We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Shark St., Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara Indonesia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (121)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 300 Specialty lodging in Gili Trawangan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Broken Compass hostel & bar offers dorm accomodation, with and without ensuite bathrooms and private doubles. All have fan & air-con, "fresh" (ie non-bore) water and included breakfast and wifi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
321Reviews3Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 278
  • 37
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
DeltaMike6 wrote a review Jan 2020
19 contributions23 helpful votes
I’ve stayed in over 100 hostels all around the world and Broken Compass has to be one of the top ten. Only 3 people to a dorm with comfy beds and great air conditioning. The atmosphere is friendly and social and all the staff are fantastic. Didn’t really want to leave because I was meeting cool people every day. Food and drink prices are very reasonable and there’s a good general store right across the street. I’d go back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, Front Office Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Hi there, Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We try our best to offer the best possible hostel experience at an affordable price, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and would return. We hope to welcome you back to the family again soon! All the best, Rani & the BC crew
Read more
Simon K wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions
Stayed in Broken Compass the 2nd time and will definitely go again. Everybody is super nice and friendly. We had a lot of fun with you guys. Probably one of the best places to go to eat on the whole island. Pad Thai was absolutely delicious! The room was clean and comfortable. Simon
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, Front Office Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Hi Simon, Thank you for writing us a review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed spending time with our team and the food! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! All the best, Rani & the BC team
Read more
Joe wrote a review Dec 2019
Chicago, Illinois8 contributions
Stayed here 3 days while checking out Gili T, the hostel is a 5 minute walk from the boat drop off. Hostel has bunks + private rooms; a bar & pool. Accommodations were good for a hostel, although my AC’s fan was a little louder than preferred. Staff is personable and really offers advice to maximize your Gili T experience. Only downside to staying here that a nearby mosque broadcasts their prayers on a loudspeaker, sometimes as early as 4:30am. If you’re easily disturbed at night, have a pair of earplugs handy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, Front Office Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt welcomed by the team! Gili Trawangan is a Muslim island, which means that we do often hear the call to prayer throughout the day whenever you are in the main area of the island. Most of the time this is at a reasonable volume and doesn't disturb the majority of our guests. However, as you recommend, if you are a very light sleeper then earplugs can help. We try our best to embrace the culture of the island! We hope to see you on Gili T again soon! All the best, Rani & the Broken Compass Crew
Read more
Geraldine wrote a review Nov 2019
Sofia, Bulgaria11 contributions
+1
2nd time here for me and for sure not the last. Great combination between the comfort of the private room with the atmosphere of the hostel down at the bar. (love the design and every little diver's detail) *Close to the port and pretty much everything important on the island. *"You can get yourself clean" (hot water shower, 25k/kg laundry) *"You can have a good meal" (LOVE the food - always super yummy, thank you Ali and Co) *"You can do whatever you feel" (Quiz night - each Wednesday) or well, just hang out and meet people. Or go diving with Compass Divers 🤩🤩🤩 🦈🐢🦄❤️ BC, Thank you so much to your lovely staff for your hospitality and flixibility! And FUN! last, but not least! Shu, Andy, Ali, Nita, Zoel and the rest of the team- thanks for making us feel home 🙏❤️ Tarimakasiiii 🎉🌺🤩 and... Of course... The one and only... B*... wait for it... BONNYYYY (where are you ☝️) 😂 you make bc a very special place 👏 Looking forward to another cocktail tasting 🍹🍸😉 Good luck, guys, miss you already 🍀🌼🍀
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, Public Relations Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 2 Dec 2019
Hey Geraldine, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed all the different aspects of our hostel, and always super stoked to welcome returning guests back to the family! We will pass on all your compliments to the team and we can't wait to have you back soon! Lots of love, Compass Team!
Read more
Sof24 wrote a review Nov 2019
Trincomalee, Sri Lanka8 contributions
We stayed in a private room and it was perfect! Great size, clean, ensuite and a comfy bed! The staff were very welcoming and helpful! The hostel is close to everything you may need, plus has a lovely pool! Defo recommend staying here if you are looking for a chilled and friendly atmosphere!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, General Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 21 Nov 2019
Thank you so much for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and thanks for the recommendation, we hope to see you again. From all the Broken Compass Team
Read more
adil o wrote a review Nov 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
stayed here and the location is perfect. the bar was fun and social. we dont dive, but we enjoyed the dive hostel very much and would suggest it as a good place for your first trip to gili, a base to explore the island
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, General Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 21 Nov 2019
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, we have 2 hostels here so we always have something to suit everybody and not just diving, as you say a great place to start your experience on Gili. From all the Broken Compass team
Read more
elsketilstra wrote a review Nov 2019
Schagen, The Netherlands1 contribution
I will be back some day for sure in this hostel. I have met so many nice persons over here. Almost next to the ferry point and 5 minutes walk to the beach or the bars. Very good food, great location, nice staff. Good accomodation and very nice vibe. Definitely reccomend it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, General Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 21 Nov 2019
Thanks for taking the time to write I am glad you enjoyed your time here, we work hard to make the place as enjoyable as possible, please do come back soon !!!! From all the Broken Compass Team
Read more
Bronte D wrote a review Nov 2019
Koh Tao, Thailand42 contributions8 helpful votes
The Broken Compass was my home away from home during my time in Gili T. It has a chill day time atmosphere which is perfect for hanging by the pool nursing a hangover, working on your laptop or a little day drinking if you're ready to kick on; then each night has dinner specials and event nights everyone is welcome to join. Free breakfast was the perfect incentive to get out of bed every morning and kick start your day and the rest of the food on the menu for ordering during the day was delicious and well priced! One of my favourite hostel features was the pool, I don't know who came up with having a short tunnel to swim from one pool to another but it's super cool and a quirky feature of the hostel. Rooms and bathrooms were always clean, to the point that i changed my original booking or a private room to a dorm room as i was happy to use the shared showering facilities. Bonny the hostel manager does a great job of running events at the hostel and helping you out getting to and from the island; the bar and reception staff were also epic and always helpful. The only negative during my stay would be how close the hostel is to the mosque having prayer daily, however throwing in some headphones or turning up the music at the bar was an easy solution and it wouldn't deter me from booking here again and i wouldn't rate them down at all for this. Cheers for a great stay guys and i can't wait to come back and stay next time I'm in Gili T.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, General Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 10 Nov 2019
Hi there, We are so happy to hear you felt at home at our hostel and enjoyed all the food, events and team! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. Situated on a Muslim island we do hear the call to prayer from the Mosque all over the island, we see this as part of the charm on the island and a key part of Lombok's vibrant culture. We're glad that it did not affect the comfort of your stay with us! See you again soon we hope!
Read more
Tiffany Im wrote a review Nov 2019
45 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Stayed in the private room for 5 nights at Broken Compass and i really enjoyed my stay. Room was clean and spacious. Staff was very friendly and attentive, they’re always happy to help if needed. I also loved grabbing drinks and food at the bar on site. They have different specials on the menu every night and drinks are very affordable. I’m gonna miss those 35k gin and tonics! If I’m visiting Gili T again I would love to stay at the Broken Compass again! On the side note if you’re a diver or considering to start diving, check out Compass Divers that’s affiliated with Broken Compass. I am a diver myself and I’ve dived at different places. This dive shop is by far the best I’ve dived with.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, General Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 10 Nov 2019
Hey Tiffany, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon! (We'll have a G&T waiting for ya ;) )
Read more
Katerina wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions
I have really enjoyed my stay in the Broken Compass hostel. As a solo traveler this was a perfect place. There is few events in the common area every week , but also enough space to be alone and work. The owner is really friendly and the whole place has a nice family vibe .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Shared bedroom, 3 beds
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from broken c, General Manager at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Responded 10 Nov 2019
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it! We are so happy you felt at home at our hostel, we try really hard to make all our guests feel like part of the family :) We hope to see you back again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
IndonesiaWest Nusa TenggaraLombokPemenangGili IslandsGili Trawangan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Broken Compass Hostel & Bar
Which popular attractions are close to Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Nearby attractions include Sama Sama Reggae Bar (0.3 km), Gili Trawangan Island (0.1 km), and Ombak Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Francesco's Pizza, Hellocapitano Lifestyle Cafe, and Oh Warung Gili.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Broken Compass Hostel & Bar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Broken Compass Hostel & Bar located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Gili Trawangan.