We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clam Digger Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clam Digger Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 353: English reviews
Start your review of Clam Digger Inn
 Click to rate
New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Inn in November and again in December. Our only complaint was the lack of chairs on the balcony for each visit. So, we took our folding chairs out of the car...problem solved...still ocean front. Restaurant was still excellent with friendly, professional service with affordable prices. Planning to return the end of March!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank racerqueen3
00gc, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting Clamdigger Inn at Pine Knoll Shores frequently. We are delighted you enjoyed your comfortable ocean view room and its private balcony and that you were impressed with our on-site restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Sincerely, Alyce Kelly, CHSP General Manager Clamdigger Inn

Reviewed 14 February 2017

My mother and I wanted to get away for three nights, and heard from a friend about the Clam Digger Inn. It was inexpensive and the beds were heavenly - not unlike being encased in a marshmallow. The rooms (we had inter-connecting) were clean and neat. The bathrooms were a tad small, but who cares when you're steps from the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sookie D
00gc, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Sookie, it was a pleasure to have you and your mother recently at Clamdigger Inn at Pine Knoll Shores. We appreciate you highlighting our beachfront location that was ideal for a relaxing getaway. It's also great to know you got a sound sleep while here. We hope you both will come back again to take in the beauty of the...

Reviewed 3 February 2017

We have been to the Clamdigger several times in the pass and always enjoyed it. Last year we went once a month in the off season. The price for Friday and Saturday night with one breakfast and one dinner each was $155.70. This year the price for Friday and Saturday night with two breakfast and two dinners each is $290.00....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gladys A
00gC, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and for the constructive review. I sincerely apologize for the service issues you experienced and for the inconvenience this caused you. I assure you, nothing is more important than your total satisfaction. Making each and every guest feel appreciated and valued is our number one priority and your candid comments...

Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Visited The Clam Digger Inn the week of Jan 23rd. It's a wonderful hidden gem and not noticed because it is about 5 miles down the street passed the high priced Double Tree and the run down Windjammer hotel. The Clam Digger was well priced for the off season, plus the room was crisp white and clean. The clerk also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia J
00gC, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review Clamdigger Inn at Pine Knoll Shores on the Crystal Coast of Atlantic Beach, NC! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our full service restaurant, your well-kept room and the excellent value we offer. Your compliments will certainly be shared with our team. We appreciate you recommending us,...

Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The staff were top notch, very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff were very helpful and sweet and did a wonderful job. It was lovely to dip our feet in the outdoor jacuzi. Even though this property is under renovation to become The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores, they are maintaining the friendly helpful atmosphere we were used to here....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Traci Q
ManagerX1, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Clamdigger Inn at Pine Knoll Shores and recommending us. We are delighted you loved the service provided by our well-trained staff, our full service restaurant and the facilities we offer. Thanks for choosing us once again, we hope to welcome you and your family back whenever you visit the Crystal Coast...

Roanoke Rapids, United States
Reviewed 5 January 2017

My wife and I were married in 1988, and every year since we have always come back to The Clam Digger in with the best oceanfront rooms on the east coast! Always clean with no smells. The staff is always helpful. The menu has been downsized in the resaurant, but the meals are still very good! 5 Stars!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allen H
ManagerX1, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for making us your preferred hospitality partner for all your trips to our area. We believe clean, comfortable accommodations and excellent service set us apart and bring guests back time and time again. Thank you for mentioning how much you love our ocean view rooms and the food we serve at our on-site restaurant. We greatly...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Restaurant: Breakfast was hot, tasty and reasonable! Charged to room for ease of dining. Btw, home fries are the best!! Server Ally was sweet and hope she keeps up the good work. Hotel: Dissapointing. Beautiful views from room. First room was lovely. However, When we got bit by bed bug, we had to pack and move everything in middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank WeDid
ManagerX1, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you liked the food we serve, and we appreciate you recognizing Ally. However, we apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. This is not the level of service we generally provide, and it certainly does not meet our standards. Your comments will be shared with...

Window rock
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We spent Thanksgiving weekend at the Clam Digger Inn, taking advantage of a special rate. The rooms are all oceanfront and comfortable. Breakfasts are excellent, dinners are good and service both in the restaurant and at the reception desk was friendly. We will definitely stay here again and can recommend it as a beautiful seaside experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therese M
ManagerX1, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Clam Digger Inn at Pine Knoll Shores and highlighting some of the key features of our property. I agree our beachfront property with all rooms having a beautiful view of the ocean is one of our most attractive features. We are also happy you loved the food we serve and our friendly service....

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I could not make the trip actually in November, but just had to write this....because I have been here a few times... This time ....thought I would add a big thank you to Kristie, front desk manager, for her professional communication. I have owned 3 restaurants in Raleigh, and appreciate when our "service industry" finds incredible staff who care about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cowgirlfirst
ManagerX1, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for singling out Kristie for the excellent service and hospitality she delivered. She truly embodies and personifies what our service culture is all about. We are so proud of her! We will certainly share your kind words and thank her personally for taking such good care of our guests. We look forward to seeing...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 November 2016

My husband and I have been going to the Clamdigger several times a year for over 15 years!! We have very fond memories of the hotel and restaurant under the previous management/owner. The ownership changed in April 2016 and things have deteriorated to the point that we will never visit again. If it wasn't for Tameka, I would be giving...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank jstrickland519
ManagerX1, Manager at Clam Digger Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your candid feedback. We are sorry we failed to provide with you an enjoyable stay. We apologize for the many issues you experienced with our service and accomodations while you were our guest and assure you we are working to prevent future incidents such as the ones you reported. We are also about...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Knoll Shores
5.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
5.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
657 reviews
9.6 km away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
166 reviews
8.0 km away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
540 reviews
19.7 km away
Islander Inn & Suites
Islander Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Emerald Isle
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Clam Digger Inn
The Clam Digger Inn
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All oceanfront rooms with small refrigerators, microwaves and private balconies. Full Service Restaurant open daily 6:30 am - 9 pm. Lounge open nightly with DJ on weekends. Meeting space available for groups from 15 to 120 persons. Only 1 mile to the NC Aquarium Pine Knoll Shores. Six miles to Ft Macon State Park. We are a family oriented resort - children and young adults under 21 must be with parents. We do not accept pets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clam Digger Inn

Address: 511 Salter Path Rd, Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512-6003
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Pine Knoll Shores
Price Range: €99 - €246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clam Digger Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Clam Digger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clam Digger Hotel Atlantic Beach
Ramada Atlantic Beach
Clamdigger Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clam Digger Inn staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Clam Digger Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“they are renovating the top two floors right now, stay on 3 or 4th”
 of 5 bubbles 784traciq, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are ocean front with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles joycloud39, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ocean front so you have a great view from all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Shelby2289, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We requested an upper level, corner room and got it. I personally like being at the end of the hall with others only on one side.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors for a really great view.”
 of 5 bubbles stevee728, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5