We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Thika
Reviewed 5 January 2016

The downside first: The Resort has no parking inside the facility. One has to park on a road reserve parking though guarded. Breakfast was poorly served with tea very cold. The waiter serving breakfast was not clean enough to be allowed to handle foods. One the second night we did not have water in the rooms and no effort was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndrewKiragu
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We arrived in the afternoon, after a long way and then we entered this paradise. Full of palm trees, a swimming pool, a little bar. Clean room with a huge bed and so many pillows. And this was all for us, 4 friends. Nobody else was accomodated in the resort. Tina was very friendly and caring if everything is fine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Šárka H
Reykjavik
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Spacious rooms, nice pool, yummy food, very flexible checkin/checkout time, close to village centre. Just love that the hotell is located outside of Watamu, but still in walking distance. With its' palm trees and lots of flowers you feel like you are in your own paradise and no one will disturbe you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minoo T
Reviewed 24 August 2015

if you are like me and only read the first few lines I would urge you to read to the end of this review as I am going to start with the (only) negative bit. It is at least a 10 min walk to the beach! This was clearly pointed out by the owner before booking so I made an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tara M
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 5 August 2015

This was the first time in Watamu with the girls. Definitely a good choice for us. Everything was amazingly done from the minute you walked into the resort . An absolute paradise. My girls had a lovely time from the start to the finish. Every room is a paradise and the staff are amazing too!!!!. Well done to the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birungibyange
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

well me and my friend were basically only guests :D so we had pool for ourselves and peace, thats enough to make me happy . booked twin room, were given family room (with 1 kingsize bed and one for a child) LOL but we got it sorted. There was no wi-fi at all and no air con and no soaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valkiria8
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We had a delightful experience staying at this resort more so because it has a family touch to it with the owners genuinely concerned as to whether we're enjoying our stay and doing their best to make it worthwhile. The place is spotlessly clean with beautiful gardens and one cannot forget to mention the staff who were very patient, kind...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kui K
Reviewed 8 April 2015

My perception of the beautiful and serene ambiance changed as soon as i experienced the crappy customer service from guess who..........the proprietors. For those planning to visit Watamu, steer clear of Tembo Village Resort Watamu.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ezra K
tinakenyaWatamu, Owner at Tembo Village Resort Watamu, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your review and the compliment about Tembo Village. You rented a 2 bedroom apartment as 2 couples. It was very strange for us, finding out, that you invited another couple the second night to join you, without informing us. The reasons for us to take this very serious, I already explained to your friend in the review...

Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

The management/owners of Tembo village are very arrogant.They are very rude to guests and considering you pay on admission you cannot take your money and go elsewhere. I did not like the stay though the apartment was nice and clean

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine K
tinakenyaWatamu, Owner at Tembo Village Resort Watamu, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and the compliment about our apartment. We are highly concerned to make our guest surtisfied and to feel comfortable throughout there stay. So we did with you, after booking the 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. We waited up to late night serving you dinner and arranged your checking in. Our impression was you enjoyed the...

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Relaxation. Exhaling stress and inhaling peace; this beautiful resort was excellent because of the people who were there to greet us and make us feel as family. Matias cooks the most delicious meals; speaking four languages; and putting guests at ease with smooth humor, while ensuring a safe experience. Lillian created masterpieces of the flowers and made every room look...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ann C

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
1.8 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#1 of 25 in Watamu
233 reviews
0.3 km away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 25 in Watamu
672 reviews
2.6 km away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#17 of 25 in Watamu
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
3.0 km away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#10 of 25 in Watamu
840 reviews
0.4 km away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tembo Village is a family-run boutique Hotel with 11 rooms and self catering apartments. The small Hotel is build in Swahili style on one acre of property, set in beautifully landscabed gardens, second road to Kenya`s internationally acclaimed Watamu National Marine Park. It offers guests an atmosphere of quality comfort, tranquility and privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Address: Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Price Range: €39 - €45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tembo Village Resort Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tembo Village Resort Watamu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tembo Village Resort Watamu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms next to the pool are bigger and they have A/C. They also have a bigger lounge area with comfortable day beds for a nice read as it also has a mini-library.”
 of 5 bubbles 795kuik, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“we had a room with air conditioning( works excellent), each room has mosquito nets on the windows, so the rooms are free of mosquitoes”
 of 5 bubbles Wasylczyszyn_k, 8 Mar 2014 | Read review
“all rooms are well furnished!”
 of 5 bubbles liliano666, 4 Nov 2013 | Read review
“There is a beautiful beach just a walk away and a snake park a minute away for those interested.”
 of 5 bubbles irenem0, 16 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Apartment is great!”
 of 5 bubbles colinf471, 7 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay