We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Turtle Bay Beach Club

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Turtle Bay Beach Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Turtle Bay Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 800: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I visited TBBC three years ago and had a brilliant time. I couldn't wait to come back. How disappointing.... the place was run down and needed total refurbishment. The bathroom was appalling with mould, beds very uncomfortable and the rooms generally shabby. But they were clean. This was one of Lamu Rooms! The food was terrible ( unlike the last...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AnnaM3232
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your recent review of Turtle Bay and we are sorry that you felt that certain standards had fallen since your last visit but are happy that over all you enjoyed your holiday. Whilst we are not recycling our food as you suggested we shall review our menus to see how they might be improved. We...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We had 4 nights on the coast and spent them here while we explored the Sokoke forest and surrounding area. It was a nice spot to come back to each day for lunch and rest. Food was good, rooms were fine and the AC worked well. Would have been nice to just relax, swim,etc. but we had lots to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randall S
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Turtle Bay. We are glad the our facilities worked well for you and we are so lucky to have such a wealth of birdlife, flora and fauna so close to the hotel as well as our wonderful Marine park on the...

Reviewed 10 November 2016

The rooms were great, though I found a dirty bath tub. The food was average, and lacking in variety. The service by waiters was questionable. Some waiters were pretty great and friendly. However, a good number of them like Michael Bahati and Shadrack were discriminatory. They would break a leg and show all their teeth when a white visitor is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kinyanjui M
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on the services you received at Turtle Bay. We are very sorry that certain aspects were not up to scratch and that you felt the standards of service were so variable. Many of our guests from Europe have been coming back many times over many years and...

Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewed 9 November 2016

I came for 2 weeks in Oct-Nov 2016, and had a Lamu room (by the quiet pool) which was lovely. Diving every day (saw whale sharks, manta rays, turtles, and all the other wonderful fish and ocean life). Very competent and friendly Swiss run dive center. The place is lovely. If you want a quiet drink then go to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbbp
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback after your recent stay with us. The diving here really is amazing and we are so glad that you got to see so much of it! I think we met and chatted and you also enjoyed a sunset Dhow trip on Mida? Any way we are glad...

Viken, Sweden
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We spent a week at Turtle Bay; three kids aged 10 & 7 years, respectively 8 months. Got a room by the beach front and pool area. Clean facility, very service minded friendly staff. Tasty food from the all inclusive buffet. Lots of activities offered - some are free and some you'll have to pay for; SUP, mini sailing catamaran,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ymer H
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer We appreciate your taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent family holiday at Turtle Bay. We are glad that the facilities and activities made for an enjoyable half term break and we hope to see you all back soon. Kind regards Damian GM

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This resort is located right on the beach at Watamu. The property is a little dates but has character. Main drawcard is the location so make sure you book a beachfront room. It is rated 4 star however I would say more 3 star. The staff were mostly ok, however I found it was an effort to get anything done....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelWriterKate
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry that the service was somewhat slow but we are glad that the lady trainee managed to impress. We are also glad that the food was also good. I would have liked to meet you in person to get some feedback (as you are a...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Have been to this hotel eight times because the staff always treat you as family. The rooms are spacious and clean.Nets are provided against any flying insects for the night time. The two swimming pools provide the guest with plenty of room to swim. There is plenty off things to do and staff are on hand to keep to you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip O
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your views on Turtle Bay which are obviously based upon several visits. We now look forward to making your daughters wedding day a very special one!! Kind regards Damian GM

Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Location is fantastic right at the beautifull Beach of the Indian Ocean. Hotel is very traditional Swahili Style, with huge Pool and good facilities for kids. The rooms are very clean, but not very modern. Buffet Food and Drinks are good for an all inclusive Beach Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRUNO G
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to offer some insight into Turtle Bay after your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Damian GM

Toronto
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The staff, food and eco-friendly initiatives are top-notch at this resort! I loved every minute of it.....11am water aerobics, tanning by the pool, amazing dinners and nightly entertainment. I would recommend the hotel get some new entertainment as the African Dancers every night get a bit boring. I heard they used to have a reptile show - I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AB5Safaris
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer We cannot wait to welcome you back! Sadly snake shows in hotels were banned by the KWS some years ago but we do arrange visits to the Snake Park (BIOKEN) for those who wish to learn more about them. We are glad you appreciated our Eco initiatives at the hotel as we do believe very strongly in what...

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was a nice break out from busy work, we were well received and check in clean and beautiful rooms, with a nice hot tub, though could have enjoyed to have a TV. The swimming pools were my favorite sports, as well as the morning and evening walks at the beach. The animation team was fantastic as they engaged us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MileleNairobi
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the feedback on your recent minibreak at Turtle Bay. The costa really is somewhere where it is so easy to quickly switch off and relax but as you have mentioned we do have a range of activities at Turtle Bay to keep you as active as you need to be during your stay. We look...

756 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (746)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (188)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
7:54
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (357)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
4.7 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 25 in Watamu
239 reviews
2.9 km away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 25 in Watamu
692 reviews
5.5 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 25 in Watamu
1,117 reviews
1.8 km away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 25 in Watamu
58 reviews
0.2 km away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 25 in Watamu
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Price Range: €133 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Turtle Bay Beach Club staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Turtle Bay Beach Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request for an ocean view room.”
 of 5 bubbles K3739VNchristinek, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lamu room for quiet. Ground floor if you have problems with stairs. If you don't like morning sun, ask for a room with black out curtains...”
 of 5 bubbles cbbp, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A beachfront room will make this property the best it can be.”
  • Beachfront room
  • View from room
  • Beachfront room
 of 5 bubbles TravelWriterKate, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front room”
 of 5 bubbles philipo35, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request rooms on upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles MileleNairobi, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay