We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Overview
Tarporley Road, Whitchurch SY13 4JH England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star accommodation
About
Description
Escape to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa in the heart of Shropshire, a golfer's paradise with two challenging courses to get your teeth into and a wonderful Spa with Rasul, rock sauna and eight More treatment rooms for those who just want to lounge around and relax. Surrounded by peaceful grounds, it's amazing how accessible this hotel is in Whitchurch on the A49 and close to the major motorways; M53, M56, M6 and M54. Be inspired with plenty of local attractions on your doorstep including nearby Chester Zoo and the Ironbridge Museums and after a busy day, retire back to the hotel for a delicious meal produced using only the finest, quality ingredients. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Golf course
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
GreenLeaders Gold level
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
GreenLeaders Gold level
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
80
Price range
US$83 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf And Country Club
,
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Whitchurch
,
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Country
Location
United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Whitchurch
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant
117 reviews
12.34 km away
Carden Park Hotel
4,846 reviews
13.34 km away
Aston Lodge
48 reviews
13.99 km away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
471 reviews
14.03 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 63 nearby restaurants
Etzio
539 reviews
1.21 km away
Benjamin's
179 reviews
1.39 km away
The Black Bear Public House
395 reviews
1.20 km away
White Bear
218 reviews
1.36 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 22 nearby attractions
Whitchurch Heritage Centre
22 reviews
1.25 km away
St Alkmunds Church
15 reviews
1.20 km away
Macdonald Hill Valley Spa
71 reviews
.04 km away
Macdonald Hill Golf Course
14 reviews
.97 km away
Reviews & more
1,587Reviews
309Photos
5Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 537
  • 504
  • 298
  • 167
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
+1
We've stayed here 5 times primarily because the rooms are so nice. We got a deal on an update with a bottle of prossecco.

The rooms were clean and comfortable as were the beds. The bathroom was big with huge fluffy towels. The room had safe which wasn’t working, iron and board g
Read more
Went out to play the Emerald course today. Unfortunately the weather was very cold and increasingly wet. Came off after nine holes because of the weather and called in the pro shop. Karen and Rob were fantastic got me a hot drink and turned the fan heater around and selected hot
Read more
Response from JamieM4280, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear otaio7 Thank you for your review. Sorry to read about the weather but glad you managed to brave 9 holes. Hopefully the weather will be better when you return so you can enjoy the full 18 holes. Kind regards Jamie McDonald General Manager
Read more
Enjoyed a great value weekend at Hill Valley hotel. We were a family group getting together to celebrate 3 significant birthdays and this was the perfect setting for an enjoyable, relaxing gathering. All the staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. The food and faciliti
Read more
Response from JamieM4280, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Clareandbetty It was lovely to host you at Hill Valley for your family gathering and lovely to read your comments. Happy birthday to all those who had birthdays from us all here at Macdonald Hill Valley. Kind regards Jamie McDonald General Manager
Read more
Played the course today in very good order for the time of year no temporary green and even playing of the main tee beds the staff in the pro shop are great Rob the clubs pro and Karen both are a great asset to the club and hotel as are the staff in the club house and Hotel Daisy
Read more
Response from JamieM4280, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear johnwhite18 Thank you for your wonderful comments about our team and golf course. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Jamie McDonald General Manager
Read more
Booked a two night autumn break, we had a great couple of days, The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, food was lovely and staff were all very friendly , our waitress for breakfast each day was Judy who made us feel very welcome with nothing too much trouble for her
Read more
Response from JamieM4280, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear _janejackson100 It is great to read your kind review. I will ensure I pass this review on to Judy who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Jamie McDonald General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Mouldy shower at head height
Chunks of wall missing and scratches all over
Broken lamp wedged up with paper
Wonderful stay and views from our windows ❤️
surprised at a double bed - expected twins!!
Previous
What spa facilities does this hotel have?
What spa facilities does this hotel have?
Does anyone know if the spa facilities are included with the room? I understand the treatments and massages are extra but is use of the pool/ jacuzzi included?
Yeah pool, steam room, sauna, towels are all included in your room price, enjoy your break.
3 votes
Show all answers
I have booked this hotel for my partners birthday on a great deal including an Executive Room with afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast etc, but after reading a few of the reviews there seems to be mixed feelings. I am keen to know will the room which I believe has a seating area outside be overlooking the car park as 1 review advised to make sure we weren't given a room overlooking the road/car park which I can't imagine would be great. Also in the feature rooms there are robes/slippers to use but there is no mention of this in the Executive Room, as we are booked in for a spa treatment I was hoping to be able to get changed in the room and not worry about having to leave belongings in the changing area. I did email the manager of the hotel last week with my queries but so far have not received a response. Thanks in advance
What are you going to do about the cleaness of the rooms?
"Great views over the Golf Course"
"Probably all good with views over the course"
"All rooms seem good, some overlook the golf course, some the car park."
"Would never stay here again"
"Not on the ground floor"
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing