We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
6/8/2017 7/8/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Wild Horses Lodge

    Sterkfontein Dam, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    6/8/2017 7/8/2017
    Traveller (79)
    Room & Suite (15)
    Dining (8)
    Alpine Heath Resort
    474 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Jagersrust
     
    Mont Aux Sources Hotel
    237 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Bergville
     
    Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
    379 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Bergville
     
    Little Switzerland Hotel
    142 reviews
    #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
     
    Overview
    • Excellent89%
    • Very good7%
    • Average1%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “wine cellar” (11 reviews)
    “zebra room” (5 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Laundry Service
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Alpine Heath Resort
    474 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Jagersrust
     
    Mont Aux Sources Hotel
    237 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Bergville
     
    Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
    379 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Bergville
     
    Little Switzerland Hotel
    142 reviews
    #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
     
    Reviews (150)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Wild Horses Lodge
    See the most recent reviews

    41 - 45 of 144 reviews

    Reviewed 16 April 2016

    My wife and I visited Wild horses lodge for a weekend stay so that we could do the hike up to the source of the Tugela from the Sentinel car park. The lodge is a bit a perfect couples getaway with only four rooms and...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Response from WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses LodgeResponded 28 April 2016

    Dear Abdool, Thank you kindly for the lovely review - we loved having you here, I hear Golden Gate has many wonderful climbs too and so hope that you will return when you next feel like going on a hiking adventure. Kind regards, Micke van...More

    Reviewed 14 March 2016

    I was not expecting to be delighted, but it was everything we wanted and more. We loved the views of the lake and the hills. The added bonus was the other lovely guests and it made it feel more house party than hotel. We were...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Response from WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses LodgeResponded 16 March 2016

    We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the ambiance of your visit while you were here with us. We were delighted to have you and thank you for your review - travel safely and please do return! Warm regards, Micke van...More

    Reviewed 1 March 2016

    What an amazing place! It was a perfect way to end our holiday. The location was breathtaking and the house itself was fantastic. The owners Johnny and Trish were there for the weekend and could not have made us more welcome. Combine that with the...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Reviewed 23 February 2016

    My husband treated me to a two night stay in this exclusive lodge! And we were treated like royalty. The view of the Sterkfontein Dam from the bedroom was spectacular, our room was luxurious and definitely boasted Honeymoon. Of course, Francois's meals were sumptuous and...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Reviewed 4 February 2016

    After an hour on a terrible road reached the "lodge". Looks more than a B&B to me but that's just my opinion. Wondered why they offered free DVD's for in your room when checking but now i know. Due to road going places by car...More

    Response from WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses LodgeResponded 9 February 2016

    The lodge & its staff are most disappointed that you were unhappy on our mountain. However we cannot understand why you came to the “country side” knowing how much you dislike being there. We always welcome constructive criticism to improve our guests’ experience . Unfortunately...More

    Alpine Heath Resort
    474 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Jagersrust
     
    Mont Aux Sources Hotel
    237 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Bergville
     
    Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
    379 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Bergville
     
    Little Switzerland Hotel
    142 reviews
    #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Breakfast included
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$249 - US$286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 4
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Wild Horses Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Free State >
    • Harrismith
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (79)
    Room & Suite (15)
    Dining (8)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (51)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Depresso life without Coffee
    25 reviews
    24.33 km away
    Dom's with love
    68 reviews
    28.59 km away
    Wimpy
    49 reviews
    29.74 km away
    Clarens Brewery
    574 reviews
    55.72 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    All Out Adventures
    77 reviews
    16.27 km away
    Golden Gate Highlands National Park
    257 reviews
    37.14 km away
    Afriski Mountain Resort
    182 reviews
    44.26 km away
    Clarens Brewery
    273 reviews
    55.72 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Yvette B
    8 November 2016
    Answer Show all 2 answers
    Response from Jules_G31 | Reviewed this property
    Hi It depends what you are looking for. There are only 4 rooms at the lodge, which means it is very private and secluded. Every room also has a double bed as opposed to twin beds. The seclusion means that the getaway... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Zebra Room has the most amazing view of the dam, a definite must!"
    Read review
    "Four rooms - two upstairs. Two with views over the dam - other two with views of garden. All four nice!!"
    Read review
    "Best rooms looking out on the Dam is the Zebra room top floor and the room beneath."
    Read review
    "Choose the lake facing rooms for the best views. The other two rooms look into the mountain."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing