on several aspects...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have visited twice. Renting a detached lodge on the Courseside. Hydro therapy spa area is a must. Tne kids club was good - the kids loved it and it gave use time to enjoy the spa. Food is really nice. Friendly atmosphere. Lovely wood land walks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K3NN3DY
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is sincerely appreciated. I am delighted that you had a great experience at Fota Island Resort. We are happy about being able to offer our guests all these fabulous facilities in such a luxurious atmosphere. I hope that you will visit us sometime soon, we would be delighted to welcome you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

12 of us spent 4 nights across 3 lodges for a golf society weekend. Self catering which we opted to walk down to the clubhouse restaurant for a full irish breakfast. Lodges modern and are very comfortable and spacious for four people to share the two bedrooms. Golf was great and the main course held the 2014 irish open.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrAshe
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in our Lodges here in Fota Island Resort. We take great pride in creating memorable experiences for our guests, and I am glad to hear that this was the case during your stay. We hope to have you back to visit again soon....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I only had one night here. But I would have liked more. The hotel is large with many facilities. And I didn't use most of them. However, what I did use was excellent. The rooms were large and clean. Good in room TV and WIFI. Nice food in the bar, with a good choice of drinks. A little on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
fotaisland01, Manager at Fota Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely recommendation of Fota Island Resort on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here. It is always our sole aim to ensure that guests feel well looked after during their time here. I look forward to welcoming you back to Fota Island Resort again, hopefully...

940 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
0:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (632)
Viewed
Amenities (183)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (50)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (61)
Viewed
Lodge (132)
Viewed
Luxury Sequoia Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fota Island
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,530 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fota Island Hotel & Spa is one of Ireland’s finest five star resort properties. Just 15 minutes from Cork City Centre, 20 minutes from Cork International Airport and 2 hours from Dublin, it offers 131 bedrooms and suites overlooking the surrounding 800 acres of woodland and championship-standard golf courses. Tennis, running trails and a world class spa - with 18 treatment rooms, swimming pool, hydrotherapy suite and 24-hour fitness room - are just some of the many leisure facilities available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fota Island Resort

Address: Fota Island, Fota Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fota Island
Price Range: €121 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fota Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Fota Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fota Island Hotel Fota Island
Sheraton Fota Island Hotel
Sheraton Cork
Fota Island Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fota Island Resort staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Fota Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Junior Suite is perfect if you have a child that goes to sleep before you as there is a door that separates the bedroom and sitting room.”
 of 5 bubbles oconnec8, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Definitely not room 122 as we overlooked a wood cutting shed”
  • Frayed Curtains
  • Chipped Paint
  • Shower Cubicle
 of 5 bubbles wexfordtraveller, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on 2nd floor good. Bring your booking confirmation!!”
 of 5 bubbles C-Mc57, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Double rooms fit an extra little bed for children”
 of 5 bubbles CrisRamC, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are using the car service book it in advance.”
 of 5 bubbles jerriannm2016, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5