We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We have just spent a mid week break at the George hotel . our room was very good with a nice bathroom which had bath and shower. all the staff are friendly and very helpful We were on a 5day Shearings break and I must say a very big thank you to our driver Guy he is one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and I shall pass your kind words on to guy when I next see him. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

The location is stunning and easy to find. Hotel is in need of tlc. We had a problem with our booking on arrival not the hotels fault booking company, but the staff although very busy as half term sorted it with no problem. So a enjoyable stay at a good price.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary H
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

carlisle
Reviewed 17 February 2015

As most other people have said"all staff are friendly and helpful".the restaurant is good and we were half board where you can have a choice of a few starters,main courses and sweets.I am pretty fussy,but you can pay a small supplement for each course and pick from a far bigger menu which was great.We were allocated an un-refurnished room and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank malcolm b
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are refurbishing all bedrooms over the coming year. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

First time at the George Great location and the bar service very good We had two bar meals and they were better than ok Drinks expensive but the food reasonable A little dated but in the location it's ok On the downside was we went to pay the bar produces the bill you then have to go the reception to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mix-m8
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are waiting for a new PDQ machine for the bar so this is why we are using the one at the reception at the time being. I do apologise for the service you received from the receptionist and I shall look into this. Once again thank you for your review.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Firstly I would like to point out that the staff here were friendly, helpful and excellent. The room was reasonably priced and the location was beautiful. This hotel has great potential and could be truly outstanding. However, the rooms, corridors and leisure facilities are in need of serious refurbishment. The decor was tired, the leisure facilities were in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DanC82
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are in the process of upgrading rooms this year. Once again thank you for your review.

england
Reviewed 15 February 2015

We have stayed for 2 nights and had a pleasant quiet break.... Our room was clean, with a poor dated bathroom but nice staff. Breakfast just ok and evening meal mediocre could have been better. The choice was poor and extras were pricey . Our radiator didn't work from check in and on the evening we were given 2 small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lgateshead
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I shall pass your comments onto the staff so they can hear your kind words. I will also check the superior rooms bathroom and see if it is up to the required standard. I am sad to hear that you will not be visiting the hotel again. But I thank...

Whitley Bay United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2015

We had an enjoyable weekend. The lounge has had a makeover, but the rest of the hotel is a bit tired, but for the price it is good value. The food was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room we had was a bit dark as we only had two small bedside lights and a dull wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita6668
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 10 February 2015 via mobile

If you walk through the front doors to a warm reception you mustn't forget that you've got a great deal in a 3 star hotel. Don't get ideas above your station, you've booked one of the cheaper hotels in Northumberland and therefore this is the bar you should be measuring The George against. Against this 3* bar we had an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren F
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the team will be thrilled to read your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

We had considered yhis hotel for our wedding reception 6 years ago but were put off by the inflexibility of trying to fit around the hotel's timetable. We came for a one night break at the end of January to celebrate having a babysitter! When we arrived my wife asked about a river view but was just told we would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tom d
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that your stay was marred by the heating issue that we had experienced. I personally went into every room that was effected and put in portable oil filled heaters. This issue has since been resolved. I shall look into your further comments and discuss these with my...

Reviewed 5 February 2015

Being a hotel owner myself, I wish I could get my hands on this place and make the easy changes that would make this hotel fantastic. There is such potential here. I stayed here for business. For me, the location was perfect & the setting beautiful. I enjoyed the history of the place. I enjoyed the modern decor in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fenton14
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As a fellow hotel proprietor I am suprised that you never brought this to my ettention at the time so this could be discussed. We normally receive excellent reviews regarding the staff so this also suprises me. I have checked the room and I can inform you that it will be getting fully refurbished in...

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
11.8 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,016 reviews
11.2 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,409 reviews
6.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
8.8 km away
The Black Bull Hotel
8.7 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Price Range: €79 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Luton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had 104 near the car park entrance but this means it is quite a walk from Reception and the Restaurant. Very quiet though.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaS506, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be aware of possible lorry noise in morning, from 8.00 a.m., when booking room.”
 of 5 bubbles Clairerose2013, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“just above reception”
 of 5 bubbles illy66, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Travel a few more miles and stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles andrewbe07, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check in before collecting luggage as soom rooms are quite a way from reception!”
 of 5 bubbles Plippo, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay