We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Abbey Street, Cong F31 Y529 Ireland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Cong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Family run hotel, in the centre of Cong Village. All Guest rooms are ensuite with a Bath or shower, include free WiFi tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, tv and an iron and ironing board on request. Sample our beautiful home cooked meals from T-bone Steak, homemade burgers and delicious salads. Cong is a fantastic place to spend a weekend with plenty to do and see
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
75Reviews3Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 23
  • 4
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bernie O wrote a review Aug 2022
Brigantine, New Jersey194 contributions58 helpful votes
When we checked into Danagher's we were told that their credit card machine was broken and we would need to pay in cash. Conveniently, they had an ATM machine in their lobby. We did not let this bother us. The room was comfortable and clean. The food in the pub was good, and the bartenders knew how to pour a Guinness.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
melissa s wrote a review Jul 2022
Raleigh, North Carolina11 contributions2 helpful votes
So, NOBODY in my family (husband and 18 year old twins) had ever been to Ireland before (I had many times before children) - and NOBODY would watch The Quiet Man with me, It's my ALL TIME FAVORITE MOVIE - I'm obsessed with it. For reference, we stayed at: Powerscourt, The Grafton, The Killarney Hotel and Spa, etc - you get it. They humored me with a stay at Danagher's. My husband said he always wanted to "stumble up the stairs" from a bar - and boy, did we ever. The live music had everyone rollicking - and everyone is SO friendly!!!! Bring cash - because the credit card machine was spotty. And if it's hot, be prepared - no air conditioning. A real Irish experience. The breakfast was serviceable - but probably our least favorite breakfast - but a hearty, true Irish experience. I'd stay there again in a minute (we had two rooms) From the lovely greeting, to the bar, that started off quiet - but at 9:30 pm when the music started to roll
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Grainne Byrne wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Myself and my husband had our day 2 celebrations at Danaghers Hotel. Helena and all the staff were so lovely and very accomodating. We had a buffet from the hotel for our evening meal and it was delicious - everyone was talking about the food and how nice it was and the very generous portions. We had a large number of people attend and there was plenty of staff on as the service was fantastic all night. We also used the hotel as accomodation for our wedding and the rooms were very comfortable, very clean and reasonable. We and all our family and friends had a great experience at Danaghers and can’t thanks them enough. Highly recommend this hotel! Grainne and Micheal Jennings.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Agnieszka K wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
+1
Place it look beautiful, we feel the Irish atmosphere. It is a great place to spend time with our family on vacation. Stuff smiling and very helpful with all our questions. We travel with children, they had a lot of questions for waiter and he knew the answers to all questions. Food the best in whole island our daughters eat whole dinner and ice creams. Curry chicken burger is amazing and the portion was huge. Chicken wings amazing. Pasta florentine’s with chicken and garlic bread tasted like I was eating part of haven. They make the brownies with ice cream themselves and are simply delicious. We eating brownies in many different restaurants and this is top, top, top of the list where we comeback and eat again. Now Cong is amazing place for see everyone is nice and place is awesome for walks with kids and spending chilling time up there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ozzysix wrote a review Sep 2020
County Kildare, Ireland41 contributions29 helpful votes
Would really recommend a stay here, the location is great and the hotel is great value. The service is brilliant and the staff are fantastic especially James and Connor went above and beyond, friendly and welcoming. Will definitely be back !!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
yvonne m wrote a review Sep 2020
Navan, Ireland2 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and son ordered the beef burger, my husband cut his in two and it was uncooked, pink inside, I descritely called the woman to tell her, her reply was it was pink because of the way my husband cut it, she totally embarrassed him. My husband said he just wanted the burger cooked through, after five minutes the burger was returned, still pink, we just left. It ruined our day in cong,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bobmob wrote a review Aug 2020
Ireland30 contributions75 helpful votes
We were so lucky to be facilitated without a booking for a family meal for 2 adults and 2 children. The staff were very friendly and obliging. The food was delicious, hot and served promptly. Thank you, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Caoimhe C wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
Myself and my family came here for a staycation on the august bank holiday weekend and cannot recommend the place more. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was amazing, outstanding food along with outstanding service. Our breakfast was also amazing and served in the highest quality. Our room was also lovely and so clean we were all very impressed. Our overall experience was great the service was to the highest standard with lovely patient attentive staff 10/10 would recommend to a friend and I will definitely be back. Also all covid procedures were followed to the fullest I felt very safe here. Thank you danaghers
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Moe&NiallCos wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions
My husband and I called into Danagher’s on a Tuesday lunch time when we were staying in the area as we had read good reviews on here. Unfortunately we were disappointed with the food. My husband had the chowder which had a fishy lingering after taste making us think it was not fresh. He got one or two big bones in the chunks of fish as well which was off putting. I had a ham toastie and the tomato relish which I can only describe tasted like brown HP sauce. We won’t be rushing back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Helena Byrne, Owner at Danagher's Hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Hi MoeNiallCos, I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your meal with us. This comes as a shock to me. We have been overwhelmed by all the positive feedback we have been receiving since we reopened. Mainly about our new menu and most of all the quality of our food. Our Seafood Chowder is prepared daily using the best of fresh local fish. I’m disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy it as we have guests who visit us from far and wide just to have it. It is a special family recipe that has been passed down through the generations. It contains a great mixture of fresh fish which is what I can only assume gave you the fishy taste. Our toasted special has also been one of the more popular sandwiches on our menu. The tomato relish which we prepare ourselves compliments our lovely home baked honey & mustard ham, so I have been told! I’m sure had you informed your server they would have tried their very best to make your visit more pleasurable. I do hope the next time you visit the area, that you will give us the opportunity to make up for this. Pop in and ask for myself :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paula395R wrote a review Jun 2019
Kansas City, Missouri17 contributions21 helpful votes
We were only able to stop on our tour for a few hours but this town and this Hotel has the best food and the friendliest people. They were able to feed 30 of us quickly and we were an unexpected group. Food was awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty MayoCong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Danagher's Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Danagher's Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Monk's Fishing House (0.08 km), Royal Abbey of Cong (0.08 km), and Statue of John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Danagher's Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Danagher's Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Danagher's Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pat Cohan’s Bar, Puddle Ducks cafe, and Lydon's Lodge Hotel Restaurant.
Is Danagher's Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Cong.
Are there any historical sites close to Danagher's Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Monk's Fishing House (0.08 km), Royal Abbey of Cong (0.08 km), and The Guinness Tower/Leonard's Tower (0.06 km).